We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
118
107
36
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
107
36
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews limited sunbeds bedroom door beachfront hotel walking distance to everything beach sunbeds studio apartment the main strip very nice hotel bed and breakfast hundred meters every morning platanias area pool area greek night half board spent a week cleaning staff
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We spent a week with the extended family (5 people in 2 rooms) in Indigo Mare Platanias. We had similar kind of rooms, both with a double bed and a sofa that was used as a third bed. The rooms were spacious and the balcony is also large (ours was giving to the side street) with comfortable chairs and a rack to dry your beach equipment. The room was tidied up daily and towels changed frequently (if left to the floor). The AC in the room works really well and basically cools the whole room evenly, clearly the best AC we have ever had. The wifi did not work as solid but well enough and the TV only seems to include international channels. The in-room safe could be just a tad larger, now you can fit a tablet and some smaller items in there. In case you got a full frame dslr you might find it difficult to fit in with the tablets. We managed to get a late check out to one of the rooms for the cost of 20EUR.
The selection at the breakfast buffet is very extensive with lots of surprising Greek option to choose from, something new for every day of the week. Also lunch menu is good and the quality on par with other good restaurants in the area (greek salad, dakos, tzatziki etc.). The pool area is nice but most of the sun beds are always in use. Also the pool does not have any shades. The hotel manages the sun beds at the nice beach in front of the hotel and the cost is 2,50EUR/bed (orange juice included in the price). They also serve food and beverages to the beach and the staff is really nice.
The Platanias area was good for water games but in general we did not find it to be that interesting so the biggest minus for us is the location: It takes 30 minutes by bus to Chania (2,10EUR/person), in the summer day time buses seem to run every 15 minutes. In Platanias we highly recommend the walk up to the old village and the restaurant Belvedere midway up for nice dinner. The closest bus stop and supermarket (the hotel also got their own supermarket with limited selection but with any basics you would need with comparable prices) is about 100 meters from the main street to the right. There are several restaurants (some good, some not so) around and the nearest gyro pita place seems to be just pass the bus stop.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KissaAgentti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We went on our yearly Crete visit and stayed for one week.
Over all a very nice hotel. Good cleaning, nice staff and service is good.
Breakfast is not top notch but still alright, pool area is perfect for families, and the hotel’s super market has most stuff needed.
Can definatelly recommend this hotel for those who like to stay near the beach, though the beach is not prefferable for the youngest kids since the see bottom turns deep rather fast.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Bobo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theodora S, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Indigo Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Mr Bobo,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write us a review. We are very happy to hear that we accomplished to meet your expectations. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in our hotel.
With Best Regards,
Theodora Skarkala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Plus
Nice view over the sea and big room
Swimming pool close to the room
Reception is helpful

Minus
Air conditioning was noisy and my son wake up few times due to the noise of this.

Half board
Sometimes good sometimes too much repetitive.

The beach is with stones so no good for families with small kids willing to enjoy sandy beach
The level of the sea is soon step so not ideal for kids

Too turistic area for my personal taste. I guess services are adapted to Nordic tastes.

Change of towels every 2 days for a room paid with half board 180 Euro per day looks a bit poor service

In the swimming pool no umbrella to protect from the sun

Breakfast: the juices are really low quality taste like medicine

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ale777777ale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theodora S, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Indigo Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write us a review. It is very important to us to take into consideration our guest’s opinion and become better in time. Indigo Mare is located in Platanias, indeed the most touristic area of the region of Chania not ideal for someone who is looking for something quieter. Also we are awarded with Green Key, which is the leading standard for excellence in the field of environmental responsibility and sustainable operation within the tourism industry. The frequency of towel and linnen changing depends on that. In case that someone needs a more frequent changing the chambermaids can offer it during their everyday service. Additionally i can say that our beach is sandy but the water becomes deep very soon and that is something not so ideal for small children. This is the main reason we have a children's pool. We would be more than happy to welcome you one more time in our hotel and try our best to fulfill your expectations.
With best regards,
Theodora Skarkala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

These apartments enjoy a very good location which is right on the beach and minutes walk from resort bars and restaurants. Our room was basic self catering, air conditioning was good in the living room/kitchen but not quite so good in the bedroom. The cleaning staff were very friendly and kept our apartment very clean, one of the maids even helped us with our suitcases up the stairs.
Pool area was smaller than we expected and pool did get overtaken by children at times - we tended to use the beach sunbeds (never a shortage) and sea. We even got free orange juice some days.
What I did like was that it felt more like a small hotel than just self catering - the breakfast was very good and we also had a good lunch on a couple of days.
Two for one cocktails is another bonus at happy hour and we also enjoyed the Greek night which had a good BBQ/ inside buffet and good value for money.
I would definitely recommend and visit here again myself.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lisadoeseurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dora S, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Indigo Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write us a review. We are very happy to hear that we accomplished to meet your expectations. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you one more time in our hotel.
With Best Regards,
Theodora Skarkala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

The pool and the beach was really nice. The food is good and the breakfast has a great variety of food.
The staff was not so kind and my room was terrible. Room cleaning was not really good and Wi-Fi works terrible: can't access any website (the Wi-Fi in the beach was much better than in my room) .
As I believe there is better rooms that mine, I asked to change and the staff said is not possible

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 6 Stub App Smartphone
1  Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dora S, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Indigo Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear Mrs Gina,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write us a review. It is very important to us to take into consideration our guest’s opinion and become better in time. It would be very helpful for us if you would have informed us about the fact that your room was't clean enough. Our chambermaids are trying very hard to fulfill all guests expectations. Also your wish and every guests wish to change rooms is something that always depends on availability since there are days that the hotel has a 100% occupancy. The fact that the wifi wasn't working in your room is something that we are working on.
It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you one more time in our hotel and try more to fulfill your wishes.
With my best regards,
Theodora Skarkala



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews