We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
USD 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Solar(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
USD 124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Cacao Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
USD 96
USD 84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canaima Chill House(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
USD 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
USD 124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fuego Lodge(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
USD 124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florblanca Resort(Santa Teresa)
USD 438
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Buenos Aires(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
181
49
18
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
49
18
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomcosta ricashared kitchensocial placebig fridgenorthern partfriendly vibeclean kitchenfree breakfastswimming poolgreat kitchengreat surfquiet locationcommon areasnight lifesurf breaka great stay
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Hotel Cuesta Arriba offers anything one could ask for, a chilled and friendly vibe, really clean, comfortable rooms for good prices, pool, A/C. It also has a communal kitchen with a big fridge. The staff is really helpful and friendly. It is in a perfect location to visit really great restaurants or for night-life and close to the supermarket, too. The beach is just minutes away and it is one of the best.
I really enjoyed my stay in this really relaxed and lovely environment and hope to go back soon!
Thanks a lot CA Team,

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cemile P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Cemile!!! Thank you thank you for such a nice review! We loved to have you and the rest of the family around us for a few days. I hope to see you on your next visit to Cuesta Arriba!!!
Best regards to you and the family.

Martin
Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

This was our very first destination on our trip to Costa Rica. The staff and guests at the hotel were very friendly and the accommodations for the price were pretty reasonable. The hostel was quiet, had a nice and well-maintained pool, access to a shared kitchen and is well situated just off the main strip of Santa Teresa and is steps away from the beach. There was a little bit of construction on a nearby property when we were there (April 11-13) so we did end up hearing that early in the morning. There were also plenty of howler monkeys around the property (which was really cool), these guys do get pretty loud though! Overall, we were super happy with our experience here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with A/C if available, it does get quite hot!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Marissa! Nice to hear from you. Thank you for your kind words, We really appreciate your feedback. Likely the construction nextdoor is finished so now the only noise to hear is the one from the jungle!!! ( Monkeys, birds, etc etc). We hope to see you on your next visit to Costa Rica!!!
Cheers

Martin
Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

This hotel is not a 5 star hotel, but I gave it 5 stars for what it was, a clean, simple place to stay with air conditioning for a reasonable price in Santa Teresa. Quick and helpful check in, we observed the available rooms before selecting. Walking distance to the beach and many good places to eat. Monkeys in the trees when we woke up. Small pool, pretty landscaping.

Room Tip: There are different options regarding access to a bathroom, air conditioning, etc.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kimberly! Thank you for the nice review!!! We are happy to now that you had a great time with us!! Hopefully you don't have any regrets about the wake up call from the monkeys every now and then . Hope to see you back soon
Cheers

Martin
Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

I planned to stay for 2 nights ended up staying for a week!!! The hotel has everything you need for your vacation. Great location, 2 steps to the beach, restaurants, coffee shops and Disco bar! Has a great kitchen where you can socialize with other travellers a fresh cool swimming pool and the staff is always close to help you do any Booking for your dayly activity...it was just perfect. I will definitely come back and I highly recommend it

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pablo081171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hola Pablo!!! Thank you for your review. It was really nice to have you around. Hopefully next time you can stay longer and get to know much more about the area.
Regards

Martin
Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

This hotel meets your basic needs for a place to sleep and shower. It is quite a far walk from the city centre, about 45 minutes. However, the beach is close by and you can walk along the beach to get to the city centre where the restaurants and shops are. It does cost money to rent beach towels at this property. They do have AC in the room which is a plus.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aeinarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuesta A, Propietario at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Hi There, Just to make people understand better. Santa Teresa Center is just 3 blocks away from the hotel where you'll find coffee shops, restaurants, bars, supermarket, everything you need for your vacations but the bank. Santa Teresa has no bank and therefore if you need cash, eventually you'll have to go and visit Mal Pais which is only 3 KM away (2 minutes taxi ride). Now basic needs? We are a budget hotel that offers A/C, swimming pool, kitchen, wi-fi, 12 hours of front desk, daily room cleaning and just 2 steps from the beach! We think it is not basic needs but ALL YOU NEED!!!
Cheers

Martin
Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews