We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly located home from home with stunning...”
Penthouse apartment in Victorian residence
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penthouse apartment in Victorian residence
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Penthouse apartment in Victorian residence
Stunning views from apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

danseali
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfectly located home from home with stunning views!”
Reviewed 30 September 2020 for a stay in September 2020

Firstly, I'll preface this by saying we visited during Covid-19. Everything was spotlessly clean, there was hand gel available at the door and items such as TV remotes etc had been sanitised and bagged so we knew they were ok to touch. This was very reassuring and helped us to relax straight away.

Our hosts, Richard and Cathy were super accommodating and made sure that even though we arrived quite late at night, we were greeted and welcomed. But then, as oft excellent hosts do, they left us to just relax and enjoy ourselves- which was perfect!

The flat itself is incredibly spacious! Much more so than the pictures on here make it look. And that's before you even mention the views, which from the bedroom are particularly stunning!

The amenities within the flat are excellent- great sized kitchen with a small fridge(with freezer compartment) oven, microwave and toaster. The bathroom is lovely and with a great shower. Lounge and Bedroom are both very spacious and comfy, just mind your head in the corners!

Location wise, the property (as is made explicitly clear when booking) is up a very steep hill, and I would recommend taking the smallest car you have available in regards to the parking, which is on a very steep incline. The flat itself is up a series of steps, but these are well lit with sturdy handrails.

The property is a stone's throw from the Heights of Abraham attraction (literally, you can see the cable cars from the house- not to mention the house from the cable cars) and you are not more than a 20-minute drive from Bakewell or an hour from Castleton.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and only wish we'd had more time off. Can't recommend more highly!

Date of stay: September 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirst1790
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing all round”
Reviewed 9 February 2020 for a stay in October 2019

We stayed at Danbury lodge back in october 2018 with our 3 children. Richard and his wife had not long taken over and were amazing hosts. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
Amazing property with stunning views and that amazing home from home feel. We would definitely recommend to anybody looking to stay in Matlock bath.

Perfect all round.

Date of stay: October 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMoll...
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome and a lovely apartment.”
Reviewed 29 September 2019 for a stay in September 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of three stayed for two nights in this really lovely property. The owners were very welcoming and happy to give recommendations for places to visit and eat. The location is not for the faint hearted - the roads are steep and narrow - but it was well worth it for the stunning views!
There was plenty of room and everything we needed for a girls weekend away. Both Matlock Bath and Matlock are lovely little places to visit.

Date of stay: September 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shezzab33...
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2019 for a stay in September 2019

Danbury Lodge is in a central location and has some lovely views. It is spacious and clean with good facilities such as free internet access and a well equipped kitchen. The hosts were also very welcoming and helpful.

Date of stay: September 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.