We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,796)
Filter reviews
2,796 results
Traveller rating
1,984
580
159
59
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,984
580
159
59
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seaside grill preferred club market cafe aqua restaurant main pool coco cafe spa pool unlimited vacation club secret box bungalow suite pura vida room service main area costa rica tropical view my pleasure shuttle driver
Filter
Updating list...
425 - 430 of 2,796 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Everyone at resort was extremely friendly. A Special thanks to Stathis, Sunny G, Raquel Vargas for making the stay as enjoyable as it was. And thanks to Jose for moving us around at the resort. The food was great and a overall great experience.

Room tip: No issues with rooms, I would highly recommend the Presidential Suite, it was great.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank grhutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcela Z, Gerente at Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear grhutt,

Greetings from sunny Costa Rica.

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us at Secrets Papagayo.

We were delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests.

As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to Stathis, Sunny and Raquel whom take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Pura Vida,

Marcela Zúñiga A.
Quality & Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Incredible experience at a beautiful resort. The staff were amazing, extremely kind, friendly and helpful. From the entertainment staff (special shout out to Michael, Carlos, Alex, Raquel, Adrianna, Melody, and Marilyn) to the bar and restaurant staff (special shout out to Angel, Vinicio, Alexis, Jarvi and Byron) to the grounds crew, housekeeping and taxi service (special shout out to Jeffry), everyone working at the resort ensured we had a wonderful time during our stay and we are sincerely grateful for all of your hard work and dedication! The food was delicious, we enjoyed dining at each of the restaurants available. And the activities to participate in each day were plentiful! The entertainment staff does an incredible job engaging the guests in fun games and activities throughout the day and amazing shows in the evening. We were able to watch incredible professional dancers each night dance a variety of formats. Our room was beautiful and the resort was breathtaking! There were monkeys in the trees right behind our cabin! We absolutely loved our stay at Secrets Papagayo and will be coming back in the future! Thank you all!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank BayliAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcela Z, Gerente at Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear BayliAnn,

Greetings from the stunning Costa Rica!

Thank you for choosing Secrets Papagayo as your host and taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service.

We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with Michael, Carlos, Alex, Raquel, Adrianna, Melody, and Marily, bar and restaurant staff, Angel, Vinicio, Alexis, Jarvi and Byron to the grounds crew, housekeeping and taxi service and Jeffry.

Let us know at econcierge.sepcr@secretsresorts.com when you are ready to immerse yourself into the colorful CostaRica again!

Pura Vida,

Marcela Zúñiga A.
Quality & Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We stayed at this Secrets Papagayo for two weeks returning on 28th March. We travelled with First Choice and stayed in a Preferred Club Room (233). The intention of this holiday was to disconnect and switch off from our busy lives in the ‘real world’ – mission achieved.

The resort is well tended by the grounds staff and all of the other workers (drivers, chefs, waiters, administration, bar staff, room cleaners, entertainment and general) are a credit to the resort and make that extra difference to the creating an excellent atmosphere. This is not to say everyone walks around with a fixed grin on but when engaging with guests, the staff were always helpful, cheerful and polite.

Language exchange can be awkward at times as some staff were not fluent in English, but by attempting Spanish rather than ‘gesticulating English’ you will get along much easier.

We had the misfortune of being ill for a couple of days but managed to ‘survive’ with the help of Room Service and were soon back up and running.

They do close restaurants at night when there are large groups/parties staying as the additional work would overstretch staff resources; however, in Preferred Club rooms, the tablet provided in the rooms does show for the current and next day which ones are open – enabling you to plan your venues.

We usually had breakfast at the Market Café Restaurant as this was open over a greater time period and met our needs well. The egg bar was comprehensive if a little slow and the buffet had all the usual choices:- cereals, fruit, continental as well as some ‘odd latino choices’ being available.

The Seaside Grill breakfast was OK but the menu wasn’t to our liking and the ‘entertainment’ close by was a little bizarre at times and not discrete enough (too loud and not fitting).

We visited all the restaurants for dinner and particularly enjoyed the Himitsu al-la-carte although the Teppanyaki display (very tasty) was not very animated. The Seaside Grill does do some excellent steaks whilst Aqua was a more refined meal of smaller proportions yet again, very tasty. The Market Café Restaurant was OK for dinner and had a varied choice.

Should you want slight variations to the published menus, just ask the staff and if they can, they will accommodate your requests (even ask for ice cream that isn’t on the list).

We paid extra to have a wine pairing meal & Jazz at Aqua for $60 a couple. The wine and meal were great as was the music performance. It would have been good if there were a written explanation as to ‘why’ the particular wine was paired with each course.

Our suite had no issues throughout and was situated at the top of a very steep hill (1:2) which gave us regular cardio vascular exercise as we never used the shuttles. The room facilities were good, the shower was great, hot water was plentiful all the time and the bed was large & comfortable. The view was stunning and gave a magnificent vista of the bay and beyond. There are no mosquito nets provided but we didn’t have any insect issues in the room. We were supplied with a ‘steamer’ for our clothes but an iron can also be requested from preferred team or concierge services (and a kettle if required).

If you order room service there is an additional facility on the room tablet to request for the empty tray to be collected to prevent old/empty plates/food remaining in your room overnight.

The resort is unfortunately positioned within a bay and therefore full blown sunsets were not visible but the night sky over the hills were very pretty at times.

The beach is tidal and has a mixture of normal & black sand that glistens with silica as the waves retard. It is soft and at times ‘sinky’ near the waters edge. There are numerous pieces of coral on the beach and within the water.

The weather was non-stop sun and hot with no rain. There are occasional gusts of wind, which cause a bit of chaos with umbrellas and cabana curtains. Perhaps some more shady-sheltered areas could be provided.

We randomly had lunch snacks at the Barefoot Grill, the Preferred Lounge and the Market Café Buffet.

The main pool area can be noisy at times during the day but quiets down in the evening. We frequented the bars at the Barefoot Grill, Manatees & Aqua and enjoyed learning Spanish from the bar staff and trying the odd new cocktail.

We went on a trip to Monteverde Sky Walk and a Sunset Catamaran Cruise (reported separately).

Smoking on the resort is restricted to the beach area only plus up at the reception car park – this restriction also applies to Vaping. This appears to be quite a widespread policy in Costa Rica.

Should you wish to purchase bottles of alcohol to have in your room without bothering room service or paying excessive prices in the gift shop, you are advised to visit the small shop at Liberia airport arrivals on the left just after collecting your bags – prices are exceptionally low (e.g. 4x bottles of 7year old rum = $49)

Would we return, we never do. Would we recommend, yes – this resort facilitates both the young & old, the quiet and the excitable. We had a really great time thanks

Staff:-
Julio, Jose, Cesar, Melvin, Eduardo

Small suggestions:-

Review the spelling on a number of Direction Boards (tenis – Aphiteater)
Fixed canopy over the four seats outside Aqua

Room tip: If you can afford it, opt for Preferred Club
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank To-Rome-or-To-Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcela Z, Gerente at Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear To-Rome-or-To-Rome,

Grettings from the colorful Costa Rica.

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Secrets Papagayo , and for taking the time to write a review and suggestions about your recent experience.

We are happy to know your holidays was a success! I will let Julio, José, Cesar, Melvin y Eduardo know that he contributed to your one-of-a-kind experience.

We are counting down the days for you next vacation at our hidden paradise, please let take care of your booking at calidad.sepcr@secretsresorts.com

All the best,

Marcela Zúñiga A.
Quality & Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Nice resort hotel in Costa Rica, far from authentic and somewhat overrun during our visit. would expect to be able to find better value/authenticity and enjoyment with more research of the area. Friendly staff

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank GCHensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcela Z, Gerente at Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear GCHensley,

Greetings from the colorful Costa Rica!

Thank you for your feedback, It is very important for us to have your valuable opinion.

We apology for the areas that fell short of expectations, so we will use your comments to ensure that we are providing our guests with the very best.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to change your experience.

Pura Vida,

Marcela Zúñiga A.
Quality & Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We chose Secrets for our honeymoon, so very pleased we did. The resort is amazing, shuttles on request, entertainment if you want it or just chill out and relax. Staff go out of their way to ensure your every need is met.
Special thanks to Erick in the preferred bar and Kashleen who went that extra step to accommodate my dietary needs.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank thelma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcela Z, Gerente at Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear thelma t,

Greetings from the exotic Costa Rica!

Thank You very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to write this kind review, t is surely very important for us, it was a true pleasure to serve you for your holidays.

We feel really happy to know you enjoyed with our entertainment, we feel humbled for such words! 

Thank you veery much again.

Pura Vida,

Marcela Zúñiga A.
Quality & Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews