We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
308
127
23
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
308
127
23
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub market square coffee machine steak pie full english breakfast clean rooms would stay again excellent breakfast great place to stay excellent location local shops warm welcome cleveland way real ale good size friendly hosts great room
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Stayed for one night with my husband, the room was ok, clean and the coffee machine was nice but the bed was very hard and it was over priced for what it was. Unfortunately we couldn't go to bed till after 1am due to the loud music from the bar. The food was delicious, the parmo and pizza were very good and the staff were lovely. I wouldn't stay over again but I'd definitely go for food and drinks.

Room tip: Room 5 is right above the noisy bar.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank mandywalker2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Where do I begin. Arrived and asked where dogs were allowed to be told the bar area...sat at a table, ordered food to then have the owner approach us and say, dogs are not allowed on the carpet, I told you this when you came in!! We apologised and offered to move but he said forget it, all the dog friendly tables are used!!your sat there now, I did tell you, there’s even a notice. We were verbally berated for making an honest mistake about where the bar area finished and the lounge started! Absolutely no customer service. Instead of making us feel like idiots hecould have had a quiet word and said “guys, don’t suppose you mind moving as this is not the dog friendly area” instead he then proceeded to tell us that the cleaner gets angry if dogs are on the carpet as it takes her longer to clean!! And that in turn makes him angry as he has to pay more in wages! I mean, come on! Who actually says things like that to a paying customer!
To add to this when we arrived he was sat eating a KFC at the bar! Which after we had had our food, we realised why! Cold, and frozen chips! Despite advertising these were “proper chips”
Unprofessional, dirty and unwelcoming pub!
The only plus side were the floor and bar staff who were lovely. Especially the young guy behind the bar.

Date of stay: April 2018
6  Thank Marcus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We recently stopped overnight on our way to Whitby .
The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable , having all amenities and more !!
The food was excellent!! The staff were so friendly and helpful ,made us and our dog Ruby very welcome and comfortable , will certainly be going back !!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dee i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Friendly and cosy with an excellent pub restaurant. The room was comfortable, clean and warm on this cold Spring day. The staff were friendly, considerate and efficient. Surprisingly, this traditional country pub welcomes dogs on overnight stays.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mdaly295132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

We would loved to have a had our break in helmsley but due to the beast from the east we were unable to get.police and local authorities advised not to travel in the interest of safety having contacted hotel and booking.com and asked if we could cancel and rearrange another stay in place both parties could not oblige and kept quoting there 72 hour cancellation policy we did not want to cancel just rearrange another date so the beast from the east brought the country to a standstill but we were expected still to travel so we spent £165 for nothing apart from snow shovelling at home pushing cars that were stuck in drifts and helping the aged around the doors getting food for them not what we expected for our midweek break away leaves a bitter taste in your mouth

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Debby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews