We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,208)
Filter reviews
1,208 results
Traveller rating
325
480
248
100
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
480
248
100
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa carlotta travel department lake view riviera travel antipasti fifth floor soup or pasta floor restaurant swimming pool busy road grand staircase anti pasti reception area large hotel dining room is stayed here for a week breakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,208 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Great view terrible room. There is an automatic expectation of grandness in hotels overlooking the lake. Imposing even. We were given a cramped room and then moved to another with n space. Blank walls. Felt like being in hospital ! Ok the balcony overlooking the lake was splendid but not to have a picture or painting up. Faded glory.

Room Tip: A view needed
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Nigel,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are disappointed to hear that you did not have the experience you were hoping for at The Grand hotel Cadenabbia, and the specific concerns have been raised with the appropriate departments.
In the future, our reception staff would be delighted to personally assist you with finding the most appropriate guestroom to best meet your needs.
We do hope that we have the opportunity to serve you and to provide you with the 5 / 5 stay that you deserved and expected.
Kind regards
Daniele reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We had a very nice stay here in May. The rooms were comfortable and the view from the balcony was amazing. Very good breakfast with a view in the morning and a bar upstairs where you can sit and look out on the lake. Just a down the street is one of the Grand Villas to tour and also several ferry stops. Really enjoyed this hotel and our stay around Lake Como.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBear1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear BigBear1977,
What an amazing feedback, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your holiday at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia and this fulfilled your expectations. Thank you for your trust on us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Daniele reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Grand Hotel Cadenabbia for 7 nights having booked with Inghams who efficiently coordinated our holiday.
The hotel is situated at a very convenient spot to explore the central Lake Como area using the ferries from the ferry landing stage chose by. The busy lake side road passes the front of the hotel but this did not bother us at all and from our 4th floor lake view room it appeared we were directly on the lakeside.
We were very pleased with our room - the cleanliness was first class, air conditioning worked fine and the tea/coffee facilities were topped up daily. (Maybe new carpets were overdue - clean but faded from the sun) The bathroom was newly fitted and the bed firm but comfortable.
The 5th floor dining room with it’s large windows had views to die for.
The buffet breakfast plus menus providing freshly cooked omelettes,eggs, bacon and crepes could not fail to satisfy all tastes.

We were on half board basis and ate in the dining room every evening.
The plentiful buffet provided a wide choice, this was followed by 2 courses from the menus - soup or a choice of pastas, the next course offered a choice of two meats or a fish with a small helping of vegetables (we found these ample after the first two courses) then there was a wide selection of desserts. Whilst the buffet and dessert choices were similar each evening the middle two courses varied each day. We enjoyed all these meals and could not fault the quality or the good service of the waiters for a 4 star Italian Hotel.

We didnot use the swimming pool - the purpose of our holiday was to enjoy as much of the scenery, villas, gardens and delightful lakeside towns of Lake Como. The location of this hotel certainly enabled us to achieve this, however for anyone just wanting to lay by a pool and sunbathe this probably is not the hotel for them.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank nannieval1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Nannieval1,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia and for taking the time to share a 5 star review.

I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience and that our, well connected, central location was convenient for your stay. Your lovely comments about the high levels of service and food that you received from our team are very much appreciated and we will ensure your kind words are shared with them.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.

Soon we will renovate the swimming pool area .

Warm regards,

Daniele reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Good location,beautiful views from room and restaurant. Good food. But experience marred by very poor service. Arrived for a week stay. My room was very hot. The air conditioning did not work. Called reception. Bellboy sent up; he set control dial to 30 and fan to maximum, saying it needed 30min to 1hr to take effect(this turned out to be a setting to introduce uncooled ambient air and no cooling, a dishonest means of stalling and not fixing the problem). No cooling after 2hrs. Went to reception. They told me they were required to limit air con by government and it would not be on until 8pm(this turned out to be a lie). Still no cooling after 8pm. Called reception. Again bellboy set to 30 and said to wait 1hr. No cooling all night. Got little sleep lying naked on top of bed. Next morning went to reception and insisted air con must be fixed. Got my holiday company manager to talk to reception. On returning from lake tour found room still unbearably hot. Complained to reception who claimed air con was OK. Could not bear staying in room. Went to swimming pool to cool off. Still too hot in room in evening. Spent a second night sweating it out naked on top of bed. Went to reception first thing in morning. Said they would send a repair man. I demanded a change of room as I had lost trust in staff and they had had plenty of time to make any repair. Got my holiday company manger to confirm my room change before departing on St Moritz trip and to phone from St Moritz. Finally on return I was given a room with air con.This is no way to treat a customer, lying that the air con was working when it wasn't and failing to take any action for two days and nights. Shame on you!

Room Tip: Check that air conditioning works before you accept the room.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Intelligentia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear guest,
First and foremost, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at Grand Hotel cadenabbia, and for your kind comments about our beatiful location.
I was disappointed to hear that we did not manage to meet your expectations with regards of the A/c system.
We sent our bell boy , our maintenance man and at the end we called a technician but everyone have confirmed that A/C was working and from the time you left the room we checked daily the A/C system and it has been working well, so
it is still a mystery because it did not work only in a few moments.
However Your comments are very important to us so we can always try to improve in delivering the best customer service possible and I thank you for that.
Kind regards
Daniele reecption

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel has a great position in Cadenabbia.

It has free parking for guests, a medium size ( well maintained) pool, good Wi-Fi, reasonable buffet breakfast, and great rooftop bar.
But.... the rooms are small and tired looking, as are the bathrooms. Don’t be fooled by the description “ superior double with balcony”, there is nothing superior about those rooms except they face the lake rather than the park. Having said that, the views are awesome but they really could upgrade the whole place and still not try and compete with Grand Hotel Tremezzo down the road. Of course the prices are far less than those of the Grand Hotel Tremezzo but one would think there might be some room to manoevre and upgrade without pushing prices all the way.
Staff are friendly and helpful and service is fine. Check what room you are being given, if you are immediately under the restaurants you will hear lots of noise until late at night as they move tables.
If you have realistic expectations and book early so get best prices, you will find this to be good value.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank EMandJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear EMandJM,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Grand Hotel Cadenabbia and for taking the time to review your recent stay, we appreciated your valued feedback.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you particularly found the staff friendly and helpful and the hotel location to your liking.

Indeed it is very well located, near the boat stops and it is very easy to visit all lake Como main towns.

Your comments about rooms on the forth floor have been taken on board and will be considered when we next review our standards.

Our Restaurant "le Serre" close at 9 pm and by 10 pm all the staff has finished.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Daniele reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews