We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hotel & Leisure Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Certificate of Excellence
Clonmel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Have been to the Park Hotel, Dungarvan, a few times lately, for Bar Food, and I must say it has been Excellent. They do a particular chicken dish in the bar and the sauce is something to die for. Great service, and the fact that it is always busy speaks for itself.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesHClonmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imelda_Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager at Park Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear JamesHClonmel,
Thank you very much for your comments in relation to our Bar Food, which we appreciate very much you taking the time to document. I'm sure you are referring to the Supreme of Chicken Hibernian which is a very popular dish and the Chef's own recipe.
Our Bar Food is served until 9.30 everynight and offers guests a wide range of freshly prepared locally sourced meat and fish dishes, combined with some more exotic and european dishes.
All dietary requirements are catered for and children are most welcome.
Thanking you, Imelda Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    217
    99
    43
    24
See reviews for
256
170
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just back from a two night stay in the Park Hotel, Dungarvan. There was a group of five adults and three children. The Park Hotel is a perfect hotel to cater for all age groups. The hotel has a nice big foyer area where one can lounge about and watch people coming and going about their business. Staff in all areas of the hotel including the bar, restaurant, leisure centre were fantastic and were so helpful in every way. The staff in the bar were very kind and helpful to the children even when they were busy. We ate in the bar one night and the food was very good. The second night ate in the restaurant and again a very pleasant evening. there was entertainment in the restaurant which was very entertaining. The only crib I may have was that my husband and I had continental breakfast in the mornings and the selection was only ok. The bedrooms were very comfortable and it is worth noting that the hotel also has holiday homes which can cater for families if one doesn't want the hassle of bring children to restaurants for their meals. The leisure centre is a little dated but fine and again the staff were very friendly Overall the hotel has a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere and it is good to go to a hotel that isn't too clinical and has a bit of life about it.

Dungarvan itself is a fine spot and I would definitely like to return there. Because we were only there for two nights we didn't get to see a lot. The town is a nice town to stroll around. There is a playground nearly and a cinema very near the hotel. There is a nice beach within four miles of the hotel. Hopefully we will get back again some time to view the surrounding area.

Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mon1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imelda_Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager at Park Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Mon1973,
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel which we are delighted to acknowledge. We are very proud of our package: we have long been associated with being the hotel that caters for all age groups; yet we host a large number of conferences, weddings and we are a very family oriented hotel during the Summer as well.
The Foyer is indeed very spacious, warm, welcoming, and exudes a cosy atmosphere and relaxed ambience. Our staff are fully trained, experienced and professional in all aspects of their tasks. Our Self Catering Holiday homes also present the discerning guest with yet more options in accomodation. These fully furnished 4* houses are elegant and ideal for the family holiday. The Leisure Centre which is attached to the hotel is an optional extra for all ages: whether it be the tired business client, the family in search of an all-inclusive holiday or the Over 50's who want a quiet relaxing holiday; this fully fitted Leisure Complex will appeal to your senses. The Park Hotel, Leisure Centre & Self Catering Holiday Homes is the complete cocktail for your 'getaway' experience.
Thanking you again for your kind words, they were very much appreciated,
Imelda Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights and had a great time. The front desk staff couldn't be more helpful. Bar and restaurant staff really make you feel welcome . For kids, great kids club, near 2 playgrounds and the hotel pool is fab. Near dungarvan town and on main link to cork or waterford .

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AoifeDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imelda_Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager at Park Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear AoifeDub,
Thank you very much for your thorough review of our hotel. We believe that our primary asset is our location; on the N25, walking distance of Dungarvan Town Centre, Shopping Centre, Cinema, 2 Playgrounds, 5 minutes drive from 3 Golf Courses, a beautiful Beach, the wonderful Copper Coast, and close proximity to Ardmore, Lismore, Mount Melleray, Cliff and Mountain walks and a host of other social and cultural pursuits. The Hotel is set on 5 acres of beautifully lanscaped gardens, has free parking, WiFi throughout, a Leisure Centre with 20 metre swimming pool, and a specially designed Kids Club.
Our Reception area is wide, open, warm and welcoming while our Bar and Restaurant Menus are available all day.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sunny South East,
Thanking you again for posting this review, it was very much appreciated,
Imelda Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

The staff were so friendly and helpful. The Park Hotel is an excellent base and a real gem. The owner is always on hand with friendly help and advice. There are Colligan woods, helichrysum head, dungarvan bay, clones and Mahon falls within easy reac.add to thar Mount melleray and lismore and you see how much there is to do and see. Dungarvan has some great restaurants as well. The food in the hotel is good and the leisure centre is also of good quality.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imelda_Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager at Park Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Eileen G,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our Hotel, the staff, the location, the wonderful countryside, the food and the Leisue Centre. Our location makes the hotel a wonderful base for touring Waterford, with great accessibility; located on the N25, with parking for 300 cars and overlooking the Colligan Estuary and adjacent to the scenic west waterford.
Thanking you again, Imelda Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager, The Park Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
273 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We had a lovely time at the Park. The staff are friendly and helpful. We had a lovely greeting from a lady who was on each of the days Friday, Saturday and Sunday but didn't get her name. The food we ate in the bar was lovely. The breakfasts in the restaurant were beautiful and freshly cooked to order each morning. Mary served us there both days and she was great. As my husband said when we first met her, 'you just know she's competent and knows her job'. The rooms (258 & 252) were lovely - tall ceilings, comfortable bed, good furnishings. They looked recently decorated We had asked for quiet and so were at the back of the hotel but we didn't mind. Each of those rooms had a little balcony off them.The hotel had a lot of activity with parties and such, even though it was only the first weekend in February. You can walk in to the town in minutes and Dungarvan has some great shops and restaurants. Try Shaws department store, James Mens Shop. Merrys Gastro Pub is worth a visit and has locally brewed ales on tap, along with good food and great customer service. They also have music at night. Although we only live an hour and a half away, we will definitely be back at the Park. We already plan to go with friends in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask that you're not next door to families with small children. This is advertised as a family fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imelda_Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager at Park Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear MaryCork,
The Management and Staff of The Park Hotel were all give a really good boost this past week on reading your excellent review of our Hotel. Your comments in relation to the staff, bar food, breakfasts, rooms, location, atmosphere, and entertainment at night were very much appreciated and we are very grateful that you took the time to write such a lengthy and thorough review. Quality in food and service have always been a priority to us and I publicily acknowledge your recognition thereof. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel with your family and friends. Thanking you again for your wonderful compliments, Yours Sincerely, Imelda Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager, The Park Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
0.5 km away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.3 km away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
17.4 km away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
39.6 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
23.5 km away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel & Leisure Centre

Property: Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Address: Shandon, Dungarvan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Price range (per night): $123 - $178
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel, Leisure Centre & Self Catering Holiday Homes is the perfect venue for a relaxing getaway break on the beautiful Waterford coastline. Situated in idyllic surroundings; The Park Hotel is located on the N25 (main road from Rosslare) (just 15 minutes from the M9, and 30 minutes from the M8 – on the outskirts of the vibrant Dungarvan town on the main Cork – Waterford Roadway. The hotel is situated on it’s own 5 acres of landscaped gardens overlooking the Colligan Estuary; and adjacent to Dungarvan Bay, and Dungarvan Town Centre. Dungarvan is a lively town with a list of award winning restaurants, Bars, and with only a 5 minute drive to 3 Golf Courses and the beautiful Clonea Beach – this is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or stuck in traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Park Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel And Leisure Centre
Park Hotel Dungarvan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing