We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Visited several times and always find welcome hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guisborough, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Visited several times and always find welcome hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We have stayed at Old Pines several times since the first review. Never been disappointed. The hospitality is friendly without being overpowering with lots of good friendly advice. The hotel location is ideal for thosse quiet periods away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Great views and walks direct from the hotel and many isolated beuty spots a longer walk or short drive away. We shall be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    49
    8
    0
    6
See reviews for
64
154
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

Found this place by accident when we were returning from Skye. We saw the sign at the Commando Memorial Statue for a restaurant 1/4 of a mile away; tired after driving in terrible rain and 4 hungry children we decided to take a chance. We could not have been more delighted with the food and service.
Although we did not stay the night this time we are definitely looking at staying in the near future. We looked round the rooms which were almost cabin like with wet-room en-suite.
We highly recommend the food and they even catered for our youngest children.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4padbrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

My wife and I stayed for one night only on 13 Aug 2010. We were extremely impressed at the standards of comfort, cooking and low-key attentiveness. We consider that we have now found our future base for holidays in and around Lochaber. The location and setting are special; being close to the main road but completely dark and quiet at night. The food was excellent, with virtually everything clearly made on the premises.The wine lists and menus were interesting and little touches like the olives and croutons served with our pre-dinner drinks were a very nice touch. Overall, the Old Pines delivered beyond our expectations and we have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the hotel to others. We are sure that it won't let you down.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

The Old Pines is a splendid Hotel in a beautiful setting
and is an excellent place to stop over on a tour of the
Scottish Highlands

It is single storey and largely of wooden construction
which gives the effect of a cosy log cabin. Look out
for the hens tapping about outside your window !

Rooms, food and service all very good !

The location is a little remote, but it is
(just about) walkable from Spean Bridge
station - up a steep hill ... turn off at
the Commando Memorial. You can't
miss it !

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RabbitRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

The hotel offers excellent views. The rooms are clean and adequate. The beds are comfortable and the shower is good. Each room has flat screen TV with built in DVD and there is a generous offering of DVDs in the hall. This, along with the trampoline outside, kept our teenage son occupied.
We arrived here by foot (making this place quite remote) having walked 11 miles from Caol whilst on the GGW, so were very hungry. I asked what time lunch served till, only to be told he had given the staff the day off. Not a good start. The guy did knock us up some soup (no choices) and sandwiches, but it wasn't cheap!!
Their coffee and scones were lovely.
All in all, a pleasant enough stay, but if back in the area I'd probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottng15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
9.6 km away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
11.8 km away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
21.5 km away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
12.8 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
10.7 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Old Pines Old Pines, Spean Bridge PH34 4EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price range (per night): $156 - $195
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Wotif.com so you can book your Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Pines Hotel And Restaurant Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing