We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,956)
Filter reviews
1,956 results
Traveller rating
1,081
484
227
113
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,081
484
227
113
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the black swan tea room afternoon tea gallery restaurant feature room six course tasting menu molton brown toiletries scones market square bar area wedding party evening meal lovely hotel market menu restaurant staff lamb special occasion
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 1,956 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018

Stayed for two nights.
Well received on reception. The room was in the garden wing so had a bit of a trek up and down stairs. (All adds to the step count). Room a decent size and well appointed. Armchairs, table, dresser,drawers, wardrobe, but no safe. All clean.Had a dog with us so a dog bowl, blanket and treats in the room.(£10 charge for the dog for the duration of the stay)
All staff helpful and professional, although could have done with an extra member or two on Friday as it seemed difficult to get the attention of the staff. Obviously busy.
We didn't dine in the restaurant but in the bar. Good food quickly served.
Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chump57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis_Rickelton, Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thank you so much for your super review. We are really busy and so are sorry if this meant it took longer than we'd like to get to you but are really pleased this didn't affect the enjoyment of your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

You can imagine the disappointment of arriving at the Black Swan Inn with high expectations and finding out you were booked by your travel agent into the Black Swan Hotel for a special anniversary celebration?
Well as stuff happens Helmsley is a lovely town, the accommodation were acceptable, and by some act of g-d we were able to enjoy a dinner at the Inn so all was not lost.
The Black Swan Hotel is in the middle of town and has a lot to offer.
They were very accommodating with room change request, assist with luggage, and food service was fine with a well prepared dinner menu and decent breakfast in the morning.
We explored York and the Castle Howard with a comfortable jaunt through the town square market day on our departure. Not a bad error but wasn't what we thought we were getting. Moral of the story check your reservations!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMOMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis_Rickelton, Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Despite this being a different Black Swan to the one you thought you were staying at we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to write a review. We do hope you will return again, next time knowing it's us you're visiting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Recently stayed 3 nights dinner, bed and breakfast with family members and found many positive aspects such as the central location, the overall character of the Hotel, the general cleanliness in bedrooms including public areas and the lovely garden. The bedrooms are of good size and standard and the breakfast also very good in terms choice and quality. We felt the evening dinner was good but found that maybe there were too many beef dishes (main course) and that the menu could loose a couple these in favour of maybe duck, pork or chicken. The starters had good choice as were puddings.

We found that the service standard was a bit hit and miss, ranging from exceptional to very average/poor. For example we found Lucy on reception to be extremely helpful, friendly and professional at all times and we also found the manager to be very attentive and professional as well. However, we did find some of the serving staff in the restaurant/bar not to be as good and a bit average for the standard of the Hotel although one of the waitresses (often with a red band in her hair) stood out as being extremely competent and professional.

We found that the evening bar could do with another member of staff. At such an establishment, we would expect to be served drinks in the lounge rather than order at the bar.

All in all, i have given an average rating based on the price paid as i don't think I would describe our stay as very good. We have recently stayed at Rudding Park which is priced at a similar rate and found it to be a lot better mainly in terms of standards of service. However, we are not saying we wouldn't return because we probably will in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank summertimespecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis_Rickelton, Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit with us. We had the opportunity to chat whilst you were here and the points you raised, many of which you have echoed in your review, have all been listened to and I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback.

I will of course pass your comments on to both Lucy and Julia, (red hair band), who will be thrilled to have had a personal mention.
We do hope you mean that you will be returning, as it will be lovely to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

We visited over the busy bank holiday weekend, they were able to squeeze us in without a reservation.

Having been out for lunch at another famous restaurant which shares the name, we craving food that was a little more substantial. A good bottle of Malbec, and one Chateau-Briand later we were very happy people. The triple cooked chips here are some of the best I’ve ever had. I was just sorry there wasn’t enough room left to try the tempting cheese cart, a very impressive offering not normally seen outside of London fine dining institutions.

We will definitely be back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank sarahbX1388QL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis_Rickelton, Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Thank you so much for your great review. We do hope we'll be welcoming you back again soon, just remember to leave a little room for some cheese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

We had a table of 10 booked to dine in the restaurant over the weekend to celebrate my dad's 70th birthday and had very high expectations. Sadly, none of these were met. We were seated to a table with no table cloth on, there was no salt or pepper on the table, we had to pour our own red wine from the table and white wine from the ice bucket placed behind us, the main courses were served to the table BEFORE the chateaubriand was carved and presented; therefore main courses were barely warm by the time everyone was served, we had to remind the staff of our request for the accompanying sauces for the steaks which took another 15 mins to arrive, there was no cheese knife with the cheeseboard, we requested butter to accompany the cheeseboard but this never arrived, and we ordered drinks which never arrived (but were added to our final bill!) I struggle to understand how so many errors can be justified as all the food was pre-ordered weeks previously and we were the first table to dine in the restaurant so its certainly was not overly busy at that time. All the above was brought to the attention of the Restaurant Manager immediately after dinner and a small discount was offered. I would say this experience was fine-dining prices with basic-pub service. In short, a catalogue of errors which certainly left a negative impact on our whole party; such a shame due to the nature of our visit.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis_Rickelton, Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Dear Mel P - other members of your party have posted reviews of your recent extremely regrettable experience with us. I will say the same to you, that being that I am genuinely sorry that we fell so far short of our normal high standards. We value all our guests and so I am upset that such a special occasion was marred by so many errors which impacted upon your enjoyment of it. I would really like the opportunity to address this with you in person, if you, or any of the other members of your party who have posted reviews, would like to contact the hotel I would welcome the chance to see if we can in some way restore your faith in us, Lis Rickelton - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews