We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
292
41
18
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
41
18
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surf house flor blanca open air nectar restaurant horseback riding costa rica living room sushi yoga and pilates howler monkeys coconut crab couples massage spa treatments walk minutes the entire staff pool side pura vida
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

We were blown away by Florblanca!

The natural beauty of the property was stunning. All of the handful of villas are within close walking distance to arguably the most beautiful stretch of beach in the area (which is saying alot). The villas were perfect - very nice and a good balance of indoor/outdoor.

Every person we met on the staff was warm, very helpful both around the resort and giving advice for exploring the area, and were all just generally good company. Many of them had worked at the resort for years and were clearly genuinely happy to share their love of Santa Teresa and Florblanca.

The food was amazing - coming from a city that prides itself on foodie status, we came away realizing we need to re-evaluate what we’ve been calling farm-to-table at home! Everything was great, but highly recommend the sushi, smoothies, and anything with fresh tuna.

Hoping we make it back to Florblanca soon. Thanks for an amazing stay!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Florblanca is a beautiful resort, ideally located. The villas are spacious, clean and well designed. Upon arrival we felt like this was going to b an ideal vacation.

Unfortunately, we left feeling that we will not come back.

The issue is a service atmosphere that continuously focuses on generating additional income from guests, while putting the actual customer experience lower in priority. Examples include extra charges for participation in yoga classes, an attempt to convince us to use the (much more expensive) hotel service for bulk laundry and, finally, multiple envelopes waiting on our bed, asking for tips for the concierge, the cleaning staff and for any other special person on staff.

We quickly found ourselves feeling uncomfortable in asking the staff for help, which is a shame... We will not be back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Cap302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlorblancaManager, General Manager at Florblanca Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Traveler,

We are sorry you feel this way, and this is the first time we have heard this type of complaint. Florblanca is not an all-inclusive hotel, and amenities such as yoga and laundry service are additional. We have one of the very best yoga masters in all of Central America, and feel our reasonable daily fee for him is well worth the value of his practice and on going studies of yoga. Our yoga master, Stefano, has been with us for over ten years, and many of our guests come back year after year just for him. We feel $15 for a 90 or 120 minute class is fair.

Laundry is an additional costs as it is in most hotels.

We do leave envelopes as many guests ask us "how do we take care of the staff?" We implemented this system years ago in an effort to make it easy. In no way, are we asking our clients to leave tips. It is of course up to the client, and based on customer satisfaction.

All the best to you,

Cody Dillon
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

My husband & I wanted to move to a nicer hotel than the 1 we were in, so he called Florablanco. We knew it from ten years ago when previous owners were gracious & ran a lovely place. My husband called & spoke to the reservation manager, who gave us a price for 4 nights. We stopped by to see the villa that day. Jose, desk receptionist, showed us the villa, but said we would have to move in 2 days due to new bookings, &at a MUCH higher price. He was brusque, & so rude that he made us feel very us unwelcomed; we had to a ask several times to speak to his boss. Finally, we did & she agreed to the price she gave us. That is until Jose, speaking Spanish, bullied her into relenting. They didn't know we understood enough Spanish to get the gist of what they said. Jose is a racist. Money wasn't the issue - no one likes to be lied to & treated badly. We are in the hospitality business in New York City, so we know how professionals should behave. Any place that claims to be a 5 star hotel DOES NOT welcome guests like this - we didn't even want to return for dinner. Villa & rooms not as nice as when it was a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: don't take villas or rooms next to road: dusty & noisy
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Shari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlorblancaManager, General Manager at Florblanca Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Traveler,

Unfortunately your review is simply not true, and due to a miscommunication of language barrier.

The dialogue between my staff was in efforts to keep you from moving villas which we always try to do. They were putting effort to make your stay comfortable, and also trying to keep a lower rate for you (the two bedrooms are more expensive). At the same time, please understand we have to keep our integrity with the rates, and a sense of fairness for those whom paid full price.

The staff at Florblanca is a dedicated group of Costa Ricans who are proud to show off their beautiful country to those who visit us. They are far from racist, and this is a word not to be thrown around lightly. Jose specifically is an incredible part of our team, and as his manager, I feel so lucky to have him as a part of our staff.

All the best to you.

Cody Dillon
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We loved Florblanca resort! Its location on the beach in Santa Teresa is ideal, only 5 mins walks from the waves (the hotel provides surf boards, free of charge!). The villas are very spacious and comfortable with the bathroom out in the open! Staff had always a smile on their faces and did an amazing job at making us feel welcome. We enjoyed the spa for a couple massage and suffice to say the facilities are breathtaking!

Last and not least, the star quality of the resort is its restaurant: food was amazingly fresh and delicious whether it be for breakfast, lunch or dinner (we stayed for 4 days and ended up taking all our meals there). The chef is truly talented and surprised us with meals both healthy and creative, with a real creative effort behind each recipe.

I would add the the photos on TripAdvisor don't do justice to the vegetation that has grown a lot since they were taken and made us feel like we had discovered a hidden treasure! Thank you so much!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlorblancaManager, General Manager at Florblanca Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Travellers,

Thanks for the review! It is so nice to hear your feedback about our food and our chef. You summed it up by saying each meal is "healthy and creative." That is the ultimate compliment as it is just what we are going for. We work with local and fresh ingredients, and have the luxury of catching our own fish every day. I will pass your compliments to our chef, and kitchen staff. Please come back soon. Until then, wishing you all well.

Cody Dillon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

We didn't stay here but we did have an excellent private table arranged on the beach for my mom and dads 50TH wedding anniversary trip. The food was excellent, Asian inspired and the wine and cocktails outstanding. Our servers were extremely attentive and our experience surrounded by fragrant plumeria trees was epic. Highly recommend.

On another note: they offer yoga, private Pilates and a decent but small gym with weights. My husband and I train for bodybuilding and found this to be only one of two locations with regular weights in the area. They only charge $10 per person per day for usage of the gym and it was close by and well worth it!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews