We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely charming Italian farmhouse vineyard resort ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Sodole Country Resort & Golf
Ranked #1 of 12 Pontedera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Le Sodole is situated off the main highway, conveniently located but totally isolated from the traffic. Peaceful atmosphere with practice range for golf and a swimming pool to cool off. The food at the restaurant is really fantastic however the manager isn't exactly courteous---typical Tuscan sarcasm---that can turn some people off. Hope they do something about it so all the effort that the staff put into doesn't go wasted.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 365Rainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Le Sodole Country Resort & Golf
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for the last day of our holiday as we were flying out of nearby Pisa, the stay was excellent, accommodation was of a very high standard, we ate out so I cannot comment on the restaurant but it seemed very busy.

Breakfast was fresh and very tasty.

Staff were excellent

The hotel is in a quite and beautiful area, a real gem of a find.

Next time we will stay longer.

Thank you Massimo and staff.

PS, the wine that they produce in their vineyard is one of the best and I have been coming to Italy for 10 years.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank wynnejp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We booked the chianti apartment inside this resort and it was a good choice - which is highly recommended and it can even sleep 4 adults comfortably with 2 - 4 children (we were only 2 + 2). The owner of the resort Mr Brando is an extremely friendly person. He has a large vineyard with kilometres of grapes for chianti and pinot grigio and he also offers a free tour of his winery and also free wine tasting. His passion for wine is very clear and he spends lot of his personal time explaining the whole process and history - which is actually a great couple of hours spent touring his winery and tasting some great wines (5 of them actually).

The entire team of staff from front desk to the chef to the restaurant waitress and everyone we met - were very friendly with us and the children, so i would definitely go there again when I visit tuscany again.

The two issues i felt were that when we visited it was one of the hottest weeks and the aircon in the apartment was not as effective so it became muggy on some nights. the 2nd thing is that apartments are not serviced during your stay - i would have preferred towels to be changed at least once in 3 days. Although - in their defence, they make it very clear upfront, so there were no surprises.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sachin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed with my mom and a friend in Apartment Merlot at the end of June/beginning of July. The apartment was advertised as a two bedroom apartment, but they are not private bedrooms. The main bedroom is just off the large living/dining/kitchenette. The second bedroom is up a fun spiral staircase. When you reach the second level you are on another nice sized sitting area with a wardrobe and couch. This living area over looks the living area below. At the other end of the sitting area is a door that leads to the twin bedroom. The twin bedroom is also a loft that overlooks the main bedroom below. This allowed for no privacy, except in the bathroom. We were three ladies, so it wasn't a problem for us. But, if you are two couples it might pose a problem. There was a nice sized bathroom connected to the main bedroom downstairs. The shower was great because it was BIG! If you travel much in Europe, you may have experienced the small room/small shower. This place did not disappoint on size. Also the pillows and beds were comfortable, as was the sofa in both living areas.

We used this apartment as our base for visiting Florence, Pisa, and several Hill Towns. We had a car and there was ample parking. Getting to the different hill towns was sometimes just as enjoyable as visiting the town. The beauty of this area does not disappoint! If you don't like long drives (hour or more), then you might want to stay somewhere else. But if you are looking for a peaceful place with nice views, this place delivers. Even though we were there in summer, they were experiencing some cooler temps (more so than I've ever experienced in summer in Italy!) We tried the pool one night, but it was just too cold. Instead we enjoyed sitting by the pool relaxing and reading. The next night we were able to take a swim. The pool is very nice.

There are several things that need improvement though. There was an a/c in each room, but a couple of them didn't really work very well (the two upstairs). There was also free wifi, you have to get a different login/password for each device. Sometimes it was a bit dodgy, which was annoying. We had a hard time getting Skype to work, which caused us to have to spend money calling my father each night. The biggest problem we had, though, was the kitchen. We booked an apartment because we like to save money by doing some meals on our own. We did have dinner and breakfast each night, but there was much improvising. There was no toaster or oven. We fully understand no oven, but it would have been nice to have a toaster. There was also no skillet! We had stopped in Pisa for groceries before getting to the apartment and then didn't have anything to make our chicken and pork in! I ended up purchasing a griddle at the Coop. Luckily we were able to transport it home. The fridge was small, which we expected, but it was full of drinks/candy/wine that we could purchase. We removed it all and stored it in one of the cabinets so we could make room for our groceries. Adding just a few pieces to the kitchen would make all the difference. My mom was disappointed in the lack of an iron/ironing board. But again, we adapted.

Maybe it was because we were in a hurry to get our perishable groceries up when our room wasn't ready, I don't know, but we neglected to get directions for check out. By the time we remembered, it was late the night before and no one was available. We didn't pay the city tax (he also didn't collect the deposit) or the final cleaning fee. It wasn't until about 1 1/2 weeks (when back in the US) that I got an email requesting the fees be paid. In addition to not paying, we didn't know how to leave the apartment or where to leave the key. We left very early, before 6:00 a.m. because we were driving down to Sorrento. We ended up leaving the key in the door and taking the trash out to the only trash dumpster we could find. I finally got the additional fees paid after about 2 more weeks of back and forth getting all the information for wire transfers. And to be honest, I never did get the name of the bank. But luckily I was able to the bank name after googling the BIC number.

All in all, we did like the apartment, location, and grounds. And a plus was the beautiful vineyard and the sunflower fields at the bottom of the road. I would definitely consider Le Sodole again, but I would be more proactive in correcting the issues we did experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I found this resort last year on TA and was attracted by the vineyard, restaurant, golf and accommodation all on the same site. We usually stay in hotels, so an apartment was a bit of a change for us. The price was very favorable, and we were able to secure a 2 bed 2 bath apartment for 4 nights for the 4 of us.
We pondered whether to hire a car, but as we all enjoy wine, decided against it.
The resort is about a 20 minute drive from Pisa airport, and we arranged a transfer which cost 60 euros. The resort is quite close to the main road between Livorno and Florence, but we were not disturbed by traffic noise at all. You can hardly hear it.
Upon arrival we were greeted efficiently by Massiomo and shown our apartment. The apartment is quite new, and was very clean and functional. We had everything we needed. Rustic and Italian more than luxurious, but very fair for the price we paid. We had a wonderful view out over the grounds from our bedroom.
We had made no lunch arrangements, as I assumed we would be able to utilise the resort restaurant. However, the restaurant apparently does not usually open at lunchtime.
Massimo kindly arranged for a meat, cheese and bread lunch to be prepared immediately. Gratefully received with numerous bottles of wine.
That evening we had booked to eat at a nearby restaurant, which was a little too far to walk. Massimo kindly arranged for Paulo to drive us there and collect us in the bosses car !
On Friday evening, the vineyard owner Brando, kindly provided us with a wine tasting, which was interesting and informative. They try very hard to only use local produce in their restaurant. The wine is not high end, but reasonably priced and enjoyable. The weather was wonderful, and we were able to sit out and enjoy the grounds and tranquility. There were other people staying, but there is so much space that you hardly notice.
Brando told us that there was a cellar tasting on the Sunday that we ought to try. Our men went along on Sunday, and we were left to enjoy the sun by the pool. It turned out to be some sort of annual gala of local produce, and the men had a great time. They returned bearing all sorts of interesting cheese, ham and wine, that we enjoyed for lunch. Apparently this is always held on the last Sunday of May. The bread knife in the kitchen is not sharp, so we had all sorts of strange shaped slices of bread :-)
During our stay we went to Florence by train, which was no problem at all. Just took a taxi to the local station.
We had a great weekend, and the one drawback for us was having to preempt meals. Breakfast was 8 euros, and you had to order it the day before. On Sunday we thought we might have wanted lunch, but there was already a reception booked in the restaurant. I can understand why this is required in an apartment complex, and everyone there moves at a different pace to what we're used to in London. We are organised - just not THAT organised.
No problem if you have your own vehicle of course.
Overall we had a fantastic time. I would recommend this accommodation providing you realise that it's not a hotel, and the price reflects the facilities you receive. We were lucky that the weather was so good, as the grounds are lovely and we literally had the pool to ourselves. Yes, it was a bit chilly !
One of the best activities we did during our holiday, was cycle around the city walls at Lucca, so make sure that's on your itinerary !

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontedera
6.9 km away
Calamidoro Hotel
Calamidoro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Calcinaia
312 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Armonia
Hotel Armonia
#1 of 6 in Pontedera
175 reviews
3.8 km away
Albergo La Pace
Albergo La Pace
#4 of 6 in Pontedera
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Resort Casale Le Torri
Resort Casale Le Torri
#1 of 2 in Ponsacco
118 reviews
6.9 km away
Tower Inn Pisa Valdera
Tower Inn Pisa Valdera
#2 of 6 in Pontedera
77 reviews
7.2 km away
Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Pontedera

Been to Le Sodole Country Resort & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sodole Country Resort & Golf

Address: Via delle Sodole 1 | Le Sodole, 56025, Pontedera, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pontedera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pontedera
Price Range: $134 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Sodole Country Resort & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sodole, a friendly Country Resort, is in the heart of Tuscany, between Pisa and Florence, on gentle hills covered with vineyards. Its 12 spacious apartments, with kitchens and rustic but elegant furnishings, are a natural refuge for those who want to relax, while perhaps enjoying an excellent local Chianti alongside the pool - or for those who need to stay because of employment in our area, and prefer to stay in the country, sharing our love and respect for nature, perhaps permitting themselves a relaxing sauna or a purifying Turkish bath. In a fascinating vaulted-ceiling room Le Sodole Restaurant propose particular review traditional Tuscan dishes. We also offer to all our guests the possibility of trying out the game of golf on our practice course, with its driving range and 9-hole putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Le Sodole Country Resort & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing