We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
242
124
23
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
124
23
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barolive treesmain townstaff at receptionhighly recommend renting a carbeautiful poolcakeslovely hotelbad nightminor thingswalking pathreturn journeytree shaded terracetwo twin bedslovely greek yoghurtluggage storagebreakfast was amazing
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel. It was nice, clean. Typical European style room. Two twin beds. The pool is and infinity and over looks the town of Adamas port. Very cool. In order to get to the room or back and forth from town, there is a windy road to walk down. Its OK during the day. But at night, I suggest you bring a flash light. It can get dark and I worried a bit. Otherwise, it is a 10 minute walk to the port. The only problem is that my hotel room was that the phone in the room didn't work. That was a problem because I didn't have an international cell phone and I needed to make calls out of the hotel. I had to ask twice and then next day they moved us to another room. So that was the only problem. Other than that, the family who runs the hotel is really nice. They will pick you up from the port as well. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight for walking around at night.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We visited Milos for our honeymoon as the last stop before returning home - Santa Maria was wonderful. The hotel is beautiful BUT it has a range of room types & if you want a modern room you need to pay the extra for the suits, as some of the hotel is old and you might be dissappointed. We booked the older part of the hotel by accident & asked to be moved (paid the difference) - the team went out of their way to ensure we were settled in. There was a mix up of our departure jetboat and the team again made sure everything was sorted out while we relaxed. We would go back here in a heatbeat - beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We decided to book all our hotels , ferries, and hotel transfers through the Greek travel agency called Aegean Thesaurus which proved to be a great idea , the trip was well organized, pre-paid and everything went so smoothly . I strongly recommend this route if you are unfamiliar with Greece. Our original intent was to go to the Melian Hotel in Pollonia but it was all booked , it was suggested for an equivalent stay to book at the Santa Maria SUITES ( the "SUITES" is the same hotel as the "VILLAGE" but it is their 5-Star accommodations , which consists of separate villas sharing the same faciliites as the "Village". ) Our first impression was somewhat disappointing for a 5-star hotel, though for the " Santa Maria Village"( lower rating), it would of been a great first impression, but maybe our expectations were too high(?). But as we started to settle in , we started to enjoy the place more and more. The rural setting with a great view of Adamas was wonderful and really relaxing .Our suite included a separate bedroom , a lounge area and a very large washroom with lounge music and a window view of the beautiful countryside. The suite was modernly designed , clean ,spacious and very comfortable. We had our own patio with table and chairs with a great view of the sea. The pool was wonderful and large. There is a great shortcut to Adamas which is a 5-7 min. walk, you will need a flashlight because it is quite dark at night. (we got this tip from a previous trip advisor review which was helpful). We enjoyed our evening walks to Adamas and the hotel's close proximity to the town.We are glad we stayed in Adamas instead of Pollonia because it is so central to all the beaches and villages and is a much more vibrant town , Pollonia is a very small village. We did visit the Melian Hotel in Pollonia and thought it was really beautiful and well located close to the water with an amazing view. The honeymoon suite and balcony looked AMAZING. Melian Hotel is located closer to the water than at Santa Maria ,which is on a hill..We also visited the Nefeli Studios which were also really well located for a lower budget. Adamas port is a great location we rented a dune buggy and went to visit all the different beaches , our favorite was Firiplaka( absolutely breathtaking) , but we also enjoyed having a 5 o'clock bite and cocktails at the restaurants on Paleohori beach. We also rented a jeep and visited all the villages such as Klima , Mandrakia , Firapotamos and Sarakiniko , which were all amazing. We loved Milos , because it is not as touristic as Santorini and Mykonos and you can really appreciate the Greek culture , the amazing landscapes and rock formations, and Milos is not as pricey as the other islands. It is a very charming island where everyone knows everyone , as proof , when we took taxis , we ended up getting the same taxi drivers ! We ate one evening at the Armenaki Restaurant in Pollonia which was amazing which we were told was the best restaurant in Milos. We really enjoyed our stay at the Santa Maria , Sofia and her family were charming and very helpful. The grounds have so much potential ( more flowers, decoration.... would be welcomed) , but we enjoyed the simplicity of the rural setting. After our stay in Santorini and Mykonos, we can truly say that we enjoyed Milos and the Santa Maria the best and would come back again. The only negative about our stay was that breakfast was too basic with little variety and no fresh orange juice, which you would expect for a 5-star but I guess that is what you get when you share facilities with the " Santa Maria Village " which is a 4-star accommodation .

Room Tip: We stayed at the
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sustrip11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I have visited Milos Island before, a couple of years back and we stayed at Santa Maria Village. Our experience was so memorable there; when we came back we stayed at Santa Maria again! The staff was so pleasant and the family that owns the business was very courteous and attentive.

We were picked up from the port on time by the driver and he was very friendly and kind. The women who greeted us at the lobby was also very pleasant and asked us before we even went to the room if we had any specific requests they could fulfill. The view from the hotel pool and from many rooms in the hotel is breathtaking. The pool bar was such a nice touch as in the afternoon and the evening before we would go out we would go and have a quiet drink. Personally, the music was great and very fitting while watching the amazing view---very romantic for us. The bartender was very friendly as well and made sure we were comfortable. He did give us some great suggestions and reminded us as to where the hidden gems were!

Our room was also spotless and the breakfast in the morning was always fresh. The outside space where you eat breakfast is so charming. All in all, both our stays at the Santa Maria Village where excellent and we are already planning our trip back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tua14322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Santa Maria Village. All in all had a great holiday - Milos is wonderful - but felt there was always something lacking in terms of service provided (especially when at the hotel).

On the day we were meant to arrive at Milos, I received a call from a lady from the hotel (I reckon the wife of the owner) informing us that the driver wont be able to pick us up from the port (as we had arranged) due to sickness and suggested to take a cab. Fair enough, it came out cheaper at the end. However, we found a bit rude her request to spend some time at the port, maybe grab some bite or a coffee, as the room wont be ready when we would arrive at the hotel. Fair enough again - we understand check in policies of the hotel but I dont think this is something to be told to the client.

When we reached the hotel, some guy asked us (didnt introduce himself) to go and sit by the pool bar and some George guy would come to welcome us, provide us a map of the island and give some info and tips - nobody came. At 2.30pm we were informed that we could go in our room # 61. We found it spacious and clean, the bathroom looked old and was always flooded in water. Hated the towels.

The pool was great and you can have great views of Adamas but got a bit annoyed of the loud music the barman plays all the time. Also, we got stressed sometimes, as we couldnt get beds and umbrella by the pool... the capacity is only for about 10 people and it was only early July, what would happen in August then?

Breakfast is served in a nice veranda - but needs improvement. I believe that hotels charging prices that high should squeeze fresh orange juice in the morning and serve fresh coffee instead of urn type. Bed was hard for our liking, felt a bit unpleasant at some points.

We hired a car for only 100 eur for 5 days - BARGAIN - and went to all the beaches, coming back to the hotel to shower, change and go out. The hotel is a long walk to the main road I would say...maybe worthwile to pre-book a car hire. Plaka (the town) is nice but yet small compared to other Cycladic Islands. Adamas looked busier - try Marianna and Navagio restaurants for food.

Milos was beatiful overall - great food and beaches, no frills about the service (in general). It actually bored as a bit. Make sure you combine it with a close by island when you visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DimsPappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews