We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never enough time in Baggins.........”

Baggins Book Bazaar
Ranked #1 of 10 Shopping in Rochester
Attraction details
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Going back again.....this time for a full day with carrier bags and credit card! This place is THE place to go for booklovers, wonderful shelves, well stacked and sorted. Shame you are a round-trip of almost 100 miles from home, but worth the journey !

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank RayEssex21753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"book shop"
in 4 reviews
"love books"
in 5 reviews
"could spend hours"
in 4 reviews
"book lovers"
in 2 reviews
"great bookshop"
in 2 reviews
"shelves"
in 5 reviews
"browsing"
in 4 reviews
"treasure"
in 4 reviews
"maggies"
in 9 reviews
"tardis"
in 2 reviews
"maze"
in 2 reviews
"england"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018

Baggins is really quite well organised. You go through alleyways of books which makes the experience quite entertaining with the many unexpected and surprising finds. I was looking for good biographies of music composers: I found two great vintage books on Brahms and Prokofiev, dating from the 1930s and 1970s, for a tenner!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank JulietteP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

A great bookshop on Rochester high street. Fantastic amount of stock nice staff. It seems to go on forever.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank PHE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Loved this bookshop which is on different floors and goes back for what feels like miles, Tardis like.
Spent far too long browsing around and came out with two books which Ive been looking for for quite a while.
Nice to see a busy bookshop

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank lincolnhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Extremely disappointed with how i was treated selling a collection of books to them. 2 months they had them. Went into ask and was told the buyer hasnt looked at them so i should wait. Strangely i then had a call later that day with a price. I popped in a week later to be spoken down to by a female worker told my books were in poor condition and practically shouted at me in front of customers was rude and sarcastic.I returned to collect a cheque a few days later when buyer would be in,waited over an hour for him tried to spark a discussion about the books yet wasnt intrested the same lady brought the books to the desk said what a great collection and condition they were in and good sellers they were! So complete different attitude to the other day. I asked how they priced them and they both said that he wouldnt of looked at the books! I took the cheque because i needed the money. Completely dishearted with how i was treated as its a local shop for me and i always try to support local buisness unfortunately this is one i would never return to or recommend.
Refused to do a bank transfer for funds had only to be cheque despite being an on line book shop also

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Nanoo2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baggins Book Bazaar also viewed

 

Been to Baggins Book Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing