We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great diversion but a quick trip

We enjoyed our trip (2 adults and 2 kids) on a sunny morning. We were in an outlying hotel so the... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
JP-HEXH
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Submarine tour

As a one off lovely sedate way to pass a couple of hours. Not a long trip, divers go down to... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Jane M
,
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 789 reviews
  
Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
317
142
59
17
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
142
59
17
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish sting ray sea life great trip sardines port hole diver feeding amazing experience support boat dive certificate different species an aquarium well worth the money both sides recommend this trip octopus free bus
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

We spent a wonderful hour on board the Submarine as a party of 5, your wonderful young lady was so informative and spent time telling us about everything, The fish the seabed and the wrecks, We got to see lots of fish and a huge ray. there was plenty of space 1 large porthole between 2 people, and as it was not a full trip we got the experience both sides! when the sub rested on the bottom we got to walk around and have a look. we spotted a octopus which was cute.. THIS IS A WONDERFUL TRIP AND IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !! well worth the price, and if you book online you get a good discount.

Thank leafylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

We enjoyed our trip (2 adults and 2 kids) on a sunny morning.

We were in an outlying hotel so the free bus pickup took us around the local area on the way to the dock. We hadn't seen much of the other hotels so it was a nice trip but took around 90 minutes.

Once at the dock, there was a little wait whilst the submarine returned from the morning trip and we embarked.

The submarine is spacious - I am a little claustrophobic but this had plenty of inside space for me - clean and dry. The seats have plenty of legroom and you sit sideways facing the port holes for a great view.

We saw loads of little fish, a barracuda and a stingray in our 45 minute trip but nothing you couldn't see in an aquarium.

The "event" is of course being in the submarine, but I left (on my 90 minute trip back to my hotel) thinking that I didn't need to revisit in my lifetime.

In summary, do visit if you can spare the cash (it's pricey for what you get) and I would recommend it if you do - but if you think it's pricey, you wont miss much by visiting elsewhere.

Thank JP-HEXH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

While staying at the Arona Gran in Los Cristonas we went on the submarine safari. Great trip. We went down 30 Mt and it wad wonderful. There was loads of room inside the submarine and every two people got a big window. Highly recommend this trip.

Thank brendan617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, General Manager at Submarine Safaris Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear brendan617

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip with us.
Thank you very much for the recommendation and the 5 star review!
All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went on this today with our 5yr old and 14yr old it was amazing. Even tho it was raining the water was clear we saw so much life. The divers that join and hand feed the fish make sure everyone gets to see. Our 5yr old moaned when our tour finished because he wanted to go again, he normally gets board of anything after 5mins!!! Yes it's a lot of money but it's so worth it! The lady telling us about the fish spoke Spanish, English, French and German fluently and was extremely good answering any question our 5yr old had and understood him even with his speech issue (even family members struggle to do that) and her English was so clear he had no problems understanding the answers!!!

Thank JoJo125125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, General Manager at Submarine Safaris Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello JoJo125125
Glad to hear that you and your family had and amazing time on our Submarine. Thank you so much for your 5 star review and great comments.
The Submarine is a great thing to do during wet weather.
It sounds like your son would like to come again on your next visit to Tenerife. Please be advised, that by booking on line via our website, you will receive a discount.
We look forward to seeing you all again.
All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really appreciated it but it was not what I would call amazing I was disappointed because this was not that long only about 20 mins and I think that was rubbish ,I payed 110 euros for my partner and I to go on this the only thing that was ok we the stingrays and feeding time to me that was the highlight nothing else I was looking for lot more fish out lie tropical ones but no so if you want to do this it's up to you .

1  Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, General Manager at Submarine Safaris Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Teresa W
What a shame to read that you were disappointed with our excursion.
All of our dives last 45-50 minutes (1 hour including boarding) so by saying "about 20 minutes" is completely false.
Every dive is completely different and as we are in the open ocean, Fish and marine life are free to come and go as they please so we can never guarantee what you will see but you did see stingrays in their natural habitat, that in itself is a wondrous thing!
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you ever get the chance to go on it, I think it's worth it to actually go in a submarine and look at sea life rather than on the TV. Lasted about 50 minutes and saw an array of different fishes. Obviously you can't command sea life to appear outside your window. Dive depth of 30 metres. Well recommended.

Thank KevinM745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, General Manager at Submarine Safaris Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kevin M
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review and a recommendation.
We look forward to seeing you again one day.
All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went on the submarine today - got picked up from hotel in the morning , only on there for an hour until we reach the marina .
Even though it is pricey - it is 100% worth it and it was expensive to build ( 3million € .. ) . We saw LOADS of fishes , a Ray & ship wrecks .
Was down there for about 40 minutes . Doesn’t feel like your on a submarine / underwater - I suffer from sea sickness but I was fine as it was very smooth - air conditioned & space was good . The staff were very friendly.
Had our photo taken on the submarine before boarding . And was 8€ to buy . As well as a diving certificate !

I would recommended this trip to anyone visiting Tenerife - certainly one not to miss !

Thank ImogeneM96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, General Manager at Submarine Safaris Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you ImogeneM96, for taking the time to leave us such a great review!
We love to receive feedback from our customers and it certainly sounds like you enjoyed your time on our Submarine!
Sea sickness is one of our biggest questions but as you say, its very smooth and also being deep under water, we don't get the motion of the waves like you do with a boat so its highly unlikely that anyone will feel sick on the submarine.
Glad you got to see one of the Rays, they are truly magnificent.
We hope that you will come and see us again should you visit Tenerife in the future.
Don't forget, if you book online via our own website, you'll receive a nice discount!
Thanks again and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just been on the submarine and can say we have all really enjoyed it.
Was something different that we have never done before.
Would recommend it

Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, General Manager at Submarine Safaris Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ross W
Thanks very much for leaving us a 5 star review. We're glad that you enjoyed your time on the submarine.
It certainly is something different for people to do.
Thanks also for recommending us.
Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Tenerife.
Please remember that if you book direct via our website, you'll receive a discount!
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic experience, wasn’t sure about the enclosed space, but it was fine.
Brilliant seeing the divers feed the fish
Would recommend

Thank 231jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, General Manager at Submarine Safaris Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 231jax

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review.
It is always great for us to receive customer feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
Hope to see you back on board sometime soon.
All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As a one off lovely sedate way to pass a couple of hours. Not a long trip, divers go down to attract fish for you to see. Shop, cafe and toilets at dock. Photo and certificate for a little extra charge.

Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, General Manager at Submarine Safaris Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jane M
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews