We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place to Eat”
Review of Chicken Joe's

Chicken Joe's
Ranked #5 of 109 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Relaxed beach food restaurant serving rotisserie chicken ,tacos ,ceviche and other items with a Peruvian flare .
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We ate lunch here late in our trip and I wish I had found this place sooner. Don't let Chicken in the name fool you. They have excellent fish dishes too. And the food presentation for some of the dishes ...rivaled what a sit down high end restaurant might provide. The owner takes pride in his place it is very clean, nice, and inviting. The service from him was above the norm. It is a must place to try while in Mal Pais / Santa Teresa. The homemade Passion Fruit Cheesecake was yummy too!!!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Amazing ceviche here and yucca fries! The fish tacos were pretty great as well. Apparently they get the fish from Mal Pais, the fish market which makes it even more awesome because its fresh!!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank DayTrip615184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

The joint is quite small and you wouldn't expect a rotisserie chicken restaurant to have the best tacos around. Closed during low season (october)

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank jotaelepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I love this little restaurant! Everytime I go to Santa Teresa, I eat here at least once. The portion sizes are good and the tacos are delicious! I have heard how great the fish tacos are, but I personally prefer chicken. I love the spicy sauce that they serve on the side.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank aeb0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We had lunch here on our trip to Santa Teresa. We were told that Chicken Joe's was a must while we were in town and it did not disappoint. The chicken was so juicy and delicious, the fish tacos were great and the yucca fries not to be missed. Oh and fried plantain was delish. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chicken Joe's also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Chicken Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing