We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broom Cupboard for Rent” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inverour Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inverour Guest House
Ranked #8 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Broom Cupboard for Rent”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

This is the smallest room Ive ever had the misfortune to stay in. We could not put down our baggage & still open the door. The bathroom is tiny, almost cant turn around in it. It is very poor value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goferit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Inverour Guest House, responded to this review, 24 September 2010
We are sorry this guest found the accommodation not up to his standards. He was however shown the room before he decided to accept it, and could have raised his concerns then and not accepted the room, it was entirely his choice to stay. We would prefer anyone to raise their concerns if they have any immediately with us as we only want people to enjoy the experience at Inverour which, as can be seen from other comments most of our guests do.
Considering the size of the bedroom this person must have a lot of brooms! LOL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    31
    12
    7
    0
See reviews for
13
50
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

You are always a bit anxious doing a late booking but for this trip no problems.

The small guest house is located on the busy A82 road from Fort William to Inverness but was very quiet at night.

Room was spotless with everything you need for an overnight stay.
Breakfasts are pre-ordered and very good with cereals, fresh fruit, full cooked for those with big appetites!

Their packed lunch is fantastic value at £4.50. With a small lounge perfect for a short stop.

The compact village has a well equipped supermarket, post office, woollen mill/whisky centre all nearby.

The 2 restaurants are expensive and one, Russell’s, is located just next door.

For those on a budget the Commando Hotel does lovely fish & chips.

Public transport is good with frequent buses to the Nevis Range (41) costing £1 and to Fort William (10 miles) only £2.20.

A great walk & must do is the riverside trail to the Commando monument (about 3 miles).

Lesley & Ian were perfect hosts, not at all grumpy as mentioned in a couple of earlier posts, & they let me leave my luggage in the porch after checkout whilst waiting for the train to Glasgow.

An excellent place & very good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

We have visited Inverour 3 times now and our stay has always been a highlight of our time away from home. The owners, Lesley and Ian, are truly welcoming. The rooms are delightful and modernly decorated with plenty of space for both myself, husband and 2 year old daughter. Their knowledge of the local area is invaluable and suggestions for day trips to keep us all entertained during our stay were great! Breakfast was first class and the dining area was spotless and comfortable. We will definately be visiting again!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chlobag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

We were looking forward to staying here for one night in July 2010 (after reading the positive reviews). However, my dad became sick two days beforehand and I called to ask if we could cancel the booking to go and see him. Even though we were well into the 120 hour cancellation policy period (in line with Scottish guidelines), they very kindly let us off our commitment to stay. The couple were really lovely to us and our situation. Highly recommended service. We look forward to actually staying next time!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Inverour Guest House, responded to this review, 17 July 2010
We always try to be fair and considerate, to our guests, and we look forward to meeting you next time you are in the area, and hope dad makes a speedy recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

We've just come home after our second visit to Inverour. It's a lovely guest house not too far from Fort William. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there's a nice lounge area to relax in. The couple who run it made us feel very welcome - without their knowledge of the area I don't think we'd have seen or done have the things we did. The cooked breakfast was fab - plenty of it and freshly cooked. One evening we paid for dinner too which was also a lovely home cooked meal.

Nice relaxing stay - looking forward to going back again one day.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spean Bridge hotels
11.9 km away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 km away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.1 km away
Tirindrish House B&B
Tirindrish House B&B
#5 of 23 in Spean Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Spean Bridge Hotel
Spean Bridge Hotel
#23 of 23 in Spean Bridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.5 km away
Coire Glas Guest House
Coire Glas Guest House
#17 of 23 in Spean Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.0 km away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverour Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverour Guest House

Property: Inverour Guest House
Address: Roy Bridge Road, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price range (per night): $110 - $149
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverour Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverour dates back to 1902, originally the post office and school masters house for Spean Bridge village, it was converted to a guest house bed breakfast many years ago, and is perfect for exploring the Central Highlands. This area offers such a lot of things to do and see and is nicely situated, just outside Fort William, a real find for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inverour Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverour Guest House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing