We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to relax....”
Review of Cantina Follie

Cantina Follie
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 29
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We would like to thank all our guests that visit and reviewed us in our first 8 years of activity, Deborah & Joost.Our Winebar-Enoteca is specialized in platters prepared at the moment with local sliced cuts and cheeses.we don't not serve pasta, or maincourses because our philosophy is doing just a few things...but done in the proper way. Genuine ospitality and our motto "come like a guest go like a friend"
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great place to relax....”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

A wine bar rather than a restaurant, this gem of a place lies just off the main road and offers a vast array of high quality wines, superb hosts and for the peckish wonderful plates of meats and cheeses.
Do not visit Tremezzo without making the effort to find Cantina Follie - it will be well worth it!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trooper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    158
    28
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So glad we stumbled upon this restaurant”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The service was fantastic, plenty of English for those of us ignorant of any Italian and the food and wine was outstanding.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shgroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Joost, the owner is the genuine article, his customer serivce is outstanding....and so is his prosecco!!”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The cantina follie is a hidden gem. We were made to feel so welcome here. I would stronlgy recommend a visit.

But we will never be able to thank Joost enough for all his help on the day of our wedding. Coming from England and not speaking Italian was proving diffcult to organise things. Joost saved the day !!! He organised for all our drinks and glasses at 2 locations for our wedding.

Everyone loved the prosecco, it was the nicest drink I've had!!! I have to add it was all very reasonably price too.

Lovely, genuine person and a fantstic set up!! I wish you and your wife all the best for the future..... and thank you again!!

Tanya & Glyn
x

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tanya18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Magical Spot - Great Host, Great Service, Great Food, & Great Wines!”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Visualize sitting outside, at candle lit tables, under a canopy of grape vines, drinking great local and regional wines, while snacking on cheeses, meats, and bread (all at a very fair price). No matter how great the vision is in your mind.... it's better at this out of the way gem.
Joost, your host and the owner, has every reason to be proud. Having restored this outdoor terrace and the inside wine cellar.... it should not be missed. Serena, our fabulous server took great care of us.
This is a wine bar with meats, cheeses, bread, panninis, and pizza...... it's not a pasta resturaunt... just to be clear.
We were in Tremezzo and learned about this spot from trip advisor.... and spent 2 evenings with Joost and Serena. We highly recommend spending an evening(or 2) here.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Wine bar for wine lovers”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Great wines, perfect ambiance and wonderful owners. A charming and quintessential place for tastings of regional vino, formaggi e prosciutto. And quite romantic too!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katjwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantina Follie also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
Tremezzina, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Cantina Follie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing