We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
125
127
71
43
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
127
71
43
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful grounds vision hotel this hotel caters extensive gardens kippers club room lovely hotel lick of paint evening entertainment pleasant walk an indoor swimming pool non profit the hotel is clean guide dog decent size plenty of choice hotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Went on holiday with my daughter, partner and grandad and can honestly say we had the most amazing time. All the staff are lovely and we loved going out on all the excursions. They really put themselves out of their way for us. The food was brilliant loved it all. Definately going to go back again. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Good service and briliant for people that have a disability or are visually impaired
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bethtalbot1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

First visit to this hotel and we were so impressed, to be somewhere that caters so well for anyone with a visual impairment and particularly with a guide dog, is a real bonus. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and they dealt so sensitively with guests, such a relaxed atmosphere, I would really recommend it. The room we had was very large, plenty of room for the dog too and very spacious bathroom with grab bars. The corridors have a high dado rail on the sides so that you can follow this along with your hand if needed. There is a dog grooming room and toilet areas. It's a comfortable old building, parking on site, with lovely spacious grounds and looks down to the sea (there is a gate at the end which you can go through). Had a brief look at the pool but didn't go in - will next time ! We had a good dinner and breakfast, both were served to you at the table. Already looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Room at the front look out to sea.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rauma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here while on business, hotel is situated in a nice area with lovely views.
The staff are friendly and rooms clean and tidy.
This hotel also caters for the blind and I must admit I've never come across hotels like this before but it's good to see.
The prices are good and breakfast also.
The wifi is free although only accessible from the bar area.
Ideal for what we needed at the right price.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank markwS6538XC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, General Manager at Cliffden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for the Cliffden Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will be welcoming you again soon.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

The hotel on the pictures looks nothing like it is!

There is dog hair everywhere & the hotel doesn't look clean in general.

We stayed in a room shoved up the other end which needed serious upliftment!

The dinner lounge has all hair over the floor to and the cutlery needs to be renewed ! Very old .

The manger is rude and not very customer focused at all ! Should we say very argumentative.

Definitely wouldn't recommend !

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
7  Thank kristypaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Lovely old world charm. Beautiful views over Teignmouth. The Hotel caters for Blind and partially sighted guests...... the guide dogs are wonderful, you really wouldn't know they were there. Enjoyed listening to the Lady singer on Saturday night.... old and modern songs and plenty of audience participation. Large landscaped gardens and a proper sized swimming pool. Pleasant walk down the coast path into Teignmouth. ... the walk back is a bit more demanding !

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, General Manager at Cliffden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Thank you very much for leaving a review for the Cliffden Hotel.

The hotel is sat in 7 acres of mature gardens, with a short 5 minute walk to the sea which is downhill on the way and yes - more challenging on the way back up!

We have entertainment 2 or 3 nights a week, and the lady singer you refer to is Mandy Lou and very popular with our guests.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you again soon to the Cliffden Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews