We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Fun Holiday”
Review of Funky Monkey Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Funky Monkey Lodge
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2017

We booked a surf and yoga package; which was incredible. We had such a fantastic holiday. We got a ton of surfing and yoga in, and learned the aerial silks...all with lots of laughs! Our surf experience was exceptional. Victor, Nacho, and Christian were our instructors. They were great surfers, and also excellent teachers. The hotel is in close proximity to the beach and the restaurants and stores nearby, but we enjoyed spending time at the hotel, yoga studio and pool as much as possible. All of the staff were incredible and food was out of this world. Everything about our holiday was exceptional and blew our expectations out of the water. We would love to come back!

Room Tip: Dorms and Suite are above the bar and have noise with a youthful, communal vibe. The Bungalows offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TmancheWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2017

I stayed at The Funky Monkey Lodge in Santa Teresa as part of a surf & yoga package. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay! The lodge has a great eco-friendly, boho vibe & you can hear the animals in the jungle along with the ocean waves. The staff were all great & I was greeted with smiles from the get-go. I was pleasantly surprised with my room (4 bed dorm), the food was delicious, the yoga was relaxing & the atmosphere was just what I needed. Recommend to all!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Olivia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Canada
2
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed at Funky Monkey in their low season and had a great time. I purchased a package, which included yoga classes, surf lessons, breakfast, dinner, all on top of accommodation. The price was really good. I stayed in a dorm, which has 8 beds, but there were only two of us. In case you can't stand bugs and bites, the dorms don't have mosquito nets over the beds. The private bungalows do though. The bathroom is outside, with an open shower, but it didn't rain when I was there, so no issues.

Met a lot of other cool solo travellers that were staying at Funky Monkey. All were women, so I think this is a good spot for other female travellers.

The surf lessons were great. The teacher was really good and we got taken to different beaches, with fresh coconut and pineapple afterwards. I also got all the footage from surfing!

The location is super close to the beach, like a 5 minute walk. Also close to various restaurants and cute little shops.

I naturally woke up around 5AM every morning, as the sun was rising. There are also a ton of animals waking up at that time, including howler monkeys and roosters, so if you're a light sleeper, this may be a problem. I always felt like I got a good nights rest though, as you're already so tired from all the activities during the day.

My only other call out is the service of the staff. Many of those that work at Funky Monkey volunteer for a place to stay, so they are not aware of what you booked. As well, it seemed that one of the owners chastised some employees in front of us. Kind of unprofessional. The guys that worked there had their friends there a lot, which isn't that big of a deal, except when the people that are staying there are being neglected as a result. Also, everything at Funky Monkey is CASH ONLY.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Enjoyed staying here with our 2 young kids (2 and 4). The cabin was small but clean, with a nice outdoor bathroom. Would have liked some hooks for our clothes. Each cabin has a private balcony with pretty garden and hammock, where we enjoyed reading, relaxing, and eating fresh fruit. The proximity to the restaurant is convenient and the food is great. The kids loved the pool and took advantage of the pool toys! We stayed during the rainy season, and they provided bug nets around the beds (needed!). It's about a 5 minute walk to the beach. It was our second time staying here. 10 years ago, we came pre-kids and enjoyed surfing. This time, we took the kids hiking at Cabo Blanco, Montezuma waterfall, and swam in the tide pools. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Private cabins are lovely with a fan, balcony with hammock, and outdoor bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank apdeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

I have just returned from a solo trip to Santa Teresa, I stayed at the Funky Monkey. The room I stayed in had air conditioning and hot water. It also had an exceptional balcony that overlooked the rainforest treetops, giving a spectacular view of the ocean. You could sit out there and relax, watch the tropical birds bounce around from tree limb to tree limb as they sang and chirped away. It was so relaxing.

Each morning I'd head down to breakfast and where I met all the other people that were staying at the Funky Monkey. It was a great place to socialize, have some laughs, and discuss our daily adventures. I met people traveling from all over the world.

On the second day, I met the owners, Emilio and his wife Gaby. They could not be more friendly and warm. They made me feel very welcome at their lodge. Anything I needed they got it to me immediately. And they are really dedicated to being environmentally friendly.

The yoga pavilion is amazing. Outdoor yoga under this structure in the rainforest was something special.

The most unexpected surprise was meeting Joaquin. He cooks, plays the guitar, sings, and is probably one of the most interesting people I have ever encountered. The food he cooks...second to none! The guy has serious skills. Everything was insanely delicious. Then he does a sushi night...DO NOT MISS THIS!

The 8 days I spent at the Funky Monkey, I went in not knowing what to expect, I left with one of the greatest experiences of my life.

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pride G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
589 reviews
1.2 km away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
159 reviews
3.4 km away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#14 of 27 in Santa Teresa
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
238 reviews
0.6 km away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
342 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Lodge

Address: center of Santa Teresa | 200m From Public School, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $153 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Funky Monkey Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach lodge on a natural hill in the middle of a private jungle, away from the main street but only 200m walking from the main surfer beach, famous for its white sand and perfect waves. Great place for solo travelers, couples, families or groups. Clean and comfortable rooms with daily maid, free wireless, free and secure parking, safe place with restaurant and swimming pool. Great getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Funky Monkey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Monkey Hotel Santa Teresa
Funky Monkey Santa Teresa
Funky Monkey Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing