We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well appointed and located but a touch noisy and...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Villa Lucia

Exquisite & tranquil master bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exquisite & tranquil master bedroom
Villa Lucia as the sun sets across Lake Como Villa Lucia set behind private electric gates
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Exquisite & tranquil master bedroom
Villa Lucia as the sun sets across Lake Como
Villa Lucia set behind private electric gates
The opulent & rather glamorous sitting room
The sitting room
Enjoy a glass of 'Villa Lucia' vino overlooking the lake
Ornate frescoed ceilings
A grand entrance to this luxury lakeside villa
An intimate spot to celebrate your special day
Celebrations in the beautiful gardens of Luca (available as an estate booking)
A beautiful shower room
Villa Lucia, a very special day
A stunning location for an intimate wedding
A wonderful boat trip to Villa Balbianello
George Clooney's Villa Oleandra!
Beautiful Lake Como
Richard Branson's pad from the lake
Beautiful pool at the neary Lido di Cadenabbia
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Cadenabbia di Griante, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amanda G
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well appointed and located but a touch noisy and hot”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 12 staying the week of 13th of July 2014 and Villa Lucia was great for our group in terms of space and kit. Lots of reasonable (IKEA) kitchen plates,glasses etc and very nicely furnished. Karen and David the property managers were very helpful including booking us a fantastic chef (Johnny) to cook a special birthday dinner which was a highlight and one of the best meals we have had in Italy. We enjoyed crossing the road and swimming directly in the lake, rather than going to the Lido's (could not understand why swimming directly in the lake is so rare, it is wonderful and we had no safety concerns). The only thing that let this Villa down is the road in front of the Villa, which while small is the main road around Lake Como and busy. With no air conditioning we needed to keep the doors open and the combination of a noisy road (although it does quieten from 7pmish to 5amish) and people talking loudly as they walked home early in the morning from their night out made for some broken sleep. If winter or you are a heavy sleeper, np, but with open doors in summer it was unfortunately for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Hi there, we are really pleased to hear that you had a great time on Lake Como - we agree, swimming in the lake is a must! And great news that our villa managers were able to deliver another of their great recommendations!
We appreciate your feedback too, with reference to the air conditioning and this is something that we are looking into. We hope to see you again soon on Lake Como, ciao for now!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james m
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect house for a magical holiday”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We rented this Villa for a special birthday celebration/ holiday and it was everything I expected and more. We were 7 adults, two couples and 3 singles and it was roomy for all of us. Has the true historic house feel but well appointed.
The location is fantastic as there are many walkable shops and sights (Villa Carlotta is an easy walk). In addition the ferry stop to Bellagio is only a block away and from Bellagio you can transfer to ferries that will take you anywhere on the lake.
The views across the lake toward Bellagio will want to make you pinch yourself every morning it is such a dream view.
We had three cars and parking was no problem. In addition the house is gated (electric) and grounds feel very secure.
One thing not listed above, that should be, is that the house does have a washing machine. Very helpful as we were all traveling either before or after the villa to other areas of Italy.
Three of the four bathrooms have showers, which is incorrectly listed above.
I found Karen, the local manager, to be very helpful.
I would rent this again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2013
I am delighted you had such a great time and the celebrations went well!! Always excited to read about another happy guest and helpful tips for future guests too! Thank you and I do hope we see you again soon on Lake Como, ciao!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24AngelaC
Cowaramup, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It could have been Perfect!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of 9 Australian friends recently spent 8 nights in Villa Lucia and had a wonderful time. Other revues have mentioned the amenities of the house, the views, the location etc and we would heartily agree with all of this.
However, we did feel that the attitude of the managers on the ground in Menaggio could have been better. It was quite warm when we arrived and all of us were very hot on our first night under heavy quilts. We requested top sheets and were told to take the quilts out of the covers and use the cover as a sheet. That may have been acceptable if the covers were smooth but they were quite textured and rough and didn't feel at all like a sheet. We also requested pillow cases for the spare pillows and were told to use the uncovered (and quite stained!) ones under the ones which did have covers on them. This is unacceptable. We also were only provided two tea towels for the week which was inadequate for so many people. There is one fold up drying line which also is not enough for a large group. At our final handover the manager was totally uninterested in discussing any of these matters.
So, to summarise, I think Villa Lucia is a wonderful property to rent. It just needs to be managed with more attention to details and with more empathy for the requests of the clients who are actually paying! (And waste bins in the bathrooms would make life there a lot easier as well!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location is wonderful
Liked least: Attitude of local manger
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2013
I am delighted you all had such a great girls holiday, and as you say the location is perfect to get out and explore and have a great time. I am though really disappointed to read your thoughts about the service you received on the ground and I shall be looking into this and ensuring this is not the service or the attitude that our clients will receive again. This is the first review or any negative feedback we've had in relation to this but nevertheless it is unacceptable.
Thank you for leaving such a positive review and helping others to make their choice when visiting Como. I do hope we see you again soon, ciao! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bellissimo!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Our 'posse' of 8 ladies stayed at Villa Lucia for our 'girls trip'.
The villa is in the Perfect location; turn left out the villa, stroll approximately 200 meters along the water, and the boats going to Bellagio, Menaggio & Varenna are here. Out the villa & to the right approximately 500 meters is Villa Carlotta.
The home is very large, open & airy, with plenty of room to spread out. The grounds are magnificent, and the views of Lago di Como & Bellagio are breathtaking.
There is complete privacy, a security gate, and a great deal to do in the area. The high ceilings keep the temperature comfortable, the decor is simple yet elegant, and Italianate.
Kitchen well stocked with dishes, glass ware, utensils and cooking necessities - usually a peeve of mine when renting a villa, so very pleasantly surprised.
FYI: WiFi was best in the downstairs room where tele is and the dining room.
A nice day in Como followed by champagne & apps at Villa d'Este is a must - as is my favorite gelato place just up the road from Villa d'Este, on Via Regina. Also on Via Regina is La Piazzetta; wonderful place to pick up apps & nibbles to enjoy on the property with your glass(es) of wine ;)
For you shopping aficionados, Foxtown in Mendrisio (across border in Switzerland), Bellagio for silks, and Verona (love Verona! - 1.5 hr drive) are all fabulous.
I also highly recommend a dinner reservation for Locanda dell'Isola on the only island on Lake Como. *they only accept cash, so go prepared...
There is a restaurant to the left of the villa, less than 100 meters, recommended to us by the property manager. Usually I avoid recommendations by property managers and/or owners, however this one we did, and loved it so much, we went back our last evening in town!
It was the first time for my friends on Lago di Como, and having spent a great deal of time here over the years, being able to show them around & see it through their eyes was amazing!
I highly recommend Villa Lucia - especially for a fun trip with friends - just be certain to have top quality electric converters; the inexpensive ones all blew out over the course of the week; additionally, ask the manager actually walk you to where the trash is to be disposed. Would definitely rent it again !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: location and beauty
Liked least: no A/C, however, luckily, it was not hot & high ceilings help immensely.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
I am delighted you and your 'posse' had a fabulous girls trip, it sounded like you packed a lot into your stay too!! Yes I love La Piazetta too, delicious and Varenna is definitely my favourite village on the lake - you can actually get there by boat a lot quicker, around 20 mins!
I am so pleased you fell in love with Lucia and thank you for sharing all your lovely thoughts and tips.
I hope we see you back again soon, Ciao! xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenHen...
Georgetown, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lake Como experience with Villa Lucia”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Much belated but better than never review. The other reviews are correct, Villa Lucia is amazing. We are in Texas, we take a vacation such as this every other year. Extended family, Grandparents and down of 11. We plan about a year in advance so we do loads of research and study. When I first ran across Villa Lucia which meet our every requirement such as many rooms, many rest rooms, great views, easy access to ferry and bus, walking distance to groceries, restaurants, shops, hiking and more. Villa Lucia was like a majestic step back in time which exceeded all these requirements while adding elegance and a clean neat grandeur environment. The property is spacious with perfect amenities. Then talking to Alexis followed by Alessandra adds a level of hospitality and professionalism that will put anyone at ease. We added taxi's to and from the train station and a chef to prepare a meal one evening. Alessandra did a wonderful job of taking care of these special requests. No air conditioning was never a problem, in fact this enhanced our experience with learning to open and close doors to maintain a nice lake breeze almost all the windows have wonderful views of Bellagio and Lake Como. Please contact me with more comments

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The exceeding our expectations and creating memories of our lifetimes
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2013
Wow! What a great review, thank you so very much. And always great to hear that the service we offer including the whole booking experience is an enjoyable one! You and your family are always welcome to come visit again. Ciao!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing