We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous, eco-home in the rainforest”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Nearby Beaches_Whale Marine National Park Chestnut-mandibled Toucan--a daily visitor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Nearby Beaches_Whale Marine National Park
Chestnut-mandibled Toucan--a daily visitor
Casa Uvita Alarm Clock_Howler Monkey
Sloth outside of living room window
Sloth swinging on front porch at Casa Uvita--not an everyday event!
Slaty-tailed Trogons Male & Female
Spider monkey at Casa Uvita--a rare treat!
Whale's Tail Beach at sunset--just minutes away!
Surfing at Sunset_Marino Ballena Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Melinda_N...
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, eco-home in the rainforest”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My family spent 6 nights at Casa Uvita during our recent Costa Rican vacation. It was our favorite location and I would recommend it to friends and family and we hope to return soon. The house is private, but the owner and staff live in another house on the property so there is 24 hour security and someone is always available to help if you need anything. Michelle and her staff are wonderful hosts. They were very helpful in planning excursions for our stay. Johnny, the caretaker, took us on a hike to a waterfall where we got to swim in a pool under the falls. It was one of the highlights of our trip. The property is beautiful, really even nicer than the pictures suggest. Our main goal in visiting Costa Rica was to observe the wildlife. We were not disappointed. As soon as we arrived at Casa Uvita we saw toucans and parrots in the trees surrounding the property. The next day we saw howler monkeys. We could back float in the pool and watch a family of monkeys feeding in the trees right above us. We loved the experience of being in a Central American rainforest. However, guests should be aware that the howler monkeys wake you up every morning at 5:00. Then parrots and toucans began to squawk at each other around 6:00. We didn't mind, it was wonderful to lay in bed (a beautiful canopy bed draped with mosquito netting) and listen to the sounds of the forest. One note about trip planning: We visited in July, the wet season, and it did rain every day. However, it was reliably clear and sunny in the mornings and then around 2:00 in the afternoon would cloud up and we'd have thunder and lighting and/or rain through the evening. The weather did not stop us from enjoying this beautiful country. We were awake by 6:00 in the morning anyway. So we'd go off and explore in the mornings and return in the afternoons to watch the birds and monkeys from the deck. Pura Vida!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you for the detailed review! This will be very helpful to other guests considering Casa Uvita during the rainy season. There are pros and cons to the wet weather, with cooler temperatures and exciting thunderstorms being at the top of the pro list. The howler monkeys and parrots are here all year around, so no matter what time of year you travel, they'll be sure to wake you up bright and early. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasha_and...
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The highlight of our trip to Costa Rica”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Casa Uvita was the BEST part an incredible vacation in Costa Rica. We fell in love with the house, the town, local beaches, animals in the trees (we even spotted a sloth hanging out near the pool), sunny days, tropical rains and gorgeous sunsets. Michele and her team (Carlos, Argentina & Bella) are such wonderful and generous hosts - each of them made our time at Casa Uvita so memorable. We can hardly wait to return and unplug! Sasha & Jackson

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The natural surroundings - such an incredible place for a beautiful home!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
It was a pleasure meeting you two! I am certain our paths will cross again in Costa Rica or California. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudyNDave
Santa Cruz, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pure pleasure and privacy at Casa Uvita”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My wife and I stayed at Casa Uvita for one week. This was a paradise in the primary rainforest where you can spend your day either on the deck or in the hammock appreciating the howler monkeys moving around the tree canopy and watching the toucans and parrots roosting in the nearby trees. The cacophony of nature sounds in the morning was such a delight; I recorded it one morning to play for my friends back home. Michele, the owner, does a great job at orienting you to the host of activities you can do while in Uvita, or you can just relax and do nothing at all. We enjoyed the secluded waterfall, hikes, bicycling, ocean fishing, surfing and boogie boarding, not to mention several excellent restaurants when we wanted fine dining. Thank you Michele, staff and Bella, the jungle pooch, for helping to make this vacation such a memorable experience.
JudyNDave

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the flora and fauna of the rainforest
Liked least: the occasional encounter with a large insect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed spending some time with you at Casa Uvita. You two had a nice balance by doing adventures in the morning and relaxing in the afternoon. Thank you for sharing the nice red snapper and mackerel that you caught! Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Relaxing Jungle Retreat!”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Casa Uvita surpassed our expectations. The pictures do not do the place justice. It was a very private setting with views of the ocean. The monkeys and birds were always close. I watched close to a dozen toucans flying around the place one early evening. I loved hearing the monkeys growling and talking all throughout the forest. Michele and crew were very attentive to our needs. Michele was very knowledgeable about the area and gave some great suggestions on things to do. Carlos took us to a nearby waterfall with a refreshing swimming hole. Casa Uvita was very clean and nicely appointed and spacious. The kids enjoyed the TV with a nice selection of videos. We enjoyed the deck and patio areas as well as the wonderful pool. We hope to return sometime in the future.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
It was a pleasure to have you and your extended family with us here at Casa Uvita. It was extra special for us to have grandma here--what a sweet soul! I do hope you'll come back and visit us--maybe next time in the rainy season! Warmest regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasharp20...
Locust Grove, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful off-grid home with lots of amenities”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our group of seven adults (three couples and one solo traveler) found this home to be the perfect base for exploring the southern Pacific coastal region. The house is meticulously maintained and features a spacious, modern kitchen that opens to a poolside entertainment area. We spent a lot of time simply enjoying the pool (which was surprisingly large and always seemed to be the perfect temperature), the view over the coast, appearances by resident wildlife (howler monkeys, a jesus christ lizard, hummingbirds, toucans and parrots) and--our favorite--visits by owner Michelle's incredibly sweet and gentle rescued street dog Bella, who accompanied us on a walk up the mountain.
Our stay was during a particularly hot week at the end of a very dry dry season and the house was a little warm at night, but we learned to take a dip in the pool and use the numerous ceiling fans and great cross-ventilation to get comfortable. Each morning the howlers and birds would wake us with their "breakfast show" ... we enjoyed it and rose early, but light sleepers or those who want to sleep in would be wise to bring earplugs.
The staff provided great service and were always there when we looked for them but also gave us great privacy. Michelle arranged for Carlos to take us to an unmarked trail to a nearby waterfall and swimming hole, which I'd highly recommend. After a short but steep hike, we had the falls completely to ourselves. Carlos and his wife, Argentina, also cooked us an amazing goodbye dinner, a great treat after a long day out exploring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, and Bella the dog!
Liked least: That we couldn't take Bella home with us.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
It was great to have you all here at Casa Uvita, and what an honor to be part of your 50th birthday celebration. Yes, it was brutally hot the week that you came, but I'm glad the pool and the beers helped cool you off. Bella and the rest of us send our best to you and the jumper gang. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing