We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,728)
Filter reviews
2,728 results
Traveller rating
1,942
563
154
57
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,942
563
154
57
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seaside grill preferred club market cafe main pool spa pool aqua restaurant coco cafe unlimited vacation club secret box room service pura vida bungalow suite main area costa rica my pleasure tropical view shuttle driver
Filter
Updating list...
1,581 - 1,586 of 2,728 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

We just got back from our Honeymoon at Secrets Papagayo. We stayed in a standard panoramic view room. We had a great view but the room was pretty small. All of the hotel staff were fantastic. Service was great in every department. All the drinks were delicious and had a good selection of top shelf liquor. The food across the board left something to be desired. Everything was bland and not a lot of options. Felt like food for kids that was trying to be elevated by presentation. We only went to a couple of the shows at night but honestly don't think missed much. The whole resort kind of shut down around 12. It is a nice resort and I'm sure many really enjoy it. Unfortunately, it was not for us. Beautiful place with wonderful people but it gets old being completely dissatisfied with every thing you eat for an entire week.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennyfer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonjeSecrets, General Manager at Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear Jennyfer R, once again warm regards from all of us, as I said in your other review we are very, very grateful for your visit and your kind review.
We are happy that you've loved the resort and our beautiful group of people, they will be very encourage to know you have enjoyed their company and service.
I´ve shared your comments with our Kitchen team, we are all very, very sad we´ve let you down in this regard, specially considering we put a lot of thought, effort and love in our cuisine, we are very proud about it and as you can read in most of the reviews our guests rave about the quality and the many options. From room service 24 hours to a buffet with changing menus daily for lunch and dinner, 4 a la carte restaurants, a beach/pool grill a very cute coffee shop, most of our guests seem to enjoy and being able to find what they like, on top of it, we are always happy and willing to talk and cater to any special request. Definitely not a kid's business going on in our kitchens, again very sad we have not been able to please you. good that you liked the presentation.
Have a very nice day, Jorge Monje.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

This beach resort with private beach knocked our socks off. The property was gorgeous rooms are clean the restaurant was amazing. we had some excellent staff members that worked with us. they were kind and attentive, some of them even went out of their way to make us feel at home. Carlon needs a raise for his awesome service. The market cafe is awesome. By the end of our stay we felt like we were with old friends with all of the staff. We will be back

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank travelingtraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonjeSecrets, General Manager at Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear travelingtraveler100, "at home and among friends" our team´s daily goal, so happy to read you've felt this way, it means so much to everyone of us, a huge thank you for your visit and your very kind review.
I´ve already shared your regards and compliments with the team, very happy as well you've enjoyed our cuisine, kitchen team will be delighted to read.
Please, you are on, counting on a return visit, very soon, if we can do anything to make it happen sooner than later, let me know.
Sending tons of Pura Vida your way and our warmest regards, Jorge Monje.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

My wife and I stayed there for three nights to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We enjoyed every second spent there. Danissa cared tremendously for us and checked to make sure everything went well. Food was splendid. The room was splendid. The environment was splendid. We can't ask for more!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonjeSecrets, General Manager at Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear Lee K, once again and on behalf of our team a very happy anniversary. It means a lot to us that you've chose to celebrate this very special occasion with us and makes us very happy to know you've brought back these many good memories.
We have loved having you with us and would love to welcome you back very soon, please anything you might need in the future, let us know, happy to be of assistance.
A big thank you and wishing you a wonderful, happy day. Jorge Monje.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We returned from secrets papagayo about 2 weeks ago but I have only now had the chance to sit down and write this review.
We were unsure what to expect from costa rica as a relitively new destination from the uk so we dont know anyone who had been. Our first worry was the weather as we booked october part of the rainy season or the green season as they like to call it. We neednt have worried! It was a perfect time to go and if returning i would choose then again. We went the last 2 weeks in october and the first week it rained every day for an hour and then the second week of our holiday it didnt rain at all. As it was coming to the end of the rainy season everything was so green and scenic and beautiful i wouldnt have changed a thing!
Upon arrival we were greeted with a cold towel and a cold drink and welcomed to the hotel. First impressions...Wow! The view from reception is incredible and really sets you up for the whole experience you are about to have!
We stayed in room 412 which was up the hill but we didnt mind. We tended to walk down and then get the shuttle back up. Great room with a lovely sea view.
Shuttles were so reliable and the drivers all so friendly and really great guys. Dont want to single any out as all so fantastic.. thankyou! Remebered our room number within a couple of days of us arriving.
We spent our days at the spa pool which was beautiful and relaxing quiet background music and lovely atmosphere. Although no swim up bar there is a constant waiter service around the poolside and they will even serve you drinks in the water if you wish.
Aqua restaurant is at the spa area and we ate here almost every day for lunch as it was fantastic. Every single staff member in aqua was just wonderful and to anyone going you must try the beef pitta it was to die for!
We used the spa one day and both had a massage which was wonderful. Then you can use the sauna and hot tub/jacuzzi as much as you want throughout your stay. My only tiny disappointment is that the sauna and jacuzzi are in the seperate male and female changing rooms so after enjoying a couples massage if we wanted to use the rest of the spa facilities we had to do so seperatley. Would of been nice to be able to relax together as in the end we didnt really use them as not the same sitting completely alone.
Restaurant wise for the evening i struggle to pick a favourite between seaside grill and aqua. Seaside grill foodwise i think was our favoruite and lovely setting. Isabel on the front is great and so friendly we loved her and she taught us lots of spanish she is fantastic!
We loved aqua in the evenings just for the chilled out setting and the whole atmosphere. Food was also great and we just loved the staff in aqua. Christian and William in particular a real credit to secrets.
Italian was amazing we ate there 3 times and the first two times we were practically the only people there. Service was impeccible and food fantastic... make sure you are hungry!!
I enjoyed himitsu and would thoroughly recommend the sushi! The first time we went in my partner didnt like his meal he thought it was too salty but i convinced him to go back a second time and he tried the sushi this time and was won over!
We didnt eat in the buffet at night time purely because we had so much other choice we didnt need to.
We used the buffet for breakfast which was great.
Room service is also fantastic and so tempting (probably another reason why my clothes are so tight since my return!) We had this a lot more than we should have but was so easy and enjoyable. Especially after an excursion from 5am to 8pm there is nothing nicer than getting in your robe and slippers and collecting your meal from the secrets box and chilling out for the night.
I feel like my review is going on and on and there is so much i could say about our stay but there is no way i can fit it all in. All i have to say is it was fantastic and everything we could have hoped for and more. I have never had so many comments on facebook photos from friends wowed by the hotel and the fantatsic excursions we did. We were wowed in real life! Excursionwise we booked through thomson/first choice rep Ryan and we did Villa Verde, Monteverde skywalk and palo verde expedition. All fantastic and very different. Swimming in the waterfall on villa verde is one of the most memorable moments of our holiday.
Finally i want to thank every single staff member at secrets as every single staff member we encountered went the extra mile to ensure a fantastic holiday. We made a friend in Harvey who was a cleaner around the pool and restaurants, made an effort to speak to us everyday and remembered our names and genuinely interested in our holiday! He told us on our last day he was starting a new job in the bar which he was really excited about so if you see Harvey please say hi from us.. such a lovely boy! (I think his name badge spells it jarvi).
My final hint... dont try the local fire water shot on your last night. The 11 hour plane journey home was not so enjoyable after a few of those!
I am a travel agent and have stayed in many wonderful hotels all over the world but this without a doubt is the best holiday i have ever had and i will recommend whole heartedly to everyone.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank thetraveller1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonjeSecrets, General Manager at Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear Thetraveller1989, writing all these many beautiful and very gracious comments we wouldn´t mind you kept on going, wow, we are so grateful and so honored by your review. Thanks a lot for sharing so many of our "secrets" I do believe they are indeed worth to be shared.
It means so much to everyone of us at Secrets Papagayo to know you've had a wonderful holiday and that this Pura Vida lifestyle has provided you with so many memories to keep you smiling for a very long time.
I'm specially grateful you've mentioned Jarvi, indeed a great colleague, he was doing a super job at our public areas and know enjoying very much and learning a lot as a bartender. We are so proud of our team at Secrets Papagayo, their amazing warm genuine personalities and they willingness to take great care of all our guests/friends and to keep on learning and developing. I´m personally very grateful to all of them.
We would love to welcome you back soon, please anything you may need from us or Costa Rica, let us know, happy to be of assistance. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

This has been without a doubt the best holiday we have ever had... it was paradise!
We loved every minute and the hotel was everything we could have asked for and more.
Such a beautiful resort with impressive views and scenery and the rooms were lovely.
The shuttle drivers are all so friendly and efficient, every single one of them remembered our room number after only being there a couple of days. All fantastic but one i think name julio was just amazing.
Restaurants... our favourite was the seaside grill. Isabell a wonderful girl who helped us work on our spanish and a real credit to secrets.
We loved the himitsu a real change to get such good quality asian food in an all inclusive hotel.
Italian was wonderful although you better make sure you are hungry as so much amazing food!
And aqua we just loved the setting so peaceful, amazing food and wonderful staff including william.
Even the buffet i would normally avoid on holiday due to the a la carte options however even the buffet was amazing.
Every staff member we encountered from check in to leaving were so friendly and impeccable service, the ones who i have named are not the only ones who we loved and every staff member is fantastic!
Beautiful location and yes a drive to excursions but drive thru beautiful places and scenery to get to once in a lifetime excursions isnt so bad!!
I could go on and on for hours about this hotel. Literally our dream holiday and anyone thinking about booking... do it!!!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TheReefRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonjeSecrets, General Manager at Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear theReefRocks, "drive through beautiful places and scenery to get to once in a lifetime excursions isn´t so bad" thanks a lot!!!, No better way to describe it, Costa Rica is a wonderful little country and our Guanacaste region has so much to offer, to be explored, enjoyed, discovered.
For me being a foreigner in this country, I´m amazed at their natural beauty, their welcoming and friendly people, the ever changing beauty of any normal day, just walking around the resort is a different spectacle every day. In love and very grateful to our host country, so your comment means a lot to me personally.
So much to discover and I think that Secrets Papagayo offers a great base and gateway to it all and at the same time a great place to unwind and relax in between or after the activities, a chance to do as much or as little as you may want.
What a great pleasure to have you both with us, no better compliment that knowing you took back home all these great memories, hopefully they will last long and strong, and when in need of a Pura vida recharge, please do come back, always happy to welcome you back home.
Receive a big thank you from our team, your friends at Secrets Papagayo. Warm regards and tons of Pura Vida. Jorge Monje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews