We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect!”
other traveller has booked this property
Lounge and fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
145 reviews
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building
Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Dining for 16
Dining area with open fire, staircase and vaulted ceiling
Log fire
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Mezzanine tv area
Games area mezzanine
Mont du Grange Bedroom 1 King size bed
Cret Beni bedroom suite with 1 king size bed plus 2 singles
Cornettes Bedroom 3 Double bed and bunks
En suite Cret Beni
Cornettes, luxury wetroom/shower
Penthouse Caribou in Winter
Penthouse Caribou, Spring
Dents du Midi
Spring view from Penthouse
Dining on the balcony
Abondance Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 145 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Caroline...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Wow what an amazing New Year we had in this gorgeous accommodation! We were a group of 16 of us with an age range of 10 to 52 and we all loved it and would go back tomorrow! Central location for skiing with free buses available to various resorts. I advise not to book ski lessons too early in Chatel as it's two bus rides to get there! The penthouse is so homely and spotless with lovely decor,very comfy beds and everything you could need in the kitchen. Fab log fire to relax in front of after a long day skiing! Beautiful views , great local bars and restaurants and small supermarket for basics. The nearby boulangerie was perfect for fresh bread,baguettes and croissants for breakfast! A big thank you to Jacqui and Martin who couldn't have been more helpful and made our stay very special. We absolutely loved it! Hope to see you again soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your New Year celebrations at the Penthouse. We look forward to welcoming your friends and family again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighLola...
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I stayed at Penthouse Caribou with a group of friends and cannot recommend highly enough, the penthouse is 5* in every way. The accomodation is very beautifully decorated and nothing has been forgotten about when it comes facilities and equipment. The whole place is like a tardis with rooms and offshoots hidden away, giving peace and space to those who require it, yet the communal areas are perfect for large parties to get together and discuss the adventures of their day with a fabulous fire place taking centre stage. The penthouse is also perfectly located with direct access to the slopes and just a short, walkable distance from the village itself where fabulous bars and restaurants await, as well as the other necessary outlets should you need, chemist etc.
We were lucky enough to enjoy a local Christmas market and the fabulous city of Montreux is just a short drive away, definitely worth a trip.
Jacqui and Martin, the owners of Penthouse Caribou, couldn't have been more helpful, from the initial enquiry made right through to tips and hints on what to see and how to get there.
They have a beautiful property and really were the best hosts, we can't wait to return soon.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zebadee80
ripon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

I stayed here in early December with a group of friends. This is a beautiful penthouse in the centre of La Chappelle. Spacious accommodation presented to a very high standard which is ideal for both large or smaller groups. Stunning views from the windows and balcony. There are good restaurants & bars near by. This is the perfect location for both skiers and non skiers alike. We travelled into Switzerland to a nearby spa for a blissful afternoon relaxing in the thermal waters and Montreux for the Xmas markets. I can highly recommend the train trip up to the top of the mountain to see Santa Claus ....perfect for kids and breathtaking views. Overall I can highly recommend.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H
Wembley Downs, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed at Penthouse Caribou for a week in February 2014. The penthous is huge, beds very comfortable and the fireplace was fabulous!! Just what you need at the end of a long day skiing (or learning to ski as I was!!) Bathrooms were clean, kitchen had all the basics and the lift to the top floor was very convenient.

Fantastic location - you can walk to the slopes and sit on the balcony and enjoy the view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view & fireplace
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara K
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous in the summer - can't wait to check it out in the winter.”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My expectations are top end but this apartment surpassed my highest hopes.
The owners were most helpful and obliging and the apartment was luxurious in every aspect.
The cleanliness and presentation second to none. Why hadn't I found this sooner?
The views from nearly every room were magnificent.
The area is perfect for all outdoor pursuits and although probably a once only experience, I can recommend the Fantasticable in Chatel. The fabulous restaurants in the village are well worth a visit, Les Cornettes and Clos Savoyard in particular.
I will be back in the winter as I must experience the log fire in action.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing with music and a glass of wine in the bath, off the master bedroom, with a view of Cret Beni.
Liked least: The lift, as I prefer to use the stairs so I have an excuse to eat and drink more!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing