We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our complex of six holiday cottages are set in 20 acres of secluded Kent countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Our complex of six holiday cottages are set in 20 acres of secluded Kent countryside
Our heated indoor pool is shared between guests in our six cottages
Have fun in the games room
Mini gym
panoramic view
another nice view!
View from the cottages
Charming views across the fields
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rochester, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Reuben A
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Stable Cottages over Christmas and couldn't have been more pleased. From the box of chocolates and bottles of mulled wine that awaited us, to the welcome and helpfulness of the owners - nothing could have been better.
The cottage is well equipped and has amazing views across the water. The swimming pool and games room were a hit with everyone. There were bedrooms downstairs for the less able and en suite bedrooms upstairs. I think that all six of us agreed that it was the best place we'd stayed. All in all a really great Christmas retreat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Reviewed 12 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jess367
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed 28 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with our two year old and another couple. The accommodation was well equipped, clean and comfortable. The games room was fabulous, offering plenty to keep our toddler - and the men - entertained! Lots of outdoor toys too, such as slides, swings, etc. As our toddler was kept amused and happy, it meant we were too!
Lovely secluded location with views across the estuary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie A
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for families of all ages - comfortable and clean accommodation”
Reviewed 31 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
4
people found this review helpful

This was our second holiday at the Stables. Our first stay was last year in August 2011 when we stayed for 7 nights, we decided that wasn't long enough so this year we stayed 10 nights and still wanted to stay longer!

We stayed in a 4 bedroom cottage. There was 7 of us in total including 2 Pensioners (one of which was disabled) 3 kids (ages 6, 4 and 1) and a Mammy and a Daddy!

The cottage was very clean on arrival and had all the essentials needed for a comfortable stay. The kitchen is well equiped with plenty of plates, dishes and cutlery. It had all the gadgets too, coffee maker, toaster, microwave etc.

There was plenty of room downstairs for my disabled Dad to move around and the bathroom on the ground floor (along with 2 bedrooms) was ideal for him to use. Upstairs has a further 2 bedrooms both having ensuite shower rooms. The showers are amazing!!!

The bedlinen and towels are provided - all of which are spotlessly clean. And additional towels to use for the pool are also provided which was ideal.

There are 2 four bedroomed cottages (we stayed in both now) which share a utility room housing a washing machine, tumble drier, iron and ironing board. We found this great with having 3 kids to keep clean and tidy.

There was plenty to keep the kids occupied, a games room with table tennis, a pool table (but you have to pay 50p per game), table football (50p) and loads of board games and younger childrens toys. Outside they have a couple of slides, a little tikes playhouse, play cars that the kids can ride, a basket ball set - only downside to that play area is that its all on stones - which is fine for older ones but not my 1 year old who either wanted to eat the stones or kept falling on them. But the swings and football goal were a great hit with the kids. The cottages are within private gated grounds which makes it very secure and meant the kids could play out safely. There's also plenty of grassy area to play in as well.

The pool was ideal in the heat wave that we had and there's a gym room attached with weights, a treadmill and rowing machine.

The location is ideal for us as we have family near by, but it's pretty central for everything really. We had days out driving to Legoland, Chessington, Hever Castle, Brighton, Canterbury, Wembley Stadium and Leeds castle. We also managed to get the train from Strood into London and that only took just over an hour. There's so much to do in Kent and The Stables is pretty central for it all,

The owners are very friendly and can't do enough to help. Our toaster didn't work when we arrived and when I told them they replaced it immediately. I also know that the oven in the cottage next door stopped working and they got a new one in the same day, so any maintenance issues are dealt with really quick.

I can't recommend this place enough, we love it so much we booked up for next year on our way home. It's well worth our 7 hour drive from Sunderland!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort and cleanliness of accomodation and facilities
Liked least: going home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cynthiao2
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Surroundings”
Reviewed 14 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We were attending a wedding at Cooling Castle Barns and needed accommodation for 2 nights. Stable cottages was exactly what we needed as there were 8 of us plus an infant. The cottages are located down a private road, somewhat bumpy but the setting is amazing.
The property was everything we needed, very comfortable and the view at the front of the property of the thames estuary is stunning. The swimming pool, steam room and games room were an added bonus as the weather was not very good.
In my opinion the cottage would benefit from a dishwasher, and maybe a shower downstairs as we had elderly and infirm family with us who couldn't get into the bath, or go upstairs to shower. But overall the property is excellent and I would have no hesitation on booking again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting
Liked least: Bumpy road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2012
we apologise for the holes in the road, this was due to the huge amount of rain we have had this year. The road was repaired on Sunday and I hope if you return you will not see it in that sorry state again!
The bathrooms do have showers over the baths but unfortunately there is not the room for a seperate shower. We do however have two walk in showers in the pool room (which is very warm) that many of our less abled visitors have used.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing