We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Escape”
Review of Manala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manala Hotel
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Our goal was to learn how to surf for our 10 year anniversary. And though we had some success with that, the environment to which we were exposed to while saying at Manala did more for our relationship then we expected. The staff there were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious and freshly made. The bungalow's were all super clean and it's in a quiet location (aside from current construction). A great place to stay if you're looking for a get away off the beaten path.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turtles71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAURA S, Gerente at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you very much for taking a time to write such a nice review about us. We are so happy to know that you had a great 10 anniversary in Manalá Hotel. That sounds fun celebration "surfing in Santa Teresa with your wife".
It would be so nice to have you back any time in our hotel, hope to see you again.
Pura vida !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017

Look for this place ! It is worth it. Drive for around 2 kilometers after the crossroad and it is to your right. There is a jungle trail that leads to the ocean, approximately 150 meters. Beautiful bungalow style cabins, very spacious and luxurious. Well maintained grounds and garden, small restaurant inside with good food and beautiful pool setting.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAURA S, Manalá Team at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Wow! Thank you so much for such nice words Troy! We really appreciate to know when our guests are satisfied with their stay. Needles to say, if you want to return to Santa Teresa, it will always be a pleasure to welcome you back in Manalá. Best regards from all the Staff. ¡Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Loved this place. It is small and quiet. The bungalows are quite large and comfortable. Breakfast was good but nothing out of this world. The swimming pool area was great.
Perhaps what they need to improve is the internet coverage and bandwidth, which I understand they already are working on it.

This property is not beachfront; however the beach is a short walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank alexmurillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAURA S, Manala Team at Manala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hi, Alex!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely comments and give us a perfect grade thru Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have all of you here with us. We are going to keep trying to improve the internet and any other detail to give you the most confortable stay. Hope you can come visit us again soon!
Best regards,
Manalá Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Manala Hotel consists of several rondavel-type bungalows off the main coastal road through Santa Teresa. To get to the beach it is necessary to cross the road and walk (or drive) down a track for some 400 metres.

The bungalows themselves are attractive and spacious, as well as well furnished and equipped. We found the twin beds to be comfortable, the rooms were clean, there is satellite TV, a safe, etc., and some nice touches like folding chairs and a cool bag for those excursions to the beach. The shower was okay with a reasonable supply of hot water. Our biggest criticism was that the LED lights were so dim that it was impossible to read, or at times to see clearly what you were doing. Even during the day, the lack of light through just one front window meant that it was quite dark inside. The aircon worked well and once the insects were zapped, we enjoyed a decent night's sleep.

There are several decent restaurants nearby but unless you have a car, to reach them will require a 15 min walk along the ill-lit main track/road at night, not a particularly attractive option. There is a pizza restaurant on-site where you also take breakfast but it didn't look popular and we never ate there. Breakfast was nothing to write home about and service tended to be slow even with few people staying.

There is a pleasant, small pool with some sun loungers which was welcome as an alternative to the beach.

The hotel has an odd system of charging you 50% at time of booking on a credit card with the balance to be paid in cash on arrival otherwise your passports are kept against payment on departure. They would do themselves and their guests a big favour by having a credit card facility at the hotel.

To sum up, a good and comfortable place to stay in Santa Teresa with safe, on-site parking (there is a night guard). Decent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twofreespirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 June 2017

Hi, Twofreespirits. Thank you for your comments, are quite an accurate description about our hotel with a delightful writing. Our main goal is to make you feel the most confortable on your vacations. We are going to take your observations into consideration for future improvements. We are pleased to let you know that we spray frequently for mosquitoes and bugs in general. However, living in the middle of the jungle is sure to find one or another insect still strolling around. We hope you have enjoyed Santa Teresa and if you come again, do not hesitate to contact us. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back. Greetings from all the Manalá Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Staff was incredibly kind, the room was clean and VERY nice. It had everything to need and even more. The restaurant was also good. Very well located, just 100m from the beach. Only improvement I would strongly recommend is to include credit card service in both the restaurant and the hotel.

Room Tip: Great to go with couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ignacio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 May 2017

Hi, Ignacio! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on this page and give us a perfect rating. We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel and enjoyed the extra facilities we have for our guests. We will take into consideration your comments about the credit card service. Feel free to call us the next time you visit Santa Teresa, it will be a pleasure to welcome you again! Best regards and Pura Vida from all the Manalá staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
596 reviews
0.1 km away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
1.8 km away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
207 reviews
2.8 km away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
295 reviews
0.1 km away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manala Hotel

Address: | 800 meters north of the soccer field of Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $150 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight mediterranean style Boungalows in a lush tropical setting; private bathrooms, hot water,air conditoner,wifi,tv, minifridge,ceiling fan, laptop safebox, parking area and 24 hrs security, restaurant and pool with jacuzzi. Our incedible location so close to the beach with the best beach break and our facilities, makes Manalà Hotel the perfect destiny for the best holiday ever. Open 2010. 800 meters North from Santa Teresa soccer fieldde fútbol de Santa Teresa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Manala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manala Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing