We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Property!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We spent 2 weeks in Italy and our 4 nights at Banfi were definitely the highlight of our trip as we never wanted to leave. This is a fantastic property, with amazing, personalized service by all of the staff. The grounds are great and the views are awesome-from sunrise to sunset! we had a suite with a private coutyard, which was fantastic. The breakfast were the best we had in our 2 weeks. Eggs and omelettes were made to order- not the typical eggs in a chafing dish. We looked forward to our morning cappucino, which was hand decorated by Francesca, our fantastic waitress while we decided on our daily activities. The weather was fantastic and it was still warm enough to sit at the beautiful pool area. We had one meal in the Banfi restaurant which was quite good, with excellent Banfi wines, of course. We took the Banfi wine tour and really enjoyed this fantastic, and large, winery-and of course the tastings were terrific. The is definitely a first class destination and is worth treating yourself to if you are in the Montalcino area.

Rome was great and Venice was fun, but Banfi was the best part of the trip!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 226 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

We LOVED Castello Banfi. From the moment we arrived, we felt extremely welcomed. The room was very nice, comfortable and had a spectacular view overlooking a rose garden and the beautiful surrounding vineyards. The sparkling wine they stock the mini-bar with daily is a very nice touch. The 5-course wine pairing meal at the restaurant changes daily and is excellent from start to finish. The evening drinks at the Library are a nice touch as well. The staff is wonderful and very helpful and even helped us book a spa reservation. The breakfast is very nice as well except there were a lot of bees that pestered us each morning while dining outside. The wine tour and tasting was decent but there are definitley better ones throughout Montalcino. Overall we had a wonderful time at Castello Banfi and would definitely recommend it in the future.

Room Tip: Rose Room was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcbb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Go to Castello Banfi if you are looking for relaxation in a beautiful setting. The views of the surrounding vineyards olive groves and hills are stunning! The pool has an exquisite view and is a nice spot to pass the afternoon. There is a beautiful covered terrace surrounded by roses that is a nice spot to enjoy wine in the afternoon and watch the colors change in the landscape. Breakfast is served at an outside terrace although an inside space is also available if the weather dictates. The detail of having flowers drawn into the foam of my cappuccino might be considered a bit much but that’s why you are here. The staff is extremely helpful both with accommodation issues and local travel tours. Dinner at the onsite Taverna was wonderful. We did a tour of the winery which was fascinating and also enjoyed learning about the Salsa Estruca and seeing the glass museum.
A couple of notes: The area has been restored and the cobble pathways maybe a challenge for those with limited mobility. The staff has a golf cart to help with the transport of bags and people and this may be useful if you have trouble with uneven terrain. I had trouble with the WiFi signal from my particular room but no trouble if I was close to the office. The service at the Taverna allows you to savor the dining experience. If you are in a rush, you might find the service too slow. However, stick around and have the pine nut cake and if the staff would consider posting the recipe, I’d appreciate it.
Thank you!

Room Tip: No tips here. The windows are small to maintain the historic character. However, there are plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 278Alpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Fantastic view from a fantastic room. Best we have ever had un Italy.

Room Tip: We found the view from the second floor wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

What a terrific property right on the Banfi winery site. Terrific, helpful staff. Great morning breakfasts included. Treat yourself to a lunch or a dinner at their Taverna restaurant. The room was LARGE and fantastic. The staff knows how to treat guests and they are there when you need them and very professional. A perfect place for a romantic honeymoon or special celebration.

Room Tip: 14 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowFtLaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montalcino
11.2 km away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
694 reviews
11.7 km away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
34.8 km away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 17 in Montalcino
156 reviews
10.2 km away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
11.7 km away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Montalcino

Been to Castello Banfi - Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Address: Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range: $611 - $1,851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Banfi - Il Borgo 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Wine Resort in the famous Brunello di Montalcino Wine Region-Extraordinary Countryside Tuscan Experience-Nestled against a Medieval Castle located in the middle of a privately owned 7100 acres Nice&professional staff very knowledgeable of the best attractions of the area-Extremely large bedrooms and bathrooms, both with great views-Very Exclusive Property consisting of only 2 Deluxe Rooms and 12 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Castello Banfi - Il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo Hotel Montalcino
Castello Banfi Il Borgo Montalcino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing