We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
159
121
33
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
121
33
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews agia marina excellent location family vacation nice hotel restaurants and shops nice beach sunbeds pools balcony sea chania supermarket plantanias balos euro greek
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We stayed for 10 nights - half board. As we arrived late the first night we were not in time for dinner. Rooms are very basic but we found it clean and suited to our needs. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of options available. Sunbeds were occupied well before the pool "opened" at 9am and most days we had to go to the beach. You are charged €5 for 2 beds and umbrella by the hotel to sit on the beach despite the fact there are no beds available at the pool!! Dinner is a total disappointment - don't waste your money on half board - we tried it on 2 occasions and it was disgusting - we had to eat out and spend more money to get decent food. Dont buy cocktails at the bar they are such a let down -I was served a pina colada in a juice cup - it was half full and they charged €8.00 for it - last one I bought!! Staff are ok - maids do a good job. Hotel is close to loads of restaurants and shops and the bus to Chania is fantastic - €2.20 per person and takes approx. 30mins! Well worth the trip
The beach at the hotel is stoney and there is a lot of rocks like a shelf just before the water - its quite dangerous and the hotel should put a notice up about it.
I wouldn't return to the Menia Beach Hotel - but would definitely make a return trip to Plantanias - plenty of beautiful hotels to choose from and Im sure the staff and food would be better

Room Tip: Go to a different beach - one at the hotel is dangerous with slippy rocks Red Havanna is a short walk away and truly worth it
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NiallM719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

On the outside the hotel looks fair enough. However, the unfriendly service staff, the awful cleaning of the rooms (close to non existence) and the standards of the rooms ruined it. Would also point a finger to Apollo (our traveler operator) as this come quite close to false advertisement (3+ star hotel on their homesite), but in fact only a 2 star hotel. Not going to this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Øyvind N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed there for 10 nights, and we saw all these good reviews from last year but recently they switch owners and it has been terrible since, the manager was rude and the cleaning was not good, and no space by the pool unless you wake up at 7 and reserve a sun bench, we complained about the cleaning because for 3 days Noone came to clean the room, and the manager said " I will look into it personally thanks " and 10 minutes later he sent 3 angry cleaning ladies up to our room telling us it was our fault, really unprofessional. Also we complained about the shower, it was not good and all the floor was wet after one short shower because the shower head directed to the floor all the time, and the manager said " I will look into that" and did nothing. The wifi is also bad and the TV didn't work. I would never go there again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Viktoría S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

The only good thing was the breakfast . Our room smelt really bad when we arrived , they never change our towels and make up our room . The bathroom has no air and was full of hair .The door was a door of a balcony no safe at all . I am really sorry but we didn’t enjoy our stay there ...thanx god it was just three days

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Vivi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

The receptionist we dealt with was rude and did not seem to care enough to help us. For example we asked how to take the local bus into the town of Chania, and he only gave us vague directions and had no idea when a bus would come. The room itself was not clean, and the walkways of the hotel had many bees and cockroaches. We also found cockroaches in our room. The hotel advertises as a beach resort, however you have to pay 5 euro to the hotel's restaurant to be able to sit on the beach. The location was not what we expected since it was at least a half hour bus ride into Chania and the town the hotel was in (Agia Marina) became boring to us after one day- it was just a street with many restaurants and shops all selling the same beach stuff.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews