We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was better in the past”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Il Poggione
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Very good location for quiet vacation, middle in the vineyards. During my walks through the vineyards with the dog I have met almost all people from the neigbourhood - they were probably affraid, that my small dog would reduce the population of wild hogs. I know good enough Italian to talk to people, but if you do not know Italian well and want to make walk through the vineyards, go better to Chianti area.
Welcome gift in the past were 2 bottles of wine, now only one - the cheapest rose wine.
After ordering the wine & Oil you have to pay in the office and pick up the stuff in the cellar - if you do not know Italian, you will be lost there

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geralt-von-Rivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agr_Il_Poggione, Direttore at Agriturismo Il Poggione, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Geralt-von-Rivia,
thanks for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the location, where one can find peace and relaxation.
We are sorry that the people you met in the village did not speak English, but our staff in the office speaks English and they could have helped you with your needs, including the purchase of the wine, with the discount that we offer to our customers.
Regarding the gift, you are correct, we used to leave two bottles of wines, but our customers love so much our olive oil, that we decided to leave not only one bottle of wine, but also one of Extra Virgin Olive Oil.
We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Montalcino.
Agriturismo Il Poggione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Agriturismo Il Poggione
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2016

Stayed 6 nights in the Pesco apartment and very much enjoyed 5 nights out of the 6. Unfortunately, the first night was rather terrible - we endured what sounded like a saloon above us from midnight to 3 am. There must have been a dozen drunken Italian men moving chairs, shouting obnoxiously, beating on tables... it sounded like a frat party. Of course it would have been nice to turn my noise maker on for our 18-month old, but the power went out all night, most likely due to them doing something stupid up there. The next morning there was no trace of them thankfully, but we encountered/endured a different noise coming from the next room over. Our neighbors were exceptionally friendly that morning, and we (very uncomfortably) heard every detail of their entire session. We decided to give it one more day, and were glad we did, no more frat parties, or x rated audio the rest of our stay.

Here are the pros and cons:

Cons:
The noise factor of the other rooms is a problem. Try to get a room secluded from the others, or be prepared to hear your neighbors.

Ants... lots of them. Not sure if it's just that time of year, but the ants were everywhere.

The road to get to the farmhouse is gravel, treacherously narrow in places, and definitely not for the faint of heart. You have to brave it each time you want to get out to explore Montalcino.

The shower leaks water all over the floor... no way around it. A little annoying, but a common problem in many Italian hotels.

No one came to tidy up the room for the entire 6-day stay, so I ended up having to wash our own towels, buy toilette paper and trash bags, take the trash out, etc. I get that this is not a full service hotel, but I expected a little more.

Pros:
The view is absolutely breathtaking!

The fully equipped kitchen (with the newly added espresso machine) is ultra convenient.

The self service laundry was also an indispensable amenity for us.

The complimentary Il Poggione Rose and olive oil was a nice touch.

Overall, I enjoyed our stay here, and would consider returning, but given the cons, I plan to explore other options in the area before doing so.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BrunelloFellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

If you want rural, scenic Tuscany this is the place -- the photos do not do it justice. Our two bedroom apartment had exposed beam ceilings, terra cotta floors, a serviceable kitchen and a fantastic view out over the valley. The wine produced by the Tenuta Il Poggione is super -- especially the Rosso di Montalcino Leopoldo Franceschi selection, which is served at Il Pozzo in Sant'Angelo in Colle. We will be back!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank Amp Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

Had a nice stay in these apartments. Large and comfortable. Just to be clear, this is not an "agriturismo" (i.e they have no food on offer, no breakfast either), it is an Airbnb style apartment rental that happens to be next to a vineyard.

Apartments are large and comfortable, good for a family or a group of friends

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank kangelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Nice & clean appartments with all necessarry equipment. Nice welcome gift with water & wine in the refridgirator.
Pool area with chairs & sunbeds fantastic view over the Tuscan landscape, amazing.
Can do your own barbercue in the evening.
Separate room for laundry available for all guests.

Outdoor area nice preserved and the sunset is just AMAZING.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HUABAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
6.4 km away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#9 of 17 in Montalcino
150 reviews
9.6 km away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
462 reviews
6.5 km away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 km away
La Locanda di Montisi
La Locanda di Montisi
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
173 reviews
4.7 km away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
426 reviews
7.8 km away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Montalcino

Been to Agriturismo Il Poggione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Poggione

Address: Via Soccorso Saloni, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Montalcino
Price Range: $135 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Val d'Orcia, a few kilometres from Montalcino, there are places where time seems to have stood still. There are small villages surrounded by medieval walls, hills cultivated with vineyards and olive groves, Romanesque churches with unique charm. It is right here, in Sant'Angelo in Colle, in the middle of a large Brunello di Montalcino winery, the Tenuta Il Poggione, where you can find the Agriturismo Il Poggione. Built from a completely restored estate farmhouse, the Agriturismo Il Poggione is made up of 7 independent flats with every comfort. Here you can appreciate the delights of the Montalcino countryside, walking through vineyards, tasting a glass of Brunello under the shade of an olive tree or relaxing in the swimming pool while admiring one among the most beautiful views of the Tuscan countryside. Upon request, and subject to availability, it is possible to organize numerous activities like, for example, a tour of Tenuta Il Poggione and tasting of its wines, advice on walks in the countryside, tours and guided visits to Montalcino, Siena, etc. The Agriturismo Il Poggione offers this and more; it is a magical place surrounded by vineyards, where you can forget the stress of everyday life and enjoy the peace of the Tuscan countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Il Poggione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing