We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
CJGurt
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Peaceful”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Property is located some distance from a main road so it's very quiet. Cottage is very cosy and has lots of cooking provisions for eating in and preparation of breakfast the following morning. Hosts are friendly and accommodating and the breakfast foods are plentiful.
Great to hear all the frog sounds of an evening, and then just the splash of ducks in the water during the day. We had a thoroughly relaxing one night stay and would recommend this place to anyone else. Location is very near Locale at De Bortoli Vineyard.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind review, and we are pleased that you were comfortable and enjoyed the peaceful nature of Wombat Bend. Although we are close to so many of the attractions of the Yarra Valley, we are also lucky that our own little valley is secluded and quiet, enabling our guests to feel relaxed and undisturbed. Thank you for your recommendation. Kind regards, Sue and Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The billabong and the Airedales
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
it was great to have you ! and your enjoyment of the wildlife and the busy Airedales (including two extras) was very apparent. The birds are all very active on and around the billabong now that spring is well under way (and daylight saving .. I guess that makes a difference for them too <smile> ....), and lots of things in flower everywhere. Great for photography and capturing those special moments.
We'll be very happy to see you returning very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
... and we'll be looking forward to seeing you again too. It was such an unexpected pleasure, one of those serendipitous 'happenings' ~ you fitted right in so quickly that it felt like you'd been here for days. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nick w
1 review
“Relaxing ”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for two nights. Perfect peaceful place to relax after visiting the local wineries and breweries.
Chilled out under the gumtrees next to the billabong and took morning walks and bike rides around the pretty gardens and surrounding hills and bush.
The mud brick cottage has a nice homely feel with plenty of books, couches, music and rugs to laze around on.
Watched the sunset on the balcony with cheese and wine whilst watching the birds playing on the water
In the evening you can hear a symphony of frogs and crickets.
This place was magic during winter and can't wait to visit again during spring, summer or autumn.
Sue and Bill are kind, down to earth and great to chat with and there dogs have lots of character.
We will be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
thanks so much for your lovely review of your time in The Burrow. It was a real pleasure to have you stay, and you clearly enjoyed your space and time out from the city stresses. We'll be looking forward to your return. Cheers, Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The billabong
Liked least: That we had to leave
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We very much enjoyed providing the rest and relaxation you both needed, and it was a genuine pleasure to have you stay. We'd love to see you again when some R&R is on your wishlist. Hope the rest of your week was great !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing