We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
18
1
0
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
1
0
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at anchor Lodge couldn't of been made to feel more welcome in they're lovely home immaculately clean and a fabulous cooked breakfast over looking the beautiful garden came away with good memories of our weekend and felt like we'd made two very good friends with Barb and jeff would definitely stay again and would totally recommend to friends and family Mr and Mrs powell

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a family run business with a true personal touch. In the hosts Jeff and Barb you could not wish for anyone to be more welcoming or helpful. They welcome you into their home and make the stay extremely comfortable. Anchor Lodge only has 2 letting rooms, both of which are fitted out to a very high standard, with everything that you need from the basics of tea and coffee, with fresh milk, through to ipod docking station. The whole property is maintained to a very high standard and affords views across the channel from their beautiful dining room at breakfast - breakfast that you can tailor upon request from the full English to smoked salmon, very yummy. They truly deserve the many awards they have received and the constant praise from guests

Room Tip: Choose either room, they are both excellent
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

As a young couple looking for a short relaxing break in Broadstairs, we couldn't have found a better place. Barbs and Jeff looked after us in a personal and professional manner making us feel comfortable and informed. 10 out of 10! Great breakfasts!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our initial welcome to Anchor Lodge was as warm as we had been led to expect from others’ reviews.

However, this did not last as we were subjected to a condescending attitude towards young people on the part of our host which, in the end, outweighed the positive things about our experience. While the room and the breakfast service were good, we were made to feel like an unwelcome aside to someone’s home life, rather than customers paying for a service. Though we made every attempt to be polite and courteous whilst essentially sharing a living space with the owners, we were spoken down to in a highly patronising way which ruined what could have been a very pleasant experience. We felt as though as young adults our host was not interested in relating to us while an air of immediate congeniality was proffered to a fellow guest of more advanced years. As a result we would certainly not recommend Anchor Lodge, particularly warning younger couples to look elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MB1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We recently stayed at Anchor Lodge as a family foursome. The two bedrooms were spotlessly clean and furnished to a high standard. One room is slightly smaller that the other but both extremely comfortable. Breakfast was served in the guest lounge with views over a delightful garden and, in the distance, the sea. The full English is highly recommended, well cooked with fresh ingredients. Other options, including fresh fish, were available if ordered the day before.
The lounge was available for guests to use as required which was a bonus.
We found Barbara and Geoff excellent hosts, always available with information and to have a chat. They are both very proud of their house and garden with good reason.
A ten minute walk will get guests to the cliff-top path and another ten/fifteen into the Broadstairs seaside front.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Broadstairs and would recommend Anchor Lodge.
Anne, Mick, Mike and Liz
Cannot understand the comments of Nedytan, I think too much NUTella may have been the problem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredtortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews