We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,215)
Filter reviews
1,215 results
Traveller rating
328
482
250
100
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
482
250
100
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa carlotta travel department riviera travel lake view antipasti fifth floor soup or pasta floor restaurant swimming pool anti pasti busy road grand staircase each evening large hotel reception area dining room is breakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,215 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2018

My wife and I have recently stayed at this hotel for 7 nights as part of a holiday tour. We found the hotel to be excellent. The hotel is very grand and furnished to a high standard. The staff work very hard and are a credit to the hotel management. On the Saturday night of our stay there was a large wedding, but the staff, including the kitchen staff, coped extremely well and we only experienced a slight inconvenience having to dine at a set time but were treated to free wine! Our room was at the side of the hotel overlooking the garden and pool and was nice and quiet on the second floor close to the lift. The dining room on the 5th floor with large windows was lovely especially in the morning when you could look out at the lake. We also liked the outside terrace which we dined on a couple of times at night thanks to patio heaters.

Room tip: Be aware when booking a room at the front of the hotel as there is a busy road. We did hear someone say that the traffic started about 4am!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Dera John,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to learn that your stay was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.
It gives me great pleasure to read your kind words on our friendly and attentive staff as well as excellent service. We strive to deliver perfection to each and every guest and it is a pleasure to hear that our efforts have not gone unnoticed.

It was wonderful to read your comments and rest assured that I will share your feedback with the team who take great pride in ensuring each guest has a memorable stay.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia in the future.

Best regards,

Dan reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Our lasting memory of this hotel is of the hard working and cheerful staff in the Dining Room. Always polite, they work their socks off to provide an efficient service.Thank you to Nicoletta, Paulo and especially young Luca who whizzed about doing the work of three people. Regarding the food...breakfast choice was vast and the scrambled egg delicious...huge selection of starters and sweets at dinner often meant we skipped the pasta and main courses which were a bit hit and miss. Wine was 22-25 euros and water 4 euros.
We paid extra for a Lake view room with a tiny balcony. If you leave the door open beware of hornet-like insects !
Other impressions...we enjoyed visits to Como, Lenno's Tuesday market, and Lugano. Avoid Bellagio on a Sunday unless you love crowds and St Moritz by bus is a very long day.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank WinstonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Dear WinstonGlasgow,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience, it is always a great pleasure to read feedback such as yours and I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

I am excited to mention your glowing comment with the entire team. We very much look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Dan reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed here recently as part of a package. This is a grand hotel of the old type with huge, impressive public rooms. We upgraded our room before we went to one with lake view and balcony and certainly worth it. Room size was not huge but fine. Only fault was that there were very few surfaces on which to lay things. Dining room was huge and quite daunting entering for first meal with no idea where to go. Waiter service for 2nd and 3rd dinner courses, buffet for rest and for breakfast. Loads and loads of choice. 3rd dinner course maybe not top notch but adequate. Dining room staff brilliant and bedroom spotlessly clean with bed linen changed a couple of times during week's stay. Hotel well positioned for bus stops abd ferry landing stages. Did not regret hotel choice.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ScotlandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear ScotlandCaroline,
Thanks for sharing your review with tripadvisor community.. I'm delighted to read you enjoyed our wonderful location on the center of lake Como and the team was good too care of you.
It was our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With best regards
Dan reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

We travelled with Travel Department, the hotel is everything we hoped for. Our room was a large double with queen size bed, views over the Lake on the fourth floor. Food was good but as others have stated being charged 4 euros for the water we thought was excessive, being near to the mountains we thought you should be able to get fresh spring mountain water.
The hotel is conveniently place to catch local buses, water taxis and the car ferry.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cyclebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

I was thrilled to read your review of your recent stay with us and I am always pleased to hear such positive feedback .

Our aim, always, is to provide our guests with an experience to remember and to know we have achieved this fills me with great pride and joy. I will certainly make sure to pass your kind words on to our teams.

Thank you once again for sharing your glowing feedback with us and I hope to welcome you back to Lake Como in the not-too-distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Dan reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

High ornamented ceilings to die for and an amazing view of the lake! The stay was like not inky traveling to Italy but also a century back in time yet with good WiFi, pool and parking! Personnel were very friendly and The price is very fair for the atmosphere you get!!! We also liked the location offering various cultural activities as well as swimming and hiking.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank joannanorstroem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Joannanorstroem,
Many thanks for posting your review, happy to hear that overall you had a good stay.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards.
Dan reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews