We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for hiking/cycling the Pyrenees particularly for vegetarians and/or travelers without a car.”
Review of Hotel Les Sorbiers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bareges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Les Sorbiers
Ranked #2 of 5 Bareges B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel situated in Bareges which is a good central location for hiking or cycling the Pyrenees. Rob and Rachel, the owners, are Brits which is great if you are not very skilled in French. The rooms are simple, with ensuite available, and their weekly price is a bargain with breakfast and dinner included. Rachel is a closet vegetarian, and I stayed two weeks and never had the same vegetarian entrée twice. Dinner is three course; salad, entrée, and desert. Wine available. Their package price for a guided hiking vacation is also one of the best prices I have seen for guided hiking. It is great if you don't have a car because they drive you to and from some great hiking locations. I have attached some pictures of the hikes. They also pick you up and drop you off at the local airport in Lourdes. I didn't do any cycling myself, but many cyclists stayed there to ride the famous cols of the Tour de France with Rob.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank bigredwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

5 - 9 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Our annual visit delightful as ever. I recommend a stay at Les Sorbiers if you are a cyclist or walker as this is an ideal centre. Rob and Rachel are very knowledgeable about the area and will sort you out. Nice home cooked food too!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

I have not stayed at Les sorbiers before , was recommended by friends and was glad i came the week before easter.. Rob and Rachel are lovely couple and run a clean pleasent hotel with nice home family feel to it. Which is what you need after a good day boarding. The food was great Rachel seemed to add her own personal touch to every meal which i couldn't fault . Rob is very down to earth and next time I visit hope i can go on one of his guided ski/board trips off pic di midi. Its pretty good value for money the rooms a comfortable. It was the friendliness that will stick in my memory and draw me back to this particular hotel. The area itself i would like to explore more at a later date.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molecansurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

My wife and I recently spent a fantastic week with Rob and Rachel Williamson and family at their little gem of a hotel in beautiful Bareges, on the slopes of the iconic Col du Tourmalet. As a cyclist, the week I spent climbing some of the great cols of the Tour de France under Rob's expert guidance was a highlight, but my wife also enjoyed the beautiful scenery, extensive walks, observing the abundant birdlife and the many other activities available in the area. Accommodation was very very good and the home cooked meals provided by Rachel and Rob were consistently excellent. More importantly, the Williamsons made us feel as though we were part of their family and went out of their way to look after us and make us feel at home. It was also fantastic value for the price. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and thoroughly recommended for anyone interested in cycling or just having a great time in a lovely part of the world. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

As promised, our return to Bareges and Les Sorbiers this summer!

Greeted with the usual warm welcome back at Les Sorbiers for a week. We have spent another wonderful time with the Williamson family. This week we have experienced a week of activity, with walking, exploring and a day canyoning.

Our hosts have again gone above and beyond the expected levels expected of a family visit. Rachel was kind enough to guide us on a walk into the high mountains to a secluded lake. The walk was beautiful and took us to places we would never have seen. The Lake is situated below the towering Observatory of the Pic Du Midi. It was a steady climb, that can be attempted by most people.
On arriving at the lake, our 17 year old and 13 year old had stripped off to their swimsuits. However, they did realise that the water is almost at freezing point, fresh off the mountains. My oldest did in fact end up swimming after he slipped and fell into the crystal clear waters!

We walked back a different route and stopped for coffee and chocolate at the cafe on the top of the world famous Tourmalet cycle route.

During the week we visited the ski station and the runs we skied at Christmas, we took the ski lift back up to the summit and spent a couple of hours walking through the beautiful woods. We visited the amazing Pic Du Midi observatory, the second time I've visited the place and it always impresses with the magnificent views. At over 9000 feet, it towers over all the peaks. Its a fantastic place to visit.

This week we have tried a spot of canyoning, this involves putting on a heavy duty wetsuit and climbing, swimming and jumping into the clear waters of a local river gorge. Not for the faint hearted, we where introduced to the sport with a leap off a 9 metre rock face into the cold, clean water! The whole afternoon was amazing and really tested you physically and mentally. By two boys loved it. We where joined in this by Rachel and her 13 year old daughter Rosie. Canyoning is physically demanding but its open to all and at all levels, you are not expected to take the high plunges if you don't want to. Its a great way to spend a couple of hours.

Sadly, our holiday has ended all too soon. We have had a great time again at Les Sorbiers and we all hope to be able to return again in the future. Rob, Rachel and the girls have been great hosts.

If you are looking for a place to stay in this area of France, you could do a lot worse than staying at Les Sorbiers. Great location, great people, great food and worth a visit.

Thanks Guys.

The Dyer's

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bareges hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel les Castets d'Ayre
0.4 km away
Gite l'Oasis
Gite l'Oasis
#3 of 5 in Bareges
15 reviews
0.2 km away
Logis Le Central Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel La Montagne Fleurie
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Sorbiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Sorbiers

Address: 13 Rue Labatsus, 65120 Bareges, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Bareges
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bareges
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Sorbiers is a fine period Napoleonic building in the heart of the village of Bareges, which we have sympathetically restored and modernised to the level expected of high quality family run hotels throughout the Pyrenees. Rob and Rachel Williamson are Classically french trained Chefs and Hoteliers offering specialist multi-activity holidays in the French Pyrenees we offer value for money cycling and mountain biking holidays, along with walking holidays and multi-activity, wildlife and birding holidays in the summer. Our winter skiing holidays offer the best skiing in the largest ski resort in the French Pyrenees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Sorbiers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing