We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Polignano a Mare, Province of Bari, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
722travel...
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This apartment has a great location in the centre of the old town . There are bars and restaurants just round it. The apartment itself is very comfortable and has a lovely roof terrace where we enjoyed early evening drinks and a number of barbecues. Would certainly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gafaber
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“It was a phantastic appartment”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We spent one week in Nel blue di pinto di blue. We were very pleased about the appartment itself and the helpful and nice Paolo and Mariana. The terrace on top of the appartment was very nice and spacious, to sit in the shadow, and to enjoy the sun , overlooking some houses and the sea. Even an extra shower has been up there. With the room with kitchen and the bedrooms we were completely satisfied. All was great, included the area in the historic center. We want to come back. Gaby and Alan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace and the location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightonc...
Brighton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely roof terrace, but disappointing accommodation”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Firstly, the good points:

Lovely large roof terrace - with good sea views and plenty of seating
thick clean towels,
good hairdryer
WiFi connection

Now for the disappointing points:

Extremely poor quality/cleanliness of furnishing/fittings/equipment.

After a French traffic control delay of an hour, via a few texts and a call - we eventually arranged to meet Paolo near the entrance to the old town early evening. He showed me to the house (the one with the most photographed steps in Polignano), but just gave a me a very brief tour. Foolishly, I didn't check on the condition of everything before he left. To be honest after a long day's travel we just wanted to settle in. Last year, I stayed in lovely Casa Dorsi which is only seconds away so I do know the vicinity well, sadly the suite I booked last year overlooking the sea wasn't available.

Back to NEL BLU DIPINTO DI BLU

I booked this accommodation because it offered 2 bedrooms (it actually has 3), my partner and I prefer to sleep separately. It was obviously assumed however, that we were to share the main bedroom on the street side, because when I went to bed in the back room - to my chagrin - no bed linen (except for a light cotton bedcover). I have rented in many self-catering properties across Europe, but this was a first! It was noisy in the front bedroom, so I had no option but to sleep on the bed with the bedcover wrapped around me, no pillowcases so had to use my scarf to cover them. I wasn't happy!

Next day we bought some goodies for the fridge, only to discover a big red wine stain on the bottom of it... yes, I could've cleaned it with the grubby washing up sponge provided - but why should I? So, I contacted Paolo about this - he said that I should have asked for both bedrooms to be made up when booking (why, if I booked a 2 bed property?), but after a text exchange he kindly arranged for a lady to come around in the afternoon to put these matters right, which she did - promptly.

I don't think we're particularly fussy, - we certainly didn't expect luxury, but we did expect to find everything in order and sparkling clean.

Main issues:

Upstairs toilet - the seat is old, tatty, and completely loose - my partner nearly slipped off it!

Shower room/loo - the old plastic seat is also loose & yellowing - the bowl of the toilet itself needs a good clean with bleach. We couldn't put the shower back on it's holder because the screw holding it up was hanging out of the wall and wobbling - didn't want to risk the whole thing falling off.

Kitchen area - the plates are old, chipped and some with old cracks in.

Living room area - TV was an old CRT (circa 1990s) with a digital box attached, TVs in other rooms were a waste of time too.

Bedrooms - there are 3 bedrooms:
2 at the front (main & childrens), 1 rear (no window just a skylight - this is normal for Polignano though).

Be aware that the windows are not double-glazed so you do get noise from the street below - it can be noisy throughout the night at weekend with passing groups of people chattering (because it's a narrow stone street the noise is exacerbated). The windows should open out onto the street if they were easy to open, but they weren't - judging by the poor fittings through the rest of the house we thought better than to force opening the shutters so we had gloomy rooms throughout our stay. Luckily it wasn't warm - otherwise the only option you would have would to use the ceiling fans which had layers of dust on them.

Am I being picky? Maybe - but it isn't much to expect a clean, safe toilet seat, fully assembled shower and a decent dinner service - none of these things are expensive. I have attached photos. I personally recommend people should always take photos of self-catering accommodation when you arrive and before departure for your own records, whether in the UK or abroad.

The floor was dark tiled throughout, I suspect it wasn't cleaned from head to toe after each booking. I could have raised all of this with Paolo - who was very nice, but my Italian is virtually non-existent and I don't think his English is up to dealing with complex issues.

Conclusion: It all depends on expectations, if you are happy with all I have described - go ahead and book (you need to pay a deposit on booking). The roof terrace is a good size, it has a sink & shower and BBQ facilities if the weather is nice.

In my opinion, if the owners just spent a few hundred euro's sprucing the apartment up, or maybe a bit more and put secondary glazing in - they would have a winner. It's already one of Polignano's famous sights - almost everyone has their photo taken on on by the steps leading to the house.

All it needs is a bit of TLC and it would be fantastic! It's in a great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Roof terrace, thick white towels, on-site hairdryer
Liked least: Poor quality of the fittings and lack of bedlined on 1st night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2015
Gentile cliente,
la ringrazio innanzitutto per aver soggiornato da noi.
Come lei dice, non � affatto una persona esigente, lo dimostrano anche le due righe scritte per criticare la casa.
Mi scuso per tutti i disagi che possa aver riscontrato nel suo breve soggiorno e prender� spunto dalle sue critiche per fare sempre meglio e dare ai futuri clienti la massima ospitalit� e comfort.
Per quanto riguarda lo spiacevole incidente avvenuto nel bagno sono molto dispiaciuto e ho provveduto a far sostituire i pezzi danneggiati, per quanto riguarda la macchia di vino nel frigorifero le assicuro che � stata una svista della signora che si occupa delle pulizie ma penso che sia umano commettere un errore.
Per quanto riguarda le tv abbiamo provveduto ad installare schermi piatti nelle due camere e nel salone, ma nessuno le aveva promesso qualcosa che non ha trovato al suo arrivo quindi non penso sia stata una mancanza non farle trovare la tv di ultima generazione.
Infine una nota a parte la merita la critica mossa alla preparazione delle camere da letto.
Mia Cara Cliente, l'unica mia colpa � stata quella di dare per scontato che una coppia che prenota per 3 giorni ha bisogno di una sola camera da letto; non ho considerato (a causa della gente strana che ho ospitato prima di lei) che dovevo fornire una camera per la moglie ed una per il marito anche se non espressamente richiesto.
Lei avr� girato anche mezzo mondo(e dalla sua recensione noto che ha veramente molto tempo libero a disposizione) ma credo che commette un grande errore nell'affermare che sia dovuto aspettarsi le lenzuola per tutti i letti presenti nella casa.
A dire il vero spesso le lenzuola e la biancheria vanno pagate a parte, anche per un solo letto; nel caso specifico sono comprese nel prezzo, e prepariamo i letti (con tutto il necessario) in base al numero dei clienti. Le spiego anche perch� : se ho una prenotazione di una persona singola, secondo lei dovrei preparare con lenzuola e biancheria due letti matrimoniali pi� due singoli presenti nella casa giusto? Penso che tutto ci� sia assurdo, perch� anche se non utilizzati, a fine soggiorno dovrei far comunque cambaire tutta la biancheria. Quindi mia Cara Cliente, lei ha trovato le due camere con i letti, non me li sono portati via, ma le ho attrezzato il letto (extra bed) della camera da letto principale.
Mi ha fatto presente tale disagio il giorno dopo il suo arrivo e circa un'ora dopo ho provveduto GRATUITAMENTE a farle preparare un altro letto.
Mi scuso ancora per i disagi e la saluto, augurandole in futuro di non incorrere pi� in avventure poco piacevoli, e se posso permettermi, le consiglio di condividere il letto con suo marito nella prossima vacanza e vedr� che la casa e la vacanza le appariranno pi� piacevoli.

Paolo Pellegrini
Nel blu dipinto di blu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellomanu...
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DayTrip56...
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing