We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed stay with most friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canaima Chill House
Ranked #1 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Canaima Chill House is a beautiful boutique hotel with the atmosphere of an hostel (relaxed, friendly) and the amenities of an hotel (beautiful rooms, quiet, ipod music station, locker, breakfast possibilities).

The most friendly people at the receptiondesk will help you with everything and give very good suggestions for places to hang out on the beach or have drinks or dinner. Every lunch and dinner we tried a different place (following their suggestions) and we were pleasantly surprised every time.

Proper and fun surf lessons can be provided by the very kind owner (Juan Carlos).

A little away from the main road (steep walk) but definitely worth the walk (even better with a car). We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose one on the second floor (more secluded) and in the back of the building (away from the recept...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaapsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
There are newer reviews for Canaima Chill House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at the Canaima Chill House for a week and we absolutely loved it!! It is a peaceful, quiet oasis located on top of the hill away from the busy road. Alex and Ana at the front desk are very helpful- anything you need just ask them!! We loved hearing all the wildlife and were not bothered by any bugs or critters. The mosquito net was helpful (mentally- knowing nothing was on us haha) but we didn't really need it as there weren't many mosquitos. The only time the mosquitos came out was the night that it rained (it usually doesn't rain this time of year though). We did not mind not having a vehicle (we are both in our early 20's- so we enjoyed the exercise and challenge of walking up the big hill!) but if you are not up for walking that much then you will need a SUV/4X4. We walked up/down the hill on average 3-4 times a day to go to the beach and to town. If you are going in the wet/rainy season, you will absolutely need a vehicle, as the hill is a dirt road, turning into a mud slide when it rains (trust me, we experienced this walking one night! haha). We rented an ATV for the day and travelled to Montezuma for the zipline tour which worked out well and was fun.We tried surfing with Juan Carlos and that was so much fun too. The local restaurants are excellent and have all kinds of food to choose from. Try Zwart- owned by a lady from Toronto, great burritos, coffee, and smoothies! We took a shuttle from San Jose to Santa Teresa, which took a very long time, but it was nice to see the surrounding area. I think from now on we will fly SANSA into tambor however, as it is a very long trek by shuttle now that we have experienced it once. I would highly recommend staying at the Canaima Chill House, we can't wait to get back!! Playa Santa Teresa is one of the most beautiful beaches in the area. We ran into a number of people from the US who yearly rent houses down there specifically for this beach!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoTraveller775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel is just amazing. It is not costly but is perfectly decorated. Clean, quiet and really nice. Personnel treatment is wonderful. 100% recommended.

Tip: you need a 4x4 car to reach this hotel. Getting to Santa Teresa is pretty complicated, the road is on terrible shape and this hotel is located on 1the top of a hill, so is it even worse.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viviana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed at Canaima recently for 5 nights. Juan Carlos was great upon check-in, although we didn't get to know him much since he was away on business for the rest of our stay. That being said Ana and Alex were both fantastic!! They were friendly, informative and very helpful in every way.

Overall we thought Canamia was great and while we have no complaints we do have some suggestions for Juan Carlos.

The Good:

The location is fantastic. Yes the hill is a bit of a trek on foot, but it is worth it to get off the dusty main road and off into the quiet of the hills. Expect the roosters, howlers and dogs to be your alarm clock. No problems though.

The staff are great. Very helpful and very friendly.

The rooms are very nice and a very good value.

The "Suggestions":

The rooms were clean, but the day to day cleaning was not what you would normally expect. Each room has a kitchenette. The second day we arrived back from the beach to find our room "cleaned", yet the 2 glasses we used the night before were not cleaned but placed in the sink for us to clean. The bathroom was fairly clean when we arrived but I don't think it was cleaned the entire time we were there (although it was "tideyed"). The soap dispenser in the shower was empty when we arrived and it took 2 days before it was refilled (after we asked Alex to handle it for us).

Having a full kitchen was fantastic. However the knifes in the rooms were very dull and made basic cooking a bit of a challenge. However, we asked Alex for a sharper knife and he found us one (great service once again).

It would be nice if Canaima supplied a bottle of water or two each day in the fridge.


We were very happy with our stay. Juan Carlos is a few small tweaks away from making this place REALLY spectacular.

Pura Vida!!

Room Tip: top rooms have a loft and higher ceilings but may cost slightly more
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clintonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We just left today and we miss it already! Ana and Alex can help you with anything you need yoga restaurants and oh the massage! Read a bout it from another reviewer and was so happy I did!! It was delightful.
Not sure about the water problem as our shower was hot and looked outside with two way mirror. The rooms are open concept but efficient ad for he price you can't do better
It is up a steep hill if your without a car but it is si worth it to get out of the dust of the main road you will understand when you get there!
Great time and great hosts!
Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theharveys8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
575 reviews
0.7 km away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
333 reviews
2.3 km away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
1.3 km away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
157 reviews
1.9 km away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Santa Teresa

Been to Canaima Chill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaima Chill House

Address: 400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $93 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canaima Chill House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Eco Chic hotel" is a jungle oasis, only 500 meters away from one of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica.In Canaima Chill House, luxury is experienced in harmony with nature and simple sensations such as, relaxing on a bamboo hanging bed, listening to the amazing sounds of the jungle or chilling in our "pillow swimming pool".Sensations which are hard to explain, sensations which are simple to feel.- 4 Suites (for 2 people)- 4 suites-loft (up to 4 people)- Swimming Pool- Chill Deck- Outdoor Jacuzzi- WI-FI- Personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Canaima Chill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaima Chill House Hotel Santa Teresa
Canaima Chill House Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing