We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
21
17
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
17
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed two nights at this magnificent hotel situated in its own large grounds, with plenty of water around ( a large pond with an abundance of wildlife and other river channels nearby)

Beautifully appointed rooms, excellent decor and a lovely sitting area adjacent to the water.

The hotel is situated in the picturesque village of Croisy-sur Eyre, with lovely surrounding countryside, with other villages nearby that are well worth visiting - (visit the friendly tabac in Menilles just a mile or two away...!)

We ate at the in-house restaurant on both nights that we stayed - Top quality food and drink, and considering that quality, suprisingly reasonable cost-wise!

One small "blemish" was the lady waitress that served us in the restaurant. Clearly over worked, she did not hide the fact that she was very stressed over her workload, and this unfortunately manifested itself in a lack of customer service. Apart from that - a brilliant stay!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBTJOHNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Beautiful grounds, lovely restaurant but the accommodation is awful. If you are unlucky enough to be in the rooms opposite the river you can hear all the adjacent rooms plumbing. My room had no door between the bathroom and the bedroom, which meant where it backed onto the neighbouring bathroom or situated below the upper room bathrooms; all you could hear all night was the continual running of water whenever anyone else ran a tap or flushed a toilet.
Rooms also lacked accessible plug sockets and ended up having to move the furniture around in order to be able to charge travel essentials. There were also insects in the bathroom and mould around the shower. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms in the block opposite the restaurant are particularly noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamJan2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The hotel is set in wonderful grounds but the accommodation was very shabby & is in need of a complete refurb including well worn towels. Restaurant quite good but lacked personality & breakfast poor. There was a general lack of passion about the place. It is a real shame as its potential is enormous

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I booked three rooms for one night for my family and me. The reception staff were helpful but I needed my daughters help with the language as the receptionist did not speak any English. We had three double rooms my wife's and mine was on the first floor just above the restaurant and the other two in an adjacent annex. The grounds, river and lake are excellent place for an evening stroll. We saw coypus in the river, lake and on the banks. The room facilities were we OK, the rooms having tea/coffee making facilities. In the evening we ate at the hotel having three-courses from the set menu. The majority of us ordered; Scallops, Duck (cooked to perfection, just pink enough) and an chocolate assortment for the pudding. All dishes were well presented and cooked and all three courses were reasonably sized portions. The server spoke English which helped when we came to order. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We arrived at the hotel after driving 3 miles down a narrow country road from the motorway and entered the property which is beautiful and can only be be described as a lovely park. The hotel also looks beautiful. However we soon realised we had judged this book by its cover. The receptionist was very pleasant and showed us to our "superior double room" this was up a narrow staircase. It was a tiny very unpleasant room which we refused to stay in and asked for an alternative. She said she would look to see if they had a alternative which surprised us as the place looked as though there were few residents. She then showed us to an alternative room in an outbuilding which was larger and had a small additional room with a desk and nice bathroom with separate toilet. The problem was as we found out later that there were no curtains or blinds and the only way to stop other resident looking in on us as we changed for dinned or got out of the bath was to close the shutters outside. Now we travel in France a lot and we are used to shutter but these did not have any way of keeping them closed as there were no clasps. It was very lucky that there was no wind that night or they would never have stayed shut. I actually shoved a wad of paper between the shutter and the wall to keep it closed. One the shutters were shut the room was very dark as the lighting was extremely poor. However the bed was very comfy and we slept very well having to use eye masks which fortunately we had with us. There was no wifi in our room which was supposed to be all over the property. The toilet made a loud water rushing noise every time someone used the toilet or ran a bath somewhere else near us. We ate in the restaurant which has a very limited menu and was very tasty although very nouveau cuisine with tiny portions. The waitress spoke no English at all and if one of us had not been able to understand a little French and got a gist of what the main ingredient was such as fish or meat we would have had absolutely no idea what was on the menu. It is a shame that the weather was so poor as we were unable to make the most of the lovely grounds. This hotel is ok for a one night stop on the way home from Normandy as very reasonable and also within easy reach of half an hour from Monet's garden at Giverny. An absolute must if you are staying in the area. Also make sure you go to a beautiful village rear by called Pacy and take a camera. Breakfast was excellent with super butter croissants, baguette, eggs, ham and a super home made prune jam. There was orange juice but unfortunately it was not freshly squeezed as we had in other hotels we had stayed in this trip. Even so if I could get a " super superior room" if they had one I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelguidebarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews