We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange time warp chippy”
Review of The Trawlerman

The Trawlerman
Ranked #4 of 63 Restaurants in Hornsea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Opening Hours Mon To Thursday 11.30 Till 2pm & 4.30 Till 7.30 Friday & Saturday 11.30 Till 2 & 4.30 Till 8pm Sunday 12 Till 2.30 & 4.30 Till 7pm
Restaurant details
Description: Opening Hours Mon To Thursday 11.30 Till 2pm & 4.30 Till 7.30 Friday & Saturday 11.30 Till 2 & 4.30 Till 8pm Sunday 12 Till 2.30 & 4.30 Till 7pm
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

You have to like the colour orange first.theres a lot of it here.70's style formica table with 2+2 seating.you order at the counter and is brought to your table on crockery .i say that as ive been in sit down chippys that serve up on disposable plates.mushy peas served in a tea cup.novel idea.fish nice if slightly greasy but prices here not as steep as harpers although i think i would pay the extra in harpers nxt time.strange big pram with baby doll in toilet ! How weird is that ? Surprised they havent had it nicked by someone from rotherham or doncaster wallpaper a bit dated i recall.staff nice and friendly.id go there on my own again but id take er indoors up the road.having said that.the trawlerman would fit in with some middlerank whitby chippys

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank barratt425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Me, my husband and our 9 month old daughter decided to have our good Friday lunch here and we were not disappointed.

Location - The restaurant itself is in a lovely little spot, with parking facilities at the rear which comes in exceptionally handy as parking in Hornsea can be tricky but thanks to The Trawlerman this is no longer an issue.

Venue - We absolutely loved the modern yet quirkiness of the restaurant, the images from over the years displayed on the walls are absolutely beautiful, a warm and welcoming atmosphere when you arrive gives that personnel touch which I feel is lost in most establishments nowadays.
The staff were not only welcoming to us but to our baby who was cooed over and provided with a lovely and 'Clean' highchair, nothing worse as a mummy than been provided with a dirty high chair......so thank you The Trawlerman for thinking of the little people too. The booths are spacious, comfortable and most of all once again very clean.

Food - Well were do I start, the fish is cooked to perfection golden crispy batter and soft fluffy flakey fish inside, the chips and flavourful and are obviously made from top produce.

We both had haddock and chips, I had mushy peas, my husband had gravy and both once again were delicious.

The sides came in vintage tea cups which I feel was a lovely touch, went very well with the decor.

Additional condiments were provide free of charge at the table which makes a nice change to having to pay for a teeny sachet of ketchup.

To sum up, first class food, service & atmosphere, would recommend to anyone.

Give 'The Trawlerman' a go ! You will NOT be disappointed.

3 very happy customers will be returning soon ! Keep up the good work :-)

Mrs Denny & Family
X

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Mrs_S_Denny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Went to the museum nearby and wanted a decent lunch . Had to be fish and chips ..spotted this place . Inside is very nice comfy .friendly staff. Decent prices .all fresh cooked to order . It was the best fish I've had and lovely batter certainly one to try if you fancy fish and chips .great menu too :) . Customer toilet but no baby change for info.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank vwnutant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

On the recommendation of our daughter, called for lunch during visit to the East Yorkshire coast on a cold and wet day. Very good welcome, excellent service and beautiful, freshly cooked fish and chips, curry sauce and a hot cup of tea.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jonathanoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Popped here over the weekend. Fish was beautiful:-) not very often we have chippy but this was worth the travel from Hull. Very welcoming staff too!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Trawlerman also viewed

Withernwick, Hornsea
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Great Hatfield, Hornsea
 
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Trawlerman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing