We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for summer cycling or walking in Pyrenees”
Review of Hotel Les Sorbiers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bareges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Les Sorbiers
Ranked #2 of 5 Bareges B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

We had an excellent week hosted by Rachel and family, not to mention Rich who was our ever patient cycling guide.

The hotel is quite compact with small but clean rooms and a nice lounge with all mod-cons and a self service bar/ drinks area. The hosts' local knowledge and cycling enthusiasm plus the superb standard of evening meals makes Hotel Les Sorbiers a welcoming and excellent value place to stay for hungry cyclists!

Many thanks, hope to be back soon.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2017

Excellent stay, very friendly and welcoming. Well situated not far from the bus stop which takes you up to the skiing, this is a good service every 15 minutes and is free. Nearby there is a bakery, a few bars, pharmacy, sports shops and souvenir shop. The rooms are small but very clean and well looked after. There was no menu choice for food but everything was excellent, enjoyed it all, couldn't fault the cooking.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaysover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I have been lucky enough to have spent a week of cycling in the beautiful Pyrenees. Staying at my favourite place, Les Sorbiers. Run by Robert and Rachel Wiliamson, situated in the village of Bareges.

As a beginner to cycling, I was amazed on the many miles of perfectly smooth tarmac available to ride in the area. Im no mountain climbing specialist, but within 20 mins or so I was able to ride quiet country roads through stunning scenery. Guided by Mrs Williamson, I was able to enjoy my rides and experience why so many riders come to this part of the world.

If you are a climber of mountains or just fancy a challenge, there are no better roads for you to take on. I've had a wonderful week at Les Sorbiers and will be returning again in the winter for some Christmas skiing with my family.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have comfortable beds, its very clean and a home from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel situated in Bareges which is a good central location for hiking or cycling the Pyrenees. Rob and Rachel, the owners, are Brits which is great if you are not very skilled in French. The rooms are simple, with ensuite available, and their weekly price is a bargain with breakfast and dinner included. Rachel is a closet vegetarian, and I stayed two weeks and never had the same vegetarian entrée twice. Dinner is three course; salad, entrée, and desert. Wine available. Their package price for a guided hiking vacation is also one of the best prices I have seen for guided hiking. It is great if you don't have a car because they drive you to and from some great hiking locations. I have attached some pictures of the hikes. They also pick you up and drop you off at the local airport in Lourdes. I didn't do any cycling myself, but many cyclists stayed there to ride the famous cols of the Tour de France with Rob.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank bigredwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Our annual visit delightful as ever. I recommend a stay at Les Sorbiers if you are a cyclist or walker as this is an ideal centre. Rob and Rachel are very knowledgeable about the area and will sort you out. Nice home cooked food too!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bareges hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel les Castets d'Ayre
0.1 km away
Logis Le Central Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 km away
Hotel La Montagne Fleurie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Sorbiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Sorbiers

Address: 13 Rue Labatsus, 65120 Bareges, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Bareges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bareges
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Sorbiers is a fine period Napoleonic building in the heart of the village of Bareges, which we have sympathetically restored and modernised to the level expected of high quality family run hotels throughout the Pyrenees. Rob and Rachel Williamson are Classically french trained Chefs and Hoteliers offering specialist multi-activity holidays in the French Pyrenees we offer value for money cycling and mountain biking holidays, along with walking holidays and multi-activity, wildlife and birding holidays in the summer. Our winter skiing holidays offer the best skiing in the largest ski resort in the French Pyrenees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Sorbiers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing