We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
190
58
36
15
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
58
36
15
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buddha bar semi private pool wedding venue caldera view amazing wedding magnificent sunset highest point would highly recommend this hotel the hotel manager the cliff santorini island senior suite welcome drink a wonderful stay amazing views our honeymoon amazing service
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2018

My family and I had a great experience at La Maltese. The staff was helpful and nice at all times, the manager went above and beyond to make sure we were satisfied with the accommodations, and the food at the Buddha Bar was amazing. Heads up, Santorini is expensive (the food, the stay, etc) so if you're going on a budget don't expect the views and luxurious facilities... but I personally don't regret paying a bit more for a villa as we had a private pool and amazing views. I'd definitely recommend this place!

Room tip: We got a villa and it was worth every penny!
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fiorella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMaltese L, Marketing Department at La Maltese Estate & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Mrs. Fiorella,

Thank you for your delightful feedback.

Our team is glad to find out of your personal experience and for considering our property as a recommendation.

Hoping to have you again with us on your next visit in Santorini.


Warm regards,
The La Maltese Estate Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

It is not possible not to write a review for La Malteze, in which I have attended a Greek American wedding. All guests from New York and the immediate family and friends we stayed at La Malteze for 3 nights. The hotel exceed it our expectations all days, what a service, what a kindness and amazing food. It is worth trying the Budda bar , the sushi menu, my God the shrimp tempura was excellent. Having visited few buda bars in USA and Carribean I must tell , the Buda bar is amazing withe a flair of Aegean. Can you ask more than that?
Rooms very clean and although of the wind everything was clean , Breakfast amazing and what else can you ask in life but to have a breakfast overlooking the caldera.

The day of the wedding the preparation started around 12.00 midday , and the place was transformed for the wedding, everything was on time , tested and ready waiting for us . We departed for the church at about 5.00 p.m as the wedding was Greek Orthodox wedding. There , everything was ready too and some cold bottles of water were waiting for us . After the ceremony we went back to the hotel for a cocktail hour, the waiters they were passing the canape and drinks were more than plenty, everything was so delicious and the saxophone completed the nice and happy atmosphere. .
Then we moved to the reception place and that was a wow silver,, white , and light pink decoration , the band on its place as well as the dj, everything lit up such a romantic theme. Excellent sitting , no delays and the buffet set up very clever , we could served immediately and everything was so rich , replenishment of food excellent. About the deserts everything was perfect but the tiramisu was unbeatable, I think I should go back just for this.

It was a dream night , which myself and my husband will not forget . I also want to mentioned few persons although everybody was excellent

George , Angellos, Anita, the girls and the tall guy at the front desk, I am sorry I do not remember their names, Charis , the chef and the kitchen staff and all the people working for La Malteze for the amazing service they offer us. .
We will certainly recommend to our friends in New York this hotel for their kids , if they want to have their wedding in Greece. The place is ideal for New Yorkers and especially Americans as it has the style and the ability to offer an exceptional service

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NewYorkOly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMaltese L, Marketing Department at La Maltese Estate & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback and for sharing your experience with our team.

We are delighted to find out everything went as planned and that you enjoyed your wedding and time in our premises.
As a team, we always try our best to deliver the best service possible with all our passion. Our aim is to always fulfill our guests' expectations and to exceed them.

Really looking forward to having you with us again on your next visit in Santorini.


Warm regards,
The La Maltese Estate Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Small boutique property with minimal staff and service. Beautiful view, good location. Service was sub par. Called 3 times to get the TV fixed to watch world cup final and nothing. Had to ask to get a shower head installed. Charges for everything. Restaurant extremely overpriced. Wedding one of the days so no access available to anything. Tanning areas were not maintained. Only one chair to sit on patio - how do you eat with a family of 4 for breakfast outside. Not a 4.5 star hotel as recommended. Prior year stayed in Astra Suites... so much better!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Detria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMaltese L, Marketing Department at La Maltese Estate & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Mrs. Detria,

Thank you for your feedback.
It helps us getting better.

We apologize for the service delay. Kindy note, that during the world cup, our hotel and restaurant areas were full and the volume of requests had been maximized.

As being known, our hotel offers its venue for wedding ceremonies and events. Therefore, since there was a wedding at that time in our property, the hotel pool was available from morning until 16:00 o clock, instead of 18:00. Before that time, pool and restaurant were available and fully accessible for our guests.

Our hotel areas have been renovated just before the beginning of the season. Unfortunately, as the island is being quite humid and windy, some damages may appear occasionally.

Additionally, our restaurant includes of tables and couches for our guests to enjoy their meals.

In any case, we hope to get the chance to accommodate you again in the near future and to exceed your expectations.

Warm regards,
The La Maltese Estate Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

The hotel is on a clifftop which gives stunning views of the caldera below. Rooms are built into the hillside. In the restaurant/pool area ambient music plays into the evening, sometimes with a DJ, peaking with the magnificent sunset. We had a small problem on arrival and the staff could not have been more accommodating and eager to help. I strongly recommend not to cheap out on a 'garden view' room, in this case the sea view is worth the money. You might get a hot tub too :)

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMaltese L, Marketing Department at La Maltese Estate & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear Mr. Simon,

Thank you for your lovely feedback and recommendation.
Our team is happy to know you had such a pleasant time in our property.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Santorini.

Warm regards,
The La Maltese EstateTeam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

After weeks of searching for the perfect accommodations in Greece, we chose La Maltese Estate. It was a tad more affordable than other luxury options I considered and seemed to be just as nice. We opted for a garden room that was nice, but not super fancy. The view from the Buddha Bar was amazing. Though the room we chose had no view, the Buddha Bar view (just steps away) made up for it. All of the caldera and it’s glory was right there! It was beautiful. We had dinner at the Buddha Bar on my birthday and it was good too (I’ll receive that separately!). The view was the best part of the hotel, followed by the staff who were super pleasant and accommodating. Hotel is in a good location, not far from restaurants, bars, and stores. Super close to Fira! Breakfast was included, as well as WIFI, which was helpful. I’d stay here again. My only complaints were no iron in room and the power went out a few times (not sure if this is an island wide problem).

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jauquese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMaltese L, Public Relations Manager at La Maltese Estate & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like thank you for your very kind feedback and review.
Our team is really happy to know you had such a pleasant time in our hotel and restaurant premises.

Regarding the iron and ironing board, please note that there available upon request.
The island of Santorini is indeed facing some issues with the electricity, due to the fact that there is being a very big amount of use.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our premises in the near future.

Kind regards,
The La Maltese Estate, Buddha-Bar Beach Santorini Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews