We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing venue - the perfect weekend.”
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870 12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
124 reviews
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Longest sofa in the Peak District - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Delightful dining room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to a catered meal - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Self cater or choose from experienced caterers - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to an  afternoon tea party - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Ensuite elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
It's Portland House 1870 O'Clock!
Walk into Matlock Bath -the Little Switzerland of England- goto 5* Portland House 1870
Hang around at Go Ape - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Step into the 1940's at Crich - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Perfect for parties of family and friends from 1 to 100 years young - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Celebrate together - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Don't hang around - book now - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Why not book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 124 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise W
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing venue - the perfect weekend.”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We'd read reviews of the venue beforehand, but the place was even better than we'd expected. We were a large group, ranging from 8 months to 83 years - so to cater for all ages was tough! The layout of the house was perfect - every room is equally lovely so no one felt like they'd drawn the short straw. The bar was the icing on the cake...and turned out to be the place people spent most of their time, even the oldies! The kitchen was incredibly well designed and stocked - perfect for catering for the whole group. And everyone loved the sound system.

All in all, a perfect venue - and on the doorstep of some incredible scenery. Would recommend it to anyone and everyone!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bar!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnyxLondo...
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Big family reunion in the perfect house”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We brought together 24 family members from around the UK and abroad for an amazing Easter weekend reunion. Ages from 13 to 89. 12 beautiful bedrooms ... most on-suite. Well equipped kitchen and utility room, dining room with 2 tables for 12, lounge and separate bar room with bar billiards. Beautiful restored home within an easy walk to Matlock Bath shops and country walks.

Be careful to allow time to drive into Matlock/Matlock Bath as the traffic was terrible coming in Good Friday midday. Fine driving out though. Lots to do in the area and Juliet gave us masses of information on everything possible beforehand so we could plan our visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful large property that was homely as well
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalielb...
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Venue for Hen Weekend”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I booked Portland House for my sisters hen weekend in March 2016. With 21 hens to accomodate I had to find somehwere that would suit the mixture of ages in the group - Portland House did just that!
Great sized bedrooms, the majority were ensuite which limited the number of guests waiting to use the shower. The living room, dining room and bar area were spot on and worked perfectly for the weekend.
The kitchen was fully equiped and catered for our every need.
What can I say an absolute gem of house and everyone had a wonderful weekend.
Thank you Portland House x x

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliviarm9...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay for my sisters 30th”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We had a great stay at Portland house, Juliet was really helpful with everything! We stayed for 2 nights with 24 women and every single person had an amazing weekend. We hired the bar tender for cocktail making which id highly recommend and was good fun! Would definitely recommend for a weekend with friends or family. Be aware two rooms do not have an ensuite, but this really doesn't cause any problems due to the amazing bathroom on the second floor!!! Thanks for everything Juliet, it was one to remember!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful house to celebrate with friends and family!”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We celebrated my husbands 50th Birthday at Portland House. From our first enquiry to our departure, Juliet and Martin were wonderful. The house accommodated us very well. A group of people ranging in age from 5-55!! The decor, furnishings etc are such high quality. All fixtures and fittings are of the highest order. I would highly recommend for a similar celebration.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very high spec fixtures, fittings and furnishings. Lots of space for all.
Liked least: some seating (bar stools?) in the kitchen.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing