We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Italian food, wonderful cellar door”

De Bortoli Family Winemakers
Price range: AU$70 - AU$85
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: De Bortoli Yarra Valley Estate is a vibrant, family friendly winery, overlooking the valley's rolling hills and less than an hour's drive from Melbourne. Our restaurant is currently open for lunch Thursday - Mondays inclusive from 12.00pm and Saturday evenings from 6pm for dinner. The Cellar Door is open 7 days a week from 10am - 5.00pm. Bookings are recommended.
Reviewed 27 April 2019 via mobile

This area of the Yarra Valley was our favourite- beautiful rolling hills.
The restaurant was booked full so make sure you plan ahead! If you arrive ahead of schedule you can always go to the cellar door downstairs - excellent service and lovely Wines to sample.
The focaccia and black garlic butter were sensational and the perfect start for what was to come. I had the Gnocchi to start - the best gnocchi I’ve ever had. This is a dish that they have been serving since they first opened and they have got this down to a fine art. The beef cheeks and the barramundi are both excellent main dishes. We visited on a public holiday (Anzac Day) so service was very slow due to several large tables - the kitchen could produce food fast enough. But the food was incredible when it came out so they didn’t let their standards drop.
I would definitely return and dine here again. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank DayDreamingForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dbyarravalley, Guest Relations Manager at De Bortoli Family Winemakers, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2019

Dear Guest

We always appreciate hearing back from our loyal guests and it sounds like you truly had a great experience dining with us last week.
We are receiving great feedback on the black garlic butter, with our kitchen team providing different accompaniments with our house made bread over the months ahead.

You are correct with our gnocchi, a dish that never seems to go far from our seasonal menus, a favourite of so many, always with a delicious wine to accompany it.

We look forward to you coming to visit us again when you are next in the area.

Reagrds....Lisa
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 61 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2019

Four of us visited and had a lovely lunch.during restaurant week and had the set menu. Two of us had the salmon with lemon butter sauce, served with asparagus and broccolini and it was delicious. My husband had the gnocchi with the pork ragu and enjoyed it. The other person had steak and it was also very good. The tiramisu was excellent. Wines served with set lunch were good.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dbyarravalley, Guest Relations Manager at De Bortoli Family Winemakers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2019

Good afternoon Jan

Thank you for your lovely feedback in relation to your visit to us throughout the Melbourne Food & Wine Festival - Restaurant Express Week. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meals and wines at Locale restaurant and hope that you can come and visit us on another occasion in the future.

Regards....Lisa
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2019 via mobile

Wonderful service. Beautiful place and landscapes, will take good pictures together to the vineyards. The tasting of cheese and wine was amazing. Milly was very attentive in the presentation and harmonization. Milly, thank you very much!

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank RodrigoCPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dbyarravalley, Guest Relations Manager at De Bortoli Family Winemakers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2019

Dear Rodrigo

Your feedback on our staff member Millie is great to hear, she is a very valued member of our team and provides a great experience for all our guests at our cellar door, especially with our cheese and wine matching and all other experiences that we offer!

We hope to see you out here again in the not too distant future.

Regards...Lisa
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2019 via mobile

Visited the cellar door and tasted some excellent wines. Then upstairs to the restaurant for lunch.

Delicious food. Good menu. Great service from friendly staff. Nice atmosphere. A very enjoyable lunch.

Would certainly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank judio63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dbyarravalley, Guest Relations Manager at De Bortoli Family Winemakers, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2019

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely feedback as we do appreciate hearing back from our happy customers. We pride ourselves on training all of our staff to provide the high customer service that is expected from them.

We have just recently changed over to our new Autumn menu so there are a lot of new and exciting dishes on there for everyone to enjoy.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Regards...Lisa
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2019

We visited for wine tasting, not for food. We have been there before & were familiar with their wines. While most of their wines are nice, their desert wines are the stars. You get to taste them as part of the tasting, we well as the others. And of course you can buy them whereas well. We live in the US and always get a couple bottles (usually the "Noble One" ) to take back home with us.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dbyarravalley, Guest Relations Manager at De Bortoli Family Winemakers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2019

Dear Jeff

Lovely to hear from our very happy customers and we are pleased that you enjoy our very special dessert wine, Noble One. Hope to see you back for another visit next time you are in Australia.

Regards....Lisa
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Bortoli Family Winemakers also viewed

 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to De Bortoli Family Winemakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.