We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Imerovigli, Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Greek first
Italian first
Any
English first
Jeremy O
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in March 2015
6
people found this review helpful

My family of 2 adults and 2 children (aged 5 and 1) stayed in the beautiful lilac windmill in the last week of June 2015.

We had seen the photos on various websites before we booked, and as amazing as it looked, it was even better in real life.

After making our online booking I was anxious to ensure that we had indeed secured this fantastic place, so I decided to contact the owner directly. I sent an email to Nikos who confirmed that our booking had been made. We were so happy. Nikos offered his assistance if there were any queries we might have and we certainly took him up on this!

We had read many horror stories about renting a car in Santorini so we asked Nikos if he could arrange one for us, including a transfer from the airport to the windmill as we were landing at midnight. Nikos said that he would arrange it all and that re-assuringly the rental company would take cash rather than a card. (I was worried about spurious claims on credit cards for "damage" to the car which I had read about).

We needn't have worried, as the rental company, SantoSun, were excellent and the Nissan Micra we were given did the job nicely. Our contact Antony was so kind and met us at the airport and escorted us to the windmill as we had no idea how to get there let alone in the dark! He took our suitcases and bags in his car and we followed him in ours. WE arranged the reverse trip for our last day too as there was no way we'd get everything in the one car. No problem in getting booster or baby seats.

Prior to the trip, we had asked Nikos to stock the windmill with some bottled water as our daughter has food allergies and needed fresh water for her special formula. This was waiting for us when we arrived so we could put the kids straight to bed after a very long day travelling. We were met at the windmill by Nikos' younger sister Chryssoula who gave us a warm welcome and a very quick tour of the windmill, knowing we wanted to go straight to bed.

She promised to return the next day to go through everything with us properly.

In the morning we could truly appreciate how amazing the windmill was. The ground floor is a fully equipped kitchen/diner with a comfy sofa and armchair, TV and DVD player. The kitchen had an oven, hob, microwave, sandwich maker, coffee machine, coffee peculator, fridge freezer and dishwasher. Everything you could need.

The middle floor was a double bedroom with en-suite bathroom. There are no baths, only showers. There were wonderful complimentary slippers and toiletries and the towels were changed each day,should you wish.

The top floor had a double bed and a further single. This also had the cot for our daughter placed in it. Again, an en-suite bathroom as before.

The rooms are huge and had wardrobes, dressers and a safe.

Each floor has air conditioning, however we didn't need any during our stay.

The decor is beautifully rustic and everything was so clean. This was in no small way due to the wonderful cleaner Tania. She was absolutely brilliant. She cleans the windmill from top to bottom each day and attends to the swimming pools and terracing throughout your stay. She was always friendly and happy and was flexible when she wanted to clean while our daughter was having her midday nap.

When the weather turned (it rained a bit while we were there and there was strong winds and a huge thunderstorm one evening) Tania appeared from nowhere to put away the sunbed and terrace cushions. As soon as the weather changed she was back rearranging everything and cleaning the pool!

The outside area is amazing. A decent sized pool that is shallow enough for children at one end and has a jacuzzi function. The sheltered terrace hosted our breakfast most mornings and my son and I relaxed in it's shade in the afternoons.

Although there are 3 windmills in total, none of them overlook the other and you have the feeling of seclusion and complete privacy. We felt so at home there almost immediately.

Each morning Tania brought our breakfast which consisted of fresh pastries and bread rolls, boiled eggs, Greek yoghurt, honey, jam, butter, fresh milk, feta and tomatoes, a fruit salad and freshly squeezed orange juice. This fed our family handsomely everyday and there was enough to make up rolls for lunch too which we stored in the fridge.

We had need to call on Chryssoula on a couple of occasions and she couldn't have been more helpful. She recommended some great restaurants (these will be reviewed seperately, but each one was fantastic) the Ammoudi Fish Tavern, Metaxi Mas and Krinaki. We ate at each of them (Metaxi Mas twice!) and Chryssoula's directions came in very handy!

She was also helpful when the thunderstorm caused a temporary power-cut, and was on hand to make sure we were ok. She also allowed us to store our cases on site after checking out as we had 7 hours between then and having to go to the airport.

We ventured out each day in the car. the windmill is about a 15-20 minute drive to Oia and about 10 mins to Fira so the location is great. The beaches in Perissa and Kamari are a 30 minute drive at the most as the island is pretty small.

We were delighted to find a Lidl supermarket a further 5 minute drive from Fira, which was an enormous help in shopping for our daughter's dietary needs. This should be a must for anyone self-catering.

Santorini is a beautiful island and has something for everyone. We split our days between spending time at our idyllic windmill and visiting the things we wanted. I wouldn't want to bore you with details of our whole itinerary but some of the things we visited were:

Ammoudi bay
The Red beach (photo opportunity only)
Perissa beach
Kamari beach
The Santorini Brewing Company (3 real ales produced)
Pyrgos
Fira
Oia
Exo Gonia

and so on and so on.

The island is so small you just need to get out and about.

If you get to stay on this beautiful island, you cannot do better than stay in one of these amazing windmills.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, impressive accommodation & very friendly...”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week staying at the Lilac Windmill...a fantastic location with views right across the landscape to the sea - if you can force yourself to rise early then you will capture the sunrise which is almost as magnificent as the sunsets.

I should mention the specification of the windmill a little - most notably to my mind was the comfort and quality of the beds, pillows and sheets - it was a rare thing and made the trip feel that little bit more luxurious and frankly restful. The maid service was also spot on, and regular, and we always returned to a clean and tidy windmill - indeed the overall quality of the whole house was to my mind faultless.

As Santorini is a relatively small island everywhere is pretty much easy to get to - we especially liked Perissa for the beaches, found Fira too busy (crazy busy actually and why the island allows the number of cruise ships to dock and literally flood the place with tourists is beyond me). Oia is a must for evening walks, bars & restaurants, and of course the legendary sunsets.

I must mention Nikos and his mother - you couldn't meet a more friendly host/hostess - they obviously care passionately about their business - and guests - from the standards they have at the Windmills. Highly recommended !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake P
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lilac Villa is superb!”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had the most wonderful week staying in the Lilac Windmill Villa, we could not recommend this place highly enough. The Windmill is beautifully decorated with lovely touches, furnishings, furniture and wonderfully equipped kitchen, everything there that you could wish for.
Nikos and his mother Fontina are the kindest and most hospitable hosts, and nothing is too much trouble for them, they are so helpful, happy to book restaurants and taxis mad a boat trip and places to visit of interest in the island. Fontini made us two wonderful dinners.
There are no Tavernas or bars close by, so a car or a quad bike are essential here.
It is the most wonderful place to completely chill out by the gorgeous pool. Thoroughly recommend this place!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill D
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Simply sublime, accommodation and friendliness of owners were exceptional”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Being met at the airport with private driver to take you direct to the windmill is perfect start to holiday. Hire car arranged by Nikos was waiting for us at the accommodation, cheaper and a lot less hassle than using the traditional hire companies.
The accommodation was just perfect, everything has been thought of with lots of nice details such as coffee for the espresso machine and quality toiletries.
Watching sunrise over the Aegean from bedroom window is a great start to day followed by breakfast provided by the owners if required.
Accommodation is on quite side of Island which was just what we wanted. It takes about 15 minutes to drive to either of two main towns on Island so car is really essential.
Owners were so friendly and great hosts making sure we had everything we needed everyday without being intrusive. They both recommended and booked for us all the restaurants we used and somehow always managed to get us the best table to enjoy the famous Santorini views.
Honestly can't give any downsides of the accommodation and holiday unless you are looking for walking distance to bars, restaurants and beaches

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Friendliness and support offered by owners
Liked least: Accommodation is on other side of Island to enjoy the famous Santorini sunsets
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing