We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cozy and comfortable retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Allt Mor

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Glendale, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Duncan F
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A cozy and comfortable retreat”
Reviewed 5 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Allt Mor is a fabulous cottage; warm & cozy, very comfortable and extremely well appointed. Josie is a welcoming host and did everything possible to make the stay as enjoyable as possible.

My only suggestion, which would make it perfect in every way, would be the provision of Wi-Fi internet access as there is no 3G/4G coverage. Even 2G mobile phone signal is very patchy and only available at some places in the garden. I can appreciate that some visitors like to be isolated from the outside world, but equally there are those, such as me, who need to remain in touch with their business.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stay13223...
1 review
“Wonderful location for a chill out.”
Reviewed 1 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We stayed in Altt Moor cottage which is located on the Nothwest corner of Skye in mid September. The cottage is a typical Skye crofting cottage and is beautifully presented and has been extended at the rear to give it a spacious layout.
From arriving on the Saturday we were warmly greeted by our hosts Ron and Josie who live close enough away for support but far enough to ensure privacy. Even leaving a fresh loaf of bread and scones as a welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.
The cottage its self has a cosy modern kitchen which is very well equipped with everything at hand to make cooking very easy and we had meals here. The bedroom and bathroom are in the extended section and are excellent. The bathroom is modern with a walk in shower. The bedroom has a large velulx window in the ceiling throuh which you can see the stars when cloud allows. Although the cottage isnt described with a sea view you can see the sea and headland from the bedroom window.
This cottage is great for a chill out and we did a number of walks from here including to Neist Lighthouse and more often down to the jetty to look at the views over to the outer hebrides.
The location is quite remote and you need to ensure you take sufficient supplies. There was a very well equipped local store at Glendale (about 15-20mins drive). Dunvegan was within 30 minutes drive and includes a bakery, cake shop and Dunvegan castle and gardens. If you continue on the road passed Dunvegan castle you find Coral beach. Weather was mixed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
James B G
1 review
“Idyllic cottage”
Reviewed 28 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This croft cottage is set in a delightful garden in a stunning location. It has been loving restored, retaining original features, while including everything to make it a comfortable place to stay. It is extremely well-equipped with everything provided - the wood-burning stove made for cosy evenings. The area is stunningly beautiful and there are easy walks within reach. Our hosts Ron and Josie were very helpful and friendly and we were welcomed with locally made bread and scones!
We've had a holiday to remember and hope to return.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S
1 review
“Just Perfect!”
Reviewed 13 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Josie and Ron were the perfect hosts and in Allt Mor they have created a wonderful home away from home.
It was the best self-catering accomodation we have stayed in for its quality, cleanliness and above all thoughtfulness in planning.
It was so well equipped that should I have chosen to I could have heated a meal, cooked a full roast dinner or baked a cake.
Allt Mor is peaceful and has stunning views in keeping with Skye in general. The location does mean accepting some longer drives to fully explore the isle but it is well worth it.
All in all an excellent property.
Thank you, Josie and Ron.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing