We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rochester, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Martyn G
1 review
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was our second stay at Driftwood; the first was for a weekend in August and this second stay was for a week in October. The fact we have returned for a second, longer stay hopefully says it all.

We have extremely high standards when it comes to holiday homes and have stayed in our fair share over the years both in the UK and abroad. Driftwood is without doubt the best property we have had the pleasure of staying in.

The owners, Janet and John, have just about thought of everything and we wanted for nothing during our stays. It is quite often the little things that can make a huge difference, such as the welcome pack of essential groceries, plenty of toilet rolls, a kitchen with virtually every item you could possibly need, plenty of towels, spare pillows, blankets... the list goes on and on.

For us with two young children, nothing has been overlooked. Things like stairgates for the top and bottom of both flights of stairs, a highchair, travel cot and bed rails.

The house is in excellent decorative order and very well maintained and that is something I suspect John and Janet will remain on top of. In addition to this the house is also spotlessly clean and again, I have no doubt these high standards will continue to be maintained.

We have just booked again for the spring next year and I'm sure it will be one of many future visits.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mime20
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house - excellent location”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed with my parents in this town house for a week. Friendly welcome and very good "welcome basket". It's probably the best equipped holiday rental I've ever stayed in and it's good to have parking. Great views over the Medway from the 1st floor sitting room/balcony if you just want to "chill". Well located for sight-seeing - as well as lovely Rochester we went to Canterbury and Leeds Castle. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion D
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a beautiful large house and location. Rochester has lots of bars and restaurants and and historical places to visit. The house has has everything you can think of and more. The storage space was amazing as they had a place for everything. Plenty of room for clothing storing luggage etc.Such a lovely view of the river which was nice.There was nine of us in this house which was great to have the use of a washing machine and tumble dryer especially with the children. Having some games there too was a plus as we forgot ours. We stayed here for a few days for a wedding. It was chosen for us and what a good choice it was. We were welcomed by Janet and John with a welcome pack of food too which was very useful so thank you for that, and making our stay fantastic. We would certainly recommend you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the little touches that made this house home from home.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroleSSI
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Rochester!”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here in June and found the house to be perfect for our needs. The house was very clean and well presented. So much attention to detail! Janet and John met us at the house and were so helpful, with recommendations for places to visit and restaurants to try. We will definitely be back next time we are visiting!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Dear Carole & family,
We very much appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Driftwood at some future date.

Kind regards

Janet and John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marty9992...
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean well equipped extremely comfortable family friendly accommodation”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This property delivers everything it promises. It is extremely well equipped for a family holiday and has everything you can possibly need when you are away from home. We loved the kitchen. The hosts are lovely and the welcome basket a nice touch. We travelled with elderly parents and our young children and we all enjoyed our stay it is a five star accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and all the appliances dishwasher washing machine dryer all baby equipment
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Dear Maisie and family, We're please that you had a great stay. Thank you for a great review, it's very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you in future. Kind regards John & Janet"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing