We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful. Beautiful. Serene.”
other travellers have booked this property
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Carole M
Shepparton, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Delightful. Beautiful. Serene.”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This stunningly unique and beautiful cottage is more than a bed and breakfast; it's an experience. Private and secluded this cottage is set in the most beautiful natural landscape encompassing personality and charm like no other place I've been. I stayed only one night, but it helped me to get in touch with creativity that had been dormant for some time through providing an inspiring place to practice my music and art.

The Burrows cottage and surrounding landscape has been skilfully, ethically and lovingly created, nurtured and shared by owners Sue and Bill. It was an honour to experience a taste of their vision. What an artwork, a beautiful symphony they have created. I would suggest as far to say this place provides for the spirit something individual which could come as the most amazing surprise.

is set in has a personality, as does the landscape that encapsulates it, as do the lovely Sue and Bill who lovingly care for and nurture the land

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
We are very honored that you found such harmony within our sanctuary that is Wombat Bend. It was a joy to listen to your music and to share time, ideas and conversation, and to know that you found further inspiration in your art through your time here gives us great pleasure. It is wonderful to share Wombat Bend with guests who feel so instantly at home and who hear its heartbeat so truly. We look forward to your return very much. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with others. Our warmest regards, Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelindaMc...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here as a romantic getaway after attending a wedding in the Yarra Valley. This was the cosiest and most perfect place to stay and we felt so at home. All the little touches made it very romantic and special. Sue and Bill should be very proud of this secret little burrow they have created and we will look forward to the next time we get to visit (hopefully for a lot longer next time)
Thank you
David and Belinda (& the Buick)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thank you both for such a warm and lovely review. We totally adored having you even though it was just the one night .. and the Buick was the cherry on top ! ohhhh what a magnificent beast she is. That throaty rumble as you arrived late in the evening .. I think even the wombats took notice ! Thank you for the delight of chatting with you both and for being such perfect guests. Please return and bring Ms Buick with you ..... soon ! ( I will share the photos on Facebook too )
cheers, Sue, Bill, Emma, Chilli, and Beckham especially
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stan n
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like a home coming.”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was our second visit to the Burrow and every bit as enjoyable as the first and I am sure as will be the third as no doubt we will be back.
Just an idyllic place to relax and be as one with the Australian landscape.
The generosity of Sue and Bill has to be seen to be believed. The breakfast provisions for two people are substantial and if you were to leave the Burrow hungry it would be your own fault.
The amazing birdlife and the scenery from all corners never cease to surprise.
If you wish to leave all your cares and woes behind the Burrow is the place for you. Just kick back, relax and dream. Will certainly be back sometime this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth and generosity of our hosts Sue and Bill. Always there for you but never in your face.
Liked least: Leaving. Would love to have stayed longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Welcoming you back to The Burrow was just wonderful. It's amazing how fast new friends become old friends .. and like the best family. We truly cherish your visits and your next one can't come soon enough. It's a joy to have you here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Feb 2016
We loved having you, and loved that you settled into The Burrow so easily. It's always a pleasure to know that first-time guests very quickly feel at home (without the pressures of 'home' ) and find relaxation around every corner, with nothing to do except to enjoy it. It was an excellent piece of planning to include a great concert experience at Rochford on the Saturday, but with only a short trip home to The Burrow afterwards. There's so much to see and do in the Yarra Valley that we hope to entice you for a longer stay next time. And Wombat Bend at any time of the year is a constantly changing picture book of nature and the natural world.... right at your fingertips. Do come back ! Cheers, Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen fully stocked with food.
Liked least: We were only there 1 night, should have stayed longer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jan 2016
That's the kind of review that sends a tingle down my spine. Thank you! it was a real pleasure of course to have you stay, but to know it was your first experience of a B&B and that you found all and more than you expected makes it even better. We truly do hope to welcome you again, for a little bit longer this time. And we are still only an hour from the city <smile>
Cheers, Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing