We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend out in the Valley”

De Bortoli Family Winemakers
Price range: AU$70 - AU$85
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: De Bortoli Yarra Valley Estate is a vibrant, family friendly winery, overlooking the valley's rolling hills and less than an hour's drive from Melbourne. Our restaurant is currently open for lunch Thursday - Mondays inclusive from 12.00pm and Saturday evenings from 6pm for dinner. The Cellar Door is open 7 days a week from 10am - 5.00pm. Bookings are recommended.
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Beautiful weather the weekend we were out here, good smooth wines. Service was good and places are meant for family visits and very children friendly as well. Good drive to experience the wines and the countryside.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Thogaivignavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dbyarravalley, Guest Relations Manager at De Bortoli Family Winemakers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for writing a review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the beautiful yarra valley to see all that we have to offer out here. Hope you get to visit us again soon.

Regards....
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 96 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

A rambling vineyard with warm friendly inviting staff.
The premises are well maintained and it’s a “must” to do a tasting.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dbyarravalley, Guest Relations Manager at De Bortoli Family Winemakers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear Marcia

Thank you for your lovely feedback as we appreciate hearing from our customers. Although it is winter it is still a lovely time to visit the yarra valley and surrounds.

Regards....
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

A brilliant venue for a traditional meal that makes you feel at home with a great glass of wine.

Massive wine list in an Italian setting.

Always a solid performer with bookings easily made.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank JohnDaltonMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dbyarravalley, Guest Relations Manager at De Bortoli Family Winemakers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear John

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Locale restaurant. We do like our customers to feel that they are at home when dining in our restaurant and we always appreciate positive feedback from our clientele.

Regards...
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

I have eaten lunch at this winery restaurant before . I knew my visitors from USA likes Italian food , wines and wanted to visit a winery so I chose this restaurant and my guests enjoyed the lunch and wines . We shared some entrees , salumi misti ( selection of cured meats , parfait , gnoccho fritto and duck pate ) , beef carpaccio ( gold beetroot , watercress and sauce gribiche ) and prawns ( king prawns in gemmolata , grilled zucchini and salad aioli ) . All the these entrees were beautifully presented and tasted great. Wines chosen were 2 shiraz.

For the mains , we all had fettuccine ( wagyu beef short ribs , caramelised onions and parmigiano reggiano cheese ). We like the presentation and the taste.

Service was attentive without being intrusive

We then proceeded to wine tasting after our lunch and spend over an hour tasting the wines . I told my guests about the Noble one bortrytis dessert wine during lunch . They liked it and bought 1 dozen .

We also bought cheese from the cheese shop . I recommend this restaurant and winery .

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Leicaman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dbyarravalley, Guest Relations Manager at De Bortoli Family Winemakers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Good afternoon

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that your guests from the USA enjoyed their visit to our winery. You definitely cannot go past our iconic Noble One dessert wine. We love to hear back from our customers and thank you again for writing a review.

Regards...
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Wine tasting was crowded, had to wait to quite a while in between wines, person serving trying to juggle to many customers at a time, no personal touch. Wine and cheese was good though.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank PenFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed De Bortoli Family Winemakers also viewed

 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to De Bortoli Family Winemakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.