We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Holiday Home”

Review of Altavista

Balcony view toward the east
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony view toward the east
First bedroom (beds can be separated) Second bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Balcony view toward the east
First bedroom (beds can be separated)
Second bedroom
First bedroom (beds can be put together)
Kitchen and dining area
Living room with fireplace
Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina, known to music lovers around the world...
Walking paths begins just north of Altavista
Entrance to Altavista
Palestrina and its ancient temple
From the archeological museum, just around the corner from Altavista
via degli Scacciati
Balcony
Corpus Domini Celebration
Annual Strawberry Festival
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Palestrina, Province of Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
EdCos77
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Home”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have stayed in central Rome before, where there is more than enough to keep you occupied just within the old city. We were looking for somewhere close to, but outside of, Rome so that we could explore some of the attractions outside of the city and those on the outskirts that are a bit of a pain to get to if you don't want to rely on public transport (like the catacombs or Ostia Antica). When we started looking for somewhere to stay we were, to say the least, a little... uninspired by the choice. Until we found Altavista.

The house is very comfortable, clean and tastefully appointed throughout. On the first floor there are two good-sized bedrooms that have very comfortable double beds, one of which can also be made up as twin beds. There is also a bathroom (no bath but a decent enough shower) with a plentiful supply of towels. The open plan living area on the ground floor has a well equipped kitchen if you are the cook, or a plentiful supply of interesting books, novels, CDs, DVDs and great WiFi if you are not! Leading off from the kitchen is a medium size balcony - not large enough to have a proper meal on, but more than enough to enjoy a morning coffee or glass of wine in the evening looking out on to the amazing view over to the hills of the Castelli Romani, central Rome and beyond. If you have good eyesight or a pair of binoculars you can also make out the dome of St Peters!

Altavista is located in the old town of Palestrina just above the Palazzo Barberini. This houses the very interesting archaeological museum and is built on the truly monumental remains of the Hellenistic temple of Fortuna Primigenia - well worth a visit. Palestrina is very well located to visit many places of interest south and east of Rome within an easy drive. Places to the north of Rome and further south, like Montecassino, do take longer to get to but are still very doable trips. Central Rome itself is very accessible - park at the nearby Zagarolo station and you are at Termini station in about half an hour, costing just 2.50 Euros for a single ticket.

The unexpected bonus of Altavista is the owner. Jennifer is an amazing and passionate ambassador for the area. She is a font of knowledge of great places to eat and has very helpful and interesting suggestions of things to do (archaeological caving anyone?). If you let her know what types of things you are interested in she is more than happy to make suggestions she knows, or find out if she doesn't, which really makes the most of a stay. Thank you Jennifer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful house in a beautiful town with a very helpful owner”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Altavista was a beautiful house located in the old part of the hillside town of Palestrina. The entrance opened onto one of the many cobbled streets that weave up and down the hill through the town, each of which was unique and full of charm. The town itself had plenty of places to eat, get ice cream or pastries and watch the world go by with lots of friendly people. It is also very well located to go further afield - we visited Vesuvius, Pompeii and Tivoli amongst many other places. The house itself was lovely, well equipped and extremely comfortable. The owner Jennifer lives in the same town and was immensely helpful but never intrusive. For instance, she personally led us in convoy to the best train station to get into Rome. This is the perfect place to stay if you want something that is out of the tourist traps, feels authentically Italian and yet stil convenient to see the sights of Rome and around. We'd recommend a car to get the best from a holiday here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing view, well equipped and beautiful house.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana B
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I could not have asked for a more perfect place. The accommodations were clean and cozy. The location was near the great museum and also the city center shops, and the proprietress was friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay there again.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly A
Buffalo, New York
1 review
“We will definitely come back to Palestrina and Altavista!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Jennifer, the vacation homeowner was the most wonderful and accommodating person we could have asked for during our stay in Palestrina! The home was beautiful and very well maintained. Everything was modern yet quaint. Everything from the linen, to the bathroom and kitchen was perfectly clean and in order and all of the appliances worked as well! Free wifi is provided and she even provided us with some delicious cookies from the town and a bottle of wine :) The home is easily accessible and we felt extremely safe throughout our stay. The town of Palestrina is so interesting and beautiful so we spent more time there than we originally expected! Four of us stayed for three nights very comfortably in the vacation home and enjoyed the sites of Palestrina and Rome. Jennifer made it a point to make sure that we had everything we needed and was always available via phone or email if we ever needed help! She gave us great tips for things to do in both areas and even took us to the most beautiful festival held in town one of the days we stayed. The festival was called Corpus Domini and was one of our favorite things we enjoyed during our two week trip to Europe. Without Jennifer we wouldn't have even known about it! We will definitely be back to visit Palestrina and Jennifer! :) I I'll for sure recommend Altavista to any friends wanting to visit the Rome area. Stay in Palestrina not Rome and you won't regret it!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Reviewed 28 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing