We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,927)
Filter reviews
1,927 results
Traveller rating
1,068
477
221
113
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,068
477
221
113
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea room afternoon tea gallery restaurant feature room black swan six course tasting menu molton brown toiletries scones market square bar area evening meal lovely hotel wedding party restaurant staff market menu lamb special occasion
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 1,927 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

We booked for an afternoon tea for four people. It was a really lovely outing and the afternoon tea was beautifully done. The staff were very friendly and attentive. My after in law has decided that he would like to go back for the fish and chips on the meal menu. Looking forward to June already

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank deetomark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis_Rickelton, Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay - and we are looking forward to welcoming you all back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Room was good only down point given price for B&B was the pillows were very poor, but the bed was comfy.
Breakfast portion was disappointing for husband as he only wanted sausage and beans and only received 2 sausages and a small ramakin of beans.
However the customer service here is one of the best I have seen. All staff very welcoming and I was even given a travel bag of water and an apple to see me home which was very thoughtful.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis_Rickelton, Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

We are sorry about your pillows! Next time you stay with us make sure to mention this on check in and we'll do our best to provide you with an alternative that's more suitable for you.

Thank you for mentioning our customer service - we are very glad we made you feel welcome.

We look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Just a one night stay here, lovely room overlooking the gardens at the rear, quiet & peaceful, no traffic noise. Modern shower room, my husband would have loved a bath however. Comfortable room overall. Parking on front of hotel, be sure to get a voucher from reception to park in the square, as very busy during the day.
Friendly helpful staff .
Quaint old building with modern additions to the rear, top of the town , perfect spot, comfortable bar & public areas, with beautiful gardens to the rear, perfect for lunch etc on warm days.

Room Tip: To the rear in modern extension
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ladygourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis_Rickelton, Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

What a lovely review.

Thank you so much for taking the time to post it.

Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Booked for one night b&b and had a great night, eat out in town on the night however looking at the menu and hearing what people said about dinner wish I had booked dinner now, never mind next time, room was very nice, clean, warm and good nights sleep, staff where very nice and polite and do a very good job, breakfast next morning was very good set me up for the day.
I would recomend this hotel if your looking around the Helsmley area.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank nitrox67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis_Rickelton, Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for the lovely review.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy dinner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night for my husbands birthday what a real treat was not disappointed lovely hotel room , staff were lovely too.
Ate in the restaurant had terrine and risotto followed by the chateaubriand which was absolutely divine then shared a cheeseboard. The staff were very attentive and lovely .
This was followed the next morning by a lovely breakfast. Would definitely recommend and will definitely return too .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis_Rickelton, Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Jayne, we're so pleased to hear you and your husband enjoyed his birthday night away, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to post a review about your time with us, it really means a lot. We do hope we'll be welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews