We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic setting. Excellent tasty and decorative food coupled with great service.”
Review of Il Colombaio - CLOSED

Il Colombaio
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Il Colombaio is part of a renovated farm complex located just below the hill town of Casole D'Elsa. The complex includes rooms/apartments for rent and another, less formal restaurant, La Sosta.

On the day we dined here for lunch the temperature was in the mid 30's so we decided to eat inside rather than on the terrace. There were 2 large dining areas inside, both furnished exceptionally well.

There were 2 degustation menus but we chose from the a la carte menu.

There was a pre-amuse bouche of 6 different little bread dishes, including a little pizza and bread sticks. The amuse bouche consisted of 3 different little dishes including a fake tomato (filled with cod fish) and a fake cherry (filled with pate). We both had the crispy skin chicken with porcini mushrooms for an entree - delicious (Euro 20 each). Our mains were pork with blackberry (Euro26) and a risotto with fig and ginger (Euro22). Both dishes were very tasty. We did not have dessert as we were too full.

Coffee came with a dish of 4 different petit fours.

The restaurant's own bread selection (made with 71 year old yeast) was very good and there was a gluten free bread option.

Service was excellent and the chef came out to greet us at the end of the meal which was a nice touch as was the greeting we received in the car park upon our arrival.

Wine list was extensive and we had a very good bottle of Chianti Classico for Euro23.

Recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariva B, chef at Il Colombaio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thanks a lot for your fantastic review....for us is very important make customers happy because we are all young guys.

Thank you very much

Best regards

Bardotti Maurizio chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2016

This restaurant is located just outside Casole d’Elsa. The food was just terrific. From the first bite of the amuse bouche we knew it was going to be outstanding. The amuse bouche had 3 items: one was a small pasta bird’s nest with a quail egg set on top of the most delicious vegetable soup. There was fois gras wrapped in a fruit skin that looked like a cherry (outstanding) and a fake cherry tomato stuffed with fish. Every bite was delicious, and the wine pairings really set off the food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Happy_midwesterners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariva B, chef at Il Colombaio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

We thank you very much for your fantastic words.

WE hare so happy when we read these reviews....beacuse we are all young guys...

See you soon ...

Bardotti Maurizio chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Beautifully located in an enchanting Tuscan landscape this is a really great place to taste Tuscan specialties the gourmet style. The menu Colombaio offers unbeatable value for money, starting with a delicious "Uovo del Casentino, tartufo, asparagi, Parmigiana" that we still remember weeks later,

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LesSchtroumpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariva B, chef at Il Colombaio, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2016

Hi dear guest, i thank you very much for your beautiful words.
We are so lucky work here in this amazing place , at the same time we are so happy to see our guest so happy like you.
I thank you for everything and I hope see you again.

Maurizio Bardotti chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

My husband and I ate here one evening mid-week and were so impressed with the chef's willingness to adapt his tasting menu to my many annoying dietary requirements and too, the level of attention to detail, cuisine and warmth of the staff. The chef brought us truffles and spoke with great passion about his masterpiece menu which added the exceptional experience. We've had Michelin-starred meals in London & Nice and this by far beat them both!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariva B, chef at Il Colombaio, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2016

Hi dear guest, i remember very well your dinner. For us is a pleasure serve our guest in the best way possible, We seek the happiness of our customers and when we find it we are happy too.
Thanks a lot for everything.

Maurizio Bardotti chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

This is the finest restaurant I have ever had the pleasure to totally enjoy. Every detail was covered even to a low footstool to hold my purse. Several delectable complementary savory extras were added to our meal. Chef Maurizio came out of the kitchen to our appreciative applause at the end of the meal to answer any ingredient and prep questions that we had. All the ingredients are either on sight or taken from local farmers and businesses. The house Classico Chianti was a perfect compliment to our meal. We ate each dish from starters to our final desserts slowly so we could savor every morsel. To add to the perfection of the evening, the China, place settings and total presentation for each dish was beautiful. If you are in Tuscany this is a must experience.

1  Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariva B, chef at Il Colombaio, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2016

Thank you very much, really really, we are happy for your appreciation, that's our goal....
I hope to see you again and again thanks a lot....

Maurizio Bardotti chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Colombaio also viewed

Casole d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Casole d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 
Casole d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Casole d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 
Casole d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Casole d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing