We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay All Round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Terraza Amadores
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We had the pleasure recently of saying in the Terraza Amadores apartment for a fortnight. We booked this establishment because of it's proximity to the beach and what a beach....... glorious golden sand and warm turquoise water- fab.

The apartments are spacious and clean . The front door leads straight into the kitchen/living room. There is a small twin bedroom off the kitchen and also the bathroom leads off the kitchen. There is no bath only a shower but it s a very powerful shower although the water is solar heated which leads to cool showers on cloudy days.
the balcony is terrific and as we were on the top floor we enjoyed a nice view of the sea. There are doors leading from the living area and also from the bedroom directly onto the balcony which was furnished with a table and chairs and also 2 sunbeds. The apartment is really only suitable for 2 persons. My rather tall teenage son slept on the couch and this was extremely uncomfortable and resulted in his having a pain in his back and a sore head from hitting his head off the wooden arm rest in his sleep a few times. It is really only suitable for a much smaller child.

The kitchen had a microwave and a 2 ring cooker both which worked well and there were plenty of cutlery and crockery and so on. Most importantly there was a wine opener.

The pool is nice, not great just nice. However as it is small in size and most days was filled with lilos and other inflatable things this meant that only about a quarter of it was available for swimming. The kids pool was miniscule which meant that all the kids were jumping into the main pool which added to the pandemonium. We went to the beach most days as it is so near and so nice and got away from the picadilly circus of the pool.

The pool bar was open every day of our visit. They advertsed a twice weekly barbecue with live music which was in actual fact a once weekly barbecue without entertainment which meant that once the food was eaten that was it. We went once and it was ok . Cost €7.50 a head.

The lack of entertainment however was made up by the extremely loud entertainment (with the most excruciatingly awful Karaoke) from the second next door premises which could be heard for miles around as everything echoes in the valley between the rocks. It did tail off around midnight each nightand the peace that followed was bliss

The staff were the most pleasant people I have ever met/ The women dressed in long Canarian style outfits which looked nice but must be extremely hot to wear. The lady in reception who worked there every day, was very helpful and gave good advice when asked re buses trips etc. She is most definately a huge asset to the place.

The pool bar was staffed by one of the nicest Spanish barmen ever and his Dutch wife. I would have loved to be there on the night of the World Cup Final if they were both working.. I'd say the fun was great.

There is a washing machine which can be used for €5 a go this includes the dryer and we used it to wash our beach towels . It is situated in the basement which is dark with hardly any lighting and was creepy to say the least. I ran in and out hoping there was nothing crawly lurking in the gloom (didn't see anything thankfully)

The main drawback to this place was the lack of airconditioniong. As the apartment block is built into the rock face there is no breeze blowing and as a result the air in the rooms at night is stifiling. We bought 2 fans which wafted the hot air around a bit and this, combined with keeping the balcony doors open all night, meant that at least we could get sleep of a sort.

i would hate to be there in late July or August as the temp when we were there never exceeded 27 or 28 deg by day, if temps were in the high 30's I'd say you'd bake at night.

We had a great holiday although there is NOTHING to do for teenagers in Amadores and no wi fi anywhere which renders Iphones useless. My son spent a kings ransom using the computer in the basement at €1 every 10 mnutes it sure adds up.

Would I return here? Not in summer and most definately not with teenagers,
as a couple in spring or autumn, yes.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank colleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 279 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

no frills dead quiet only 5 mins fae beach nd only 3 ueros from all the partying u want clean. lovely staff speak good english. if its a quiet holiday 4u this is the place. u wont be sorry B mckie

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonick5490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

spent a weeks at the terraza amdores apartments in september, had such a relaxed quiet holiday. The pool area was virtually deserted and the views from the pool and balcony were lovely. The pool bar was only open on intermittent occasions but the Spar is just as close with better selections. We were only 5 mins from the beach and resort centre which was still a relaxed atmosphere. Not many restuarants to choose from but all of a similar standard (waiters slighlty over attentive!!). The beach club is great for a night cap and a wee luxury day by the beach, although slightly expensive. 15 mins walk from peurto rico and ferries and buses to mogan if you feel the need for a change of scene. would def go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 0928465647238fhdfhbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Stayed in this hotel for two weeks in July 09. Was a bit disappointed to be honest. Rooms very big with a large balcony and nice bathroom with an excellent shower area but no air conditioning was a big down side. Everyone staying here was complaining about it and we were all charged weekly for the use of a fan which was shocking. In the heat of July the fan was near useless unless you did what we did and slept with the fan in the open doorway of the balcony blowing the cool night air in - a bit scary having the door open all night though. Another downside was that the reception is only open for a few hours each day and also the pool bar is only open from 9am - 5pm. There is definately no happy hour here! The pool bar is also shut all day on a Saturday!! The rooms were kept clean but bedding was not changed after one week without us having to say and this happened to other guests. Pool area nice and was very quiet but kids were not allowed inflatables or any kind of toys in the main pool and the children's pool was the size of a postage stamp. On the plus side, the two buildings of the hotel were joined by a courtyard which was very attractive and it was very close to the lovely Amadores beach. If you want a very quiet stay at basic accommodation with friendly staff (although not a lot of them) then it will be fine but, due to the lack of air con, I would not be back. Amadores is a beautiful spot, with lovely bars, restaurants and a stunning beach.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Florence670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.3 km away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
1.6 km away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,478 reviews
1.4 km away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,329 reviews
0.5 km away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#15 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terraza Amadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terraza Amadores

Address: Calle Islas Afortunadas 1 | Playa de Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $60 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terraza de Amadores is 350 metres from Amadores Beach, in southern Gran Canaria. It offers an outdoor pool, and all apartments have a private balcony with superb Atlantic Ocean views.Each Amadores apartment has a living room with a TV and sofa bed. There is a safe, and a private bathroom with a shower. The well-equipped kitchenette comes with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.The complex has a poolside bar and a snack bar. There is a supermarket on-site, and room service is available.Terraza de Amadores has a garden and a terrace. There is a billiard table and massage can be requested.You can hire a car at the complex, and free parking is available nearby. Anfi Tauro Golf Club is a 5-minute drive away. Internet connection, via modem, is offered in public areas for a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Terraza Amadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terraza Amadores Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing