We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spot”
other travellers have booked this property
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ita H
1 review
“Lovely spot”
Reviewed 6 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Quiet cottage in a beautiful rural setting, close to wineries. We were well looked after by the host with plenty of yummy food. She even arranged our tours: a fantastic day at the wineries and a pet the wombat session. Highlight was a visit from a wildlife carer who came to the cottage to show us the local wildlife up close and personal. We will often look back at this special little holiday we had at The Burrow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2018
Thank you so much for your thoughtful and warm review. We are delighted that all the special events we were able to organise or arrange for you met your wishlist so completely. Your own interests in wildlife gave us a special opportunity to engage at a very personal level ~ and a wonderful chance to have a 'hands on' experience with some very rare Australian animals.

We loved the opportunity to make your anniversary celebrations so memorable (for us also !).

warmest wishes
Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxi84
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Rustic Affair”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

If you're looking for rustic Aussie charm, look no further!! My husband and I couldn't have asked for more, submersed in a birds paradise the cottage is amazingly homely and offers everything you'd need and more! Breakfast produce was fresh and there was a variety of continental and English Breakfast goodies, We loved the fact you prepared breakfast yourself, no early get-ups or stipulations on time. A definate lie-in is guaranteed, if you wanted to have one but we loved nature's alarm clock of birds squarking on the verandah getting us up for the day ahead. Over looking a beautiful dam with misty Charm relaxes you. Star gazing is magical too. Sue & Bill are fantastic hosts with a wealth of knowledge on the surrounding areas and beyond. Thanks again for a fantastic weekend. We can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2018
Thank you for such a warm review from two world travellers ~ it's always a thrill to know that you found a special 'new' place to add to your experiences around the globe. It's easy to take for granted that we see a wonderful sky every night with the stars so clear and sharp ... but you particularly commented and brought it home that city living means you don't get to see such wonders so easily. The mist over the billabong has a great charm ... again, you saw it. Wonderful guests with such sensitivity ! We'll be looking forward to your return.
cheers, Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PossumAde...
Adelaide SA
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Perfect for lovers of nature”
Reviewed 19 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A very homely and comfortable cottage overlooking a large billabong. The owners are very welcoming and hospitable, and the breakfast supplies and other treats they leave in the cottage are delicious and very generous. A place to relax and enjoy the countryside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2018
Thank you for your kind and warm review of your stay here. It was such a pleasure to welcome you, and lovely that you were able to explore some of our Yarra Valley gems, such as Coombe Cottage at Coldstream. We hope you gathered some great memories and experiences of our region that will be added to your list of world travels ~ which are so extensive.

Warmest wishes, Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_gayeleb
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Tranquil Retreat”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed 4 nights at The Burrow at Wombat Bend and really didn't want to leave. The wraparound verandah overlooking the billabong is the perfect place to relax and watch the abundant variety of bird life. The bed was extremely comfortable and we loved the luxurious bed linen. Thank you Sue and Bill, you have created a truly magical retreat. We look forward to our next visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for your warm and thoughtful review. It was so nice to see how easily you felt at home and that you could begin to relax from stress. It's always a privilege for us to share Wombat Bend with new friends and to know that you take a little piece of peacefulness with you.

We really hope you can return soon,
warmest wishes
Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heatheran...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“(Better than) a home away from home”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

So welcoming, this has been our holiday haven of choice over the Easter long weekend over the past two years. The bed is comfortable and there is lots of room to spread out and relax. We enjoyed the generous breakfast provisions and little extras (thanks for the homemade cookies) and delicious dine-in dinner on our arrival night/s. Evenings spent watching the sun set over the lake with wine, cheese and biscuits and listening to bird song ... it's a long way from everyday work. The burrow is well located with beautiful forest drives and walks close by and not too far to drive for daily lattes! Thanks Sue and Bill, you've done it again. We were talking about returning before we had even left.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2018
Oh thank you ! we adore having you and love that you keep coming back ... nothing is nicer than welcoming lovely people who start off as guests and rapidly become friends.

And yes, we are lucky to be situated in the middle of so many places to explore, so you never have to travel too far to find another gem in the Yarra Valley and surrounds.

We'll be looking forward to your next visit with great pleasure.
Cheers, Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing